We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay in the Hotel Napolitano”
Review of Hotel Napolitano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napolitano
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Actually, I guess I can say that my experience with Napolitano was rather pleasant. There are nonetheless a few things that they need to be fixed. First, I hated the fact that there's only one iron for the whole hotel. Every time I needed to iron my clothes, I had to call them to bring it to my room. How pathetic! Second, the female receptionists that work during the day are not friendly at all. I don't understand how somebody working in this type of field can be so poorly customer-oriented. Moreover, the hot water takes a minute to come on--which is not a good thing, especially if you're in a hurry to take shower. Plus, you have the noise--the musics, people walking and talking, the horn of the cars and trucks, etc--woke me up every single night. Other than that, think te hotel is okay. enjoyed my stay; it wasn't a bad experience at all.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Napolitano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Well, the thing is that i went there last week and i love it!, everything!, the food at the restaurant, service, installation, the bedroom; and the price?? well, the best prices for the kind of quality i never had seen before, close to everything i want it, the sea, bars,nightclubs,super market etc.. definitely! two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 700jojo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We booked this hotel for an excellent price-performance ratio, the closenes to the old town with El Cide and the location with a panoramic ocean view.
We found that the Avenue in front of the hotel separating from the costal promenade was crowdy with heavy trucks from 5.30 in the morning till 10 p.m. passing with high speed on the 4-line Avenue. The windons on floor 7 were not noise-protecting and there sleeping was difficult. One night a dancing floor next building made incredible noise untill 5.30 p.m. and the desk was not able to get the problem resolved.
The stuff was very friendly and english capable. The pool-area with the oceanview was nice. The evening-live-musiv was even nice. They are running a power-backup-system very well.
After removing the noise-dimmed level-4 the room was fine.
But unfortunately in the last of our 5 nights they run into a severe electric power problem they could not resolve until our departure at 11 a.m. - we had to take the shower in partial darkness.
Elvevator and the excellent breakfast were well.
The rating is based on this omitted mishappenings and regarding a stay on level 4 in the noise-dimmed rooms.

Room Tip: Require leve 4-rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinrich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is an average hotel, nothing special. The location is probably the best reason to stay in this hotel. It is not luxurious as the Melia, but for a weekend it is more than ok. No complaints about the rooms, I had 2 beds for myself and the mini-bar was well-filled. Bathroom was ok.
I liked the nightclub on the ground floor and the casino adjacent. The club's visitors are the (white) upperclass and elite of the Dominican Rep. The hotel is situated at the begin of Malecon Avenue with a board walk of more than 5 kilometres along the carribean see.
El conde, Parque Colon and Palacio Nacional are in walking distance of the hotel.
The rooms with sea view are the best! The pool is simple, but the bar at the pool is pretty nice for a drink. Every weekend they have life music. It's good to start with this before club hopping. Break fast was average. If you want to bring a chica to your room, the staff won't mind. Moreover, if needed, they will call a chica for you! :)
Yet, if you look for more luxury, a bigger casino or night club. Pay 50 dollars more and move to hotel Melia, 3 blocks from this one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raysefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights but if we would have a time and energy to find other we surely have moved to other place. We stayed just because we have been too tired as we arrived very late in SDO that day and stressed out by embassy issue the day after. It seems to have its best time but definately not anymore. Noisy as its located in the main road facing the ocean (malecon). Great that after we finally can continue our journey, we found other with much better condition and value

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen-nias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

If you want to have a good vacation, never go to this hotel. 1) they say private pool in each room, maybe i don't know what pool means...2) the sheet are cheap, dirty. Instead of white, they are grey. 3) the towels seems like the towels you use to put your feet after shower. 4) i got a 12" tv. 5) the service is the worst i ever see in my life. 6) I couldn't sleep, cause there's a club in the hotel and the sound were loud.This hotel is the worst i ever stay. I don't recommend it cause i got a really, really bad experience. To finish, the worst thing is that while my sister where around the table to take the breakfast, the waiter stole her cellphone, a blackberry. After many pressure, he decide to gave it back. He said that a customer took it, and he gave it back. He gave it back without the cover( the cellphone as a blue cover) Please, NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!! i think they have to change the name. Instead of Napolitano Hotel & Casino, they must call it Napolitano Motel/cabaña and casino.
Once again NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL. I have read some reviews, and if i trusted them, my stay in Santo Domingo could be better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnapolitano, Gerente at Hotel Napolitano, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Dear Sir,

What happened with the celluar of your sister is: the waiter give back the cellular after that one client found it in the breakfast area and give it to the security guy. There was no pressure with the waiter (is working here from years and he's perfect), it only takes time to investigate and recuparate the celluar. That's what happened really. Nobody from the staff will going to rob something to a client. Before leaving I talk with your sister and her husband and they thanks me to have found the celular.

For the other incovignence that you was talking about we're working on it.

I hope to see you again in the Napolitano

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Best few things about hotel are friendly/helpful staff; pool area; full included breakfast; location; price. Room was clean; maid service excellent; good food, beautiful pool/terrace area overlooking the Malecon road and walkway along the Caribbean. All rooms overlook the sea. Yes the hotel could use a new paint job and new carpets and new bedding, but it seemed the hotel staff was constantly cleaning and scrubbing the place. Do not stay there expecting it to be quite at night. The terrace bar/restaurant often has great live music late into the night and on the Malecon there will often be people playing wonderful music loudly. But you can always get your rest during the day at the peaceful pool area. There is a small casino and a nice discoteque so you have about everything you need at the hotel. The General Manager: Gilles seemed to always be available and ready to provide cheerful assistance. I will definitely stay at The Napolitano again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 78 in Santo Domingo
450 reviews
Hotel Villa Colonial
#15 of 78 in Santo Domingo
230 reviews
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 78 in Santo Domingo
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 78 in Santo Domingo
351 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
969 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 78 in Santo Domingo
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napolitano

Address: Av. George Washington 51, Santo Domingo 10208, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $93 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napolitano 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the Caribbean Sea, just a few steps from the Colonial City. Facilities: Terrace-Restaurant, swimming pool, live music, free Wi-Fi, parking and taxis. All rooms have ocean view and are fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napolitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napolitano Hotel And Casino
Napolitano Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing