We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located to restaurants”
Review of Hotel Napolitano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napolitano
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My favorite hotel whenever I travel on business. Love to be there every month. Nice neighborhood close to restaurants. A great pool by the bar and restaurant which has great food going back this month.

Room Tip: never had a problem till date with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

During the Winter holidays my family and I spent several nights here. It was easy to get to all the sight seeing we planned. The view from our room was WONDERFUL, overlooking the malecon. The food was good and the service great. Our only concern was at night, because the hotel is on top of a casino, there was loud music that reached the top floors of the hotel until the wee hours. This probably won't bother those that come to party until the wee hours.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I must say I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel lobby is small but nice with a pretty fountain at the entrance. The room was quite nice and comfortable with 2 queen size beds and a view of the pool and ocean. The only downside to being pool and ocean front is the noise. I was on the fifth floor and could hear the late night music from the pool deck restaurant. Luckily, I was on vacation and did not need to be up early in the mornings. As far as the pool goes, I was happy to see the pool being cleaned every morning and the water being tested about twice a day. There are only about 8 lounge chairs in total, however, the hotel or maybe just the pool was not overcrowded so I was always able to get a lounge chair and towel. As for the breakfast, I was expecting continental breakfast but found a very good hot buffet every morning. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybug_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelElNapolitano, General Manager at Hotel Napolitano, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

valued customer.
Thanks for your feedback we assure you that we are working to improve the service we provide every day.

waiting for your prompt stay.
att.
management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

i have not spent a night here but have visited a friend who is a regular.the price is decent and its location is close to the colonial zone.my girlfriend has stayed here and she had no complaints.every room has a good view.i have stayed in worse hotels in the dominican so i dont understand some of these people complaining.what i didnt like was the pool was cool and i didnt feel like going in.also the bar by the pool will charge you 5 times the price for a bottle of rum.thats a ripoff.i usually stay in boca chica at hotels that cost less than santo domingo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The view of the ocean from each room is spectacular ! The Hotel & Casino location is on the GW strip which is very busy happening area with other hotel ,resturantes, family park, and casinos. The staff is friendly, and bilingual. Their breakfast has a very delicious variety.It is also close to Colonial Zone as well. The rooms were clean and comfortably. A great value! Iwill return.

Room Tip: Third floor or higher to view the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed from the 26 of december to the 5 of january and if it wasn't for the employees I would have left on the 27th. The hotel is run down and it needs a lot of TLC, but the employees really try to make your stay a pleasant one.

During my stay the hotel water went out three times, the elevator broke twice and the facilities were below par. The room was ok and clean. They changed the linnens and pillows everyday. The rooms and lobby were good, the rest needs a lot of upgrading. The casino is a joke. the pool is too small, if you get ten people is full. In three diferent ocations i went to the pool and could not get a lounge chair, it was full with only ten people.

The hotel is fine for a solo traveller, no problems receiving guests. Some noise from the street in front. If you are a light sleeper, this hotel is not for you.

Next time I will try the Jaragua, I spent most of my time in their casino playing Texas Holden, If you go ask for Jose, he runs the tables.

Room Tip: All rooms face the road in front of hotel, so you get the noise of all the truck that drive in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcdovelazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was just at this hotel on the night of 11-09-12 and 11-10-12
I'm a single man and booked the most expensive room with twin queen beds ($83.00 plus tax $110 a night)
Clean hotel, guest friendly with no extra fee
Right in the middle of the action but the hotel felt very safe
It has a casino, a pool and a bar and the staff was very attentive and alert to people coming and going
Only thing is they were re-doing the lobby so that was a mess
But when they are done they will have a lobby bar, that should be great
As has been said, it is in Malecon so there was a lot of activity
The road out front is VERY busy so it was noisy, even at like 4 am
If you are going as a family looking for quiet and peace, maybe not for you
But as a single man? Or a couple looking for action? Great choice.
No one spoke a great deal of English, so be aware if you don't speak Spanish that you may have issues. However the desk clerk was certainly proficient.
I was having trouble with the touts around the property trying to get me to go to clubs and into taxi's so I talked to a pit boss in the casino and he hooked me up with a great handler that pointed me in the right direction and even went to a couple of places with me at no charge.
He used a taxi that was cheap (Watch out for the taxi's get an agreed upon price before you get in!)
I would strongly recommend it for the single traveler looking for a good time but probably would suggest a place in the Zona Colonial or even one of the all inclusive resorts if I was traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Make sure your safe works when you get in. Mine had issues and I made them change my room. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 79 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
498 reviews
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
972 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napolitano

Address: Av. George Washington 51, Santo Domingo 10208, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $93 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napolitano 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the Caribbean Sea, just a few steps from the Colonial City. Facilities: Terrace-Restaurant, swimming pool, live music, free Wi-Fi, parking and taxis. All rooms have ocean view and are fully equipped. The closest beach to Santo Domingo is 34km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Napolitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napolitano Hotel And Casino
Napolitano Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing