We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group. It's in a great area of town- very close to a lot of restaurants and historic areas.The hotel was relatively clean though the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The staff did not speak English so I had to rely on my Spanish speaking friends to pay and get some issues fixed. The third day of our stay, our air conditioning stopped working and we were given a new room. In that new room, the hot water heater did not work. When we told the staff about it, they said we were doing it wrong. They came up to show us and found out that actually it didn't work! So we had to go back to our original room to shower.
So while staff was accommodating (when you could speak Spanish), the facilities were not impressive. Additionally, it was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    70
    62
    23
    16
See reviews for
40
64
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

20 of us stayed at Antiguo Hotel Europa. We were in Santo Domingo to celebrate a wedding being held at the ruins of Monasterio de San Francisco with the reception being held at Alcazar de Colón. The hotel was the perfect location for the convenience of these venues. It was central to the sights and restaurants in the Colonial Zone and we even got to attend a street party. It was great to attend a local event. The lobby and terrace were both nice places for us to gather, I especially enjoyed the morning breakfast on the terrace. It was a great choice for us and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank madthompso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent two nights in this boutique hotel and enjoyed it. Nice to have WiFi. Rooms was clean. One of the drawbacks is that it is quite noisy. Partly because of the physical nature of the hotel. Every little noise and voice echoes throughout the hotel. The other thing was that the neighborhood just seemed VERY noisy throughout the night, and since there are no “grounds” surrounding the hotel (you walk right out of the door onto the street) the noise is kinda loud all night. But with some white noise on my smart phone, we slept well.

They seemed quite understaffed. I don’t know if that is sort of a characteristic of all small hotels in the D.R., or just this one. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was there last thursday with my family. The position is very nice, very close to the colonial zone of santo domingo. The attention of the lobby was very good and professional. The rooms are basic, small, clean but you can't open the windows. Actually I injuried my self whit a nail trying to open it.

The materass of the bed was clean and pretty new. but a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom was ok but the shower most of the time it didn't have cold water which I have seen in other review as well. This was an issue having small babies.

The breakfast was on the last floor, not very nice terraze. There was not much to eat: bread, jam, a bit of fruit, ham, muffin and smashed eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was looking for a hotel to spend 1 night, and I book with Expidia a night on this hotel, they told me the location which I was impress by, they said Down Town Santo Domingo in the colonial area of the city.
The area was terrible, we could not walk in to this property because we fear for our safety. So all I can said that this hotel should not be promoted by any company, because this place is consider a point of prostitution, I don’t recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercedes191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was a bit sceptic when checking the other hotel prices in this part of the city. It turned out that this is a very good value for money - taking into account the location, clean and nicely refurbished rooms, friendly staff and a tasty breakfast at the rooftop terrace!

Room Tip: We had one with a nice balcony adn we liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rrr_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here overnight as a layover catching a flight.

Location: Perfect in the old colonial area, walked very where. Close to Plaza de Espana which is an area with numerous restaurants including some of the well reviewed ones are located. Also close to the main mall area of Calle el Conde. The old colonial area is pretty small and easy to walk around. The location is about 30 min by taxi from the airport.

Feels safe enough to walk around at night.

Room: Selected a room with a balcony based on other reviews so as to get a window. The room is reasonably sized for 1-2 people. Room is a bit aged but is OK for the price.

Other: Reasonable spread for breakfast. Free Wifi which works well. Also numerous wifi spots all around town and most restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paraonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Casa Naemie
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#24 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#10 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Weston Suites Hotel
#49 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Zona Colonial
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
#29 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Property: Antiguo Hotel Europa
Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiguo Hotel Europa is a romantic hotel located in the heart of the Colonial City, in Arzobispo Merino Street, just 200 meters from the Cathedral of Santo Domingo American Primacy and the famous Calle El Conde , and 250 meters from the Alcazar Colon and a few minutes of major shopping malls. On the top floor of the building is our Terraza ideally setting for social events or just for individuals who want to suntan day time in the modern part of Santo Domingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing