We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Dominican food...and dancing!”
Review of El Conuco

El Conuco
Ranked #7 of 622 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gazcue
Elmer, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“True Dominican food...and dancing!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

El Conuco is a "must" every time we visit Santo Domingo. Our group will start by tasting authentic Dominican food from the buffet. Personally, I have the desserts as my main course! As you are enjoying the food the background music gives way to fast-paced music and the dancing begins. The energy of the El Conuco dancers is amazing! Our all-time favorite is the 'Bottle Dance' which just seems to defy gravity with the female dancer precariously balancing one foot atop a bottle while she is spun round and round by her partner. Then comes your turn to either dance with them or join the band and play genuine Dominican instruments like the 'Güira'. Definitely food and fun for the whole family young and old alike. Don't forget to bring your camera to pose with the dancers or with all the Dominican decor which abounds everywhere you look. *Note-If you want a quieter (and cooler) experience then make sure to reserve the enclosed air conditioned room adjacent to the main seating which is in an open air street type setting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicemeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    280
    74
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Typical Dominican Fare in colorful atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

“Conuco” to Dominicans means: A plot of cultivated land. “El Conuco” restaurant is located inside a huge space decorated with traditional Dominican countryside artifacts and knick knacks that might evoke some nostalgia among Dominicans living abroad. The place is very colorful and the food, although a bit pricey, very delicious. Service was prompt and our server very friendly and helpful. This restaurant has been in business for many years, but the day we visited there were only two other tables with customers. I hope that was just a slow time during the day, because this is such a great place for tasting some authentic Dominican food that it would sadden me to learn it went out of business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jast64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends and dance”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

El Conuco is a great place to visit with friends and dance. The atmosphere is great. It is fun to watch the dancers, I never get tired of it. It is also a good place to go to dance any day of the week. This is a safe place that you can take all ages, just like in the country side. I usually order from the menu. There is now a 28% tax on all restaurant food & drink, bummer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canoec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food, music and dance!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great dominican/creolle food. We had two of the mofongos (mashed plantains or yucca/cassava with different meats and spices). It was excellent. Along with our dinner, we were witness to a live bachata dance with two employees. After they performed, the dance floor opened to everyone for lessons and free dancing. Pretty cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little of the Cibao in Santo Domingo”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Want a great Dominican meal in the atmosphere of the Dominican countryside? Go no further than El Conuco, which combines tasty dishes with folkloric dancing. The staff is not only friendly, but very outgoing. And don't be surprised if you are pulled out to dance a merengue with one of the dancers. Food is very tasty and typical of the Spanish Caribbean- plantains, rice and beans, and a variety of tasty meats. We love coming here to relax with an ice- cold El Presidente- just chilling and taking in the atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Conuco also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to El Conuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing