We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Utterly charming! Bonus: nearby to a vegetarian food options” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Beaterio Casa Museo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Beaterio Casa Museo
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Utterly charming! Bonus: nearby to a vegetarian food options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel and rooms are unbelievably charming and the location is convenient walking distance to all Colonial Zone historic sites. Also the Mexican restaurant across the street has vegetarian food and the only organic vegetarian restaurant in the city Crudo is a 5 min walk away. Note that this property is cash only.

We would definitely consider staying here again -- this time however a few things held this hotel back from getting a 5 star review:

1. A/C ISSUES: Like other reviewers the air conditioning unit in our room too had problems and stopped cooling. When we mentioned it to the staff they seemed unconcerned ("someone will come by to fix it in a couple of days") and no offer to move us to a different room or apology of of any kind was made. Fortunately we were more or less comfortable at nights with the fan mode only which did work even after the compressor quit.

2. BREAKFAST WAS NOTHING SPECIAL: It was a nice convenience that breakfast was included -- simple but nothing special or memorable.

3. DAYTIME NOISE: Finally each time we returned to the afternoon during the daytime there was a steady, rhythmic dull banging sound as if someone where chipping away and dismantling and old brick wall by hand. We never did find out what this was nor did the hotel staff inform us of any planned construction or maintenance issues during our stay.

Room Tip: Double check with staff to try and request a room with working A/C with no known issues. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Erin B,

We thank you for taking your time to post a comment about your stay at El Beaterio.

We are very happy to read that you appreciated our charming rooms and comon areas and our very convenient location.

About the AC issue, we are switching them for new ones to put an end to this problem. Sorry for the inconveniences.

I apologize too for the noise. We have been struggling with the neighboor who was making some works in his house and saddly did not care that our guests "suffer" the situation. Those works are now finished.

About the breakfast, i would be pleased to have more details about your expectations, since we are working on offering more options to our guests. If is possible, please contact me to my email adress meg@elbeaterio.fr, because i am interested in knowing what you would have wished for.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    71
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
104
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

rooms look out on attractive small garden courtyard. The hotel is situated next to picturesque Parque Diarte and only a short walk to the main square of the beautiful Zona Colonial.mRooms are spartan but with a simple elegance of another time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeragringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

When was the last time you booked a hotel room in a 500 year old convent? That's what El Beaterio is. Except it isn't a hotel, it is a "Guest House" and you'll feel like a very special guest, indeed. Rich in history but with all the modern conveniences, the beautifully appointed main area and rooms are so otherworldly, I remarked to my husband, "I feel like I'm in a fairy tale." Tall walls, tall wooden doors, black wrought iron fixtures, a lovely courtyard, a real, home-cooked breakfast that keeps you full all day, a/c, wifi, TV with American stations, private bath with hot shower and of course Izidore, a most wonderfully gracious and helpful host whose English is very good. Wanting to go walking in the light rain but not having an umbrella, Izidore says, "Here, take mine." He arranged taxis (a driver was waiting for us, holding a sign with our name when we arrived at the bus station), a tour of the city, got us directions to a restaurant and allowed us to borrow his map. When we checked in,he went before us to the room and lit candles. The rooms are quite small but perfect for a stay of a few nights. It's just a little piece of heaven and if walls could talk...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandie947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights and had a marvelous time. My children are two and four. They enjoyed the courtyard and lizards. This hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location- close to the action but in a quiet spot. The breakfast was great too. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: This town is hot! An air conditioner is needed. Get a room with one...but know the AC is not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HCJML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We appreciate very much your kindly commentaire about your experiencie at El Beaterio. I am glad to hear that your experience with us meet your expectations.

I will share your posiitives words with the team.

It will be a real pleasure for all my team to welcome you and your family again.

Yours sincerely,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegate, oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Perfect location, outstanding staff, beautiful rooms, very quiet and private plus great food- just ask the staff for your style of eggs! We were a medical group of 18, arriving in the wee hours, the room arrangements were handled quickly and professionally! Everyone was so friendly! They let us use the roof top for a sunset party, and even brought up a glass of champagne for each in our group. The location in the Zona Colonial is perfect, as all you have to do is step out the door everything is within walking distance! We all loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toree w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to write a comment about your visit to our guest house. It was an honor to receiving you and your team and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable staying with us.
Thanks again for choosing us for your staying in Santo Domingo and we look forward to receiving you again!

Yours faithfully,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Really great and peaceful place in the heart of the Colonial zone. Rooms are clean, very charming and well equipped. We had a really good sleep. Breakfast isn't very rich, but it's good, with fruits, eggs and small sausages. Staff is very nice and helpful, although their English is not very good. Everything in the Colonial zone is in the walking distance from this hotel. You are just a few meters away from the Proud Mary pub, and nice restaurant Mimosa. Also, a great restaurant Falafel is only 5 mins walk ( not working during the day. Pity ). One more thing...if you are coming from the Europe you will need an adapter for charging your mobiles, since this is an old building ( sockets are narrower )
Definitely recommendation !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomi_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to write a commentaire about your staying in our guest house. It is a pleasure for us receive positive feedbacks from our guests. Our team will receive your positive words.

We look forward to receiving you again.

Best regards,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are a medical team from WA state. We wanted to spend the last day in the Colonial City of Santo Domingo and chose El Beaterio from the Trip Advisor recommendations. I am so glad we did! The name springs from the order of nuns in the convent that occupied this grand place 500 years ago. The location is excellent, just a few blocks from the Cathedral and sea wall. At first glance we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the interior and the 13 glasses of champagne waiting for us. Whoever designed the ambiance has real talent, well, after the 500 year old architect, of course. It rivals anything you may see at Altos de Chavon. The inner courtyard with rooms springing from it has outstanding landscaping with mature tropical plants. The rooms are all wonderful -- romantic, fanatically clean, quiet, cool with A/c, great shower and bathroom. The breakfast was outstanding also. You can order your style of eggs, enjoy the fruit and pastries.
Special thanks to Maria and Damaz, who were manager and receptionist. We hope to return often with the team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comments about your visit at El Beaterio!
We were very happy to receiving you and your group in our guest house.
We really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Kind regards,


María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Casa Naemie
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Billini Hotel
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Beaterio Casa Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Beaterio Casa Museo

Property: El Beaterio Casa Museo
Address: Calle Duarte No. 8 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Beaterio Casa Museo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XVIth century old convent, El Beaterio witnesses the history of Santo Domingo for almost 500 years. Faithfully restored in keeping with the original charm and architecture of its period, this quaint and private hotel offers its guests a unique atmosphere of the inimitable Dominican art de vivre. Nested in the heart of the colonial city, El Beaterio offers eleven coquettish and sober rooms, laid out around a flowery colonial interior patio. Between its stone walls, it’s a peace oasis in the middle of a vibrant and enlivened city. Established in 1530 with the beatas given the task of collecting girls of all ages, Spanish and mixed race, lost on Earth». You’ll find out what a beaterio is, and you’ll learn about the religious figures responsible for its foundation in Santo Domingo. You’ll discover two residents of El Beaterio, Sor Leonor de Ovando and Dona Elvira de Mendoza, first poets of the New World. Since 1990 when UNESCO declared the Colonial City of Santo Domingo as “World Heritage Site”, El Beaterio is classified as “building of documental, historic and architectural value”. In 2016, El Beaterio is officially recognized as Dominican Republic’s first hotel-museum by the Ministry of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your El Beaterio Casa Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Beaterio Hotel Santo Domingo
El Beaterio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing