We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights in January 2014. Room was quite fine but dark. During our stay there were street works, a lot of noise and vibrations. It was dificult to rest in the hotel, but we didn't sit in it. We visited colonial zone. The location is very good, because is very near Plaza Espana and Cathedral Primada. On the same street is museum of chocolate with chocolate tea. 10 minutes from this hotel is chinatown. Adventage is terrace on the roof and very pleasant breakfasts there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 263 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here two different times while traveling through the Dominican Republic. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be better. The included breakfast is also very good. Our first stay was on the 3rd floor, and our second stay was on the 1st floor. We had no issues on the 3rd floor but the street noise from the 1st floor is pretty bad and goes on all night. I would stay at this hotel again but not on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laramy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group. It's in a great area of town- very close to a lot of restaurants and historic areas.The hotel was relatively clean though the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The staff did not speak English so I had to rely on my Spanish speaking friends to pay and get some issues fixed. The third day of our stay, our air conditioning stopped working and we were given a new room. In that new room, the hot water heater did not work. When we told the staff about it, they said we were doing it wrong. They came up to show us and found out that actually it didn't work! So we had to go back to our original room to shower.
So while staff was accommodating (when you could speak Spanish), the facilities were not impressive. Additionally, it was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

20 of us stayed at Antiguo Hotel Europa. We were in Santo Domingo to celebrate a wedding being held at the ruins of Monasterio de San Francisco with the reception being held at Alcazar de Colón. The hotel was the perfect location for the convenience of these venues. It was central to the sights and restaurants in the Colonial Zone and we even got to attend a street party. It was great to attend a local event. The lobby and terrace were both nice places for us to gather, I especially enjoyed the morning breakfast on the terrace. It was a great choice for us and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank madthompso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent two nights in this boutique hotel and enjoyed it. Nice to have WiFi. Rooms was clean. One of the drawbacks is that it is quite noisy. Partly because of the physical nature of the hotel. Every little noise and voice echoes throughout the hotel. The other thing was that the neighborhood just seemed VERY noisy throughout the night, and since there are no “grounds” surrounding the hotel (you walk right out of the door onto the street) the noise is kinda loud all night. But with some white noise on my smart phone, we slept well.

They seemed quite understaffed. I don’t know if that is sort of a characteristic of all small hotels in the D.R., or just this one. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was there last thursday with my family. The position is very nice, very close to the colonial zone of santo domingo. The attention of the lobby was very good and professional. The rooms are basic, small, clean but you can't open the windows. Actually I injuried my self whit a nail trying to open it.

The materass of the bed was clean and pretty new. but a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom was ok but the shower most of the time it didn't have cold water which I have seen in other review as well. This was an issue having small babies.

The breakfast was on the last floor, not very nice terraze. There was not much to eat: bread, jam, a bit of fruit, ham, muffin and smashed eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scubaandsurf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was looking for a hotel to spend 1 night, and I book with Expidia a night on this hotel, they told me the location which I was impress by, they said Down Town Santo Domingo in the colonial area of the city.
The area was terrible, we could not walk in to this property because we fear for our safety. So all I can said that this hotel should not be promoted by any company, because this place is consider a point of prostitution, I don’t recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mercedes191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#23 of 80 in Santo Domingo
173 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 80 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#16 of 80 in Santo Domingo
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Naemie
#21 of 80 in Santo Domingo
206 reviews
TAU Casa Conde
#27 of 80 in Santo Domingo
23 reviews
Maison Gautreaux
#69 of 80 in Santo Domingo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $50 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiguo Hotel Europa is a romantic hotel located in the heart of the Colonial City, in Arzobispo Merino Street, just 200 meters from the Cathedral of Santo Domingo American Primacy and the famous Calle El Conde , and 250 meters from the Alcazar Colon and a few minutes of major shopping malls. On the top floor of the building is our Terraza ideally setting for social events or just for individuals who want to suntan day time in the modern part of Santo Domingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing