We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay. A few things to consider before booking.”
Review of Hotel Shakey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Shakey
Ranked #6 of 67 Santo Domingo B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great stay. A few things to consider before booking.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is situated across the street from the beach and is walking distance to restaurants,pharmacy, casinos and grocery stores. It is Italian owned and has an Italian style of decoration. While most guests are Italian, the staff all spoke English. This was a great hotel and for the price was terrific. Here are the pros and cons that should be considered before booking. For some this will be a perfect choice, others not.

Pros
1) Excellent customer service. I can't emphasize this enough. Everyone was great!
2) convenient location to tourist spots (walking distance to obelisk and Monticeto statue),restaurants, casinos and grocery stores. Across the street from beach.
3) kitchenette
4) clean

Cons
1) Not best neighborhood. Next to sketchy nightclubs. You will be asked for money by locals when you walk outside the hotel. For Santo Domingo, it isn't a bad neighborhood,nor felt unsafe however we had decided that my girlfriend shouldn't out alone either. (This could be said for many places here).
2) Not a hotel for a light sleeper! Street noises come through easily and usually late at night and start at 5 or 6am. For us,it gave us the feeling of the Santo Domingo city and we chalked it up to part of the experience.
3) Low quality bed. Single mattress on a metal frame. At the price of the hotel,it was decent and clean.

Overall our experience was great and I would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMadScalpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice italian owned hotel in de colonial zone in Santo Domingo. 15 minute walk to the places to visit. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The hotel is very safe with a guard with a big shotgun in the front. Walking around in the neighbourhood is very safe, so don't get the wrong idea! The only annoying thing is the prostitutes that start talking to you all the time...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great staff and safe free parking. Spacious ap, clean and nice, but very minimalistic style. "No charm".
No view, looked straight into the ventilation-system at 4th floor. (But the view arn't that good further up either)
One tv located in one of the bedrooms..would prefer to have one in the livingroom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Unparalleled - Relatively small, the quality of place will blow you away. Hotel Shakey is located across from the ocean on the corner of Avenida Pasteur and adjacent to some large casinos and small clubs. Incorrectly listed under "Bed and Breakfasts", Hotel Shakey is neither a B&B nor a hotel. Recently completed, a "one room" actually consists of a beautiful Italian designed and furnished apartment - living room, kitchen, bedroom, and two bathrooms - complete with interior woodwork, balconies, parking and 24 hr security at the door. No restaurant is necessary - there are plenty nearby (and don't forget you have a full kitchen at your disposal). An unbeatable value for the price. Just a short taxi drive to the Colonial Zone. Last but not least, I must mention the courtesy and friendliness of the staff - from the security guard, reception personnel, manager and owner. For a long term stay (or even a day or two), I highly recommend this "residence". Expect to see you again soon, Mario..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doctor-No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was in this beautiful piace tor two weeks since mid february. Everything was excellent. Newly built with all the comforts and at really resanoble prices. Actually it is not a simple hotel but much much much more. Big apartment with one or two bedrooms. I am a single traveller so I booked a small apartment but it was really big with a really nice living room comfortable and big sofa table 4 chairs very well equipped kitchen big refrigerator and freezer. Then a batroom for my guests and one for me. The sleeping room with a really nice band big wardrobe comfortable King size bed big LCD television. There was a really nice balcony with a wonderful see of the Malecon. The cleening was excellent every day punctual very good big and cleen towels. The position is excellent next to Gran Hotel v centenario Crown Plaza where I paid an inscription at a very resanoble price and 'I cuse swimming'pool jacuzzi gym sauna. Very good restaurants nearby Staff really helpful and nice.

Ortensio Apa

Italy Tour Opetator

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apaortensio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Along the sea, within walking distance of three casinos and restaurants, the new Hotel Shakey is beautifully designed with exquisite Italian taste. Room 602 has a great view of the ocean and the City. The room was clean, has 1 & 1/2 baths, a kitchen, wifi, cable tv and A/C. The staff is friendly and importantly the rates are reasonable. I would definitely stay there again when in the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: Try to stay in #602 for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianCarloWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel and can only say absolutely good things about our stay.
The website of the hotel speaks for its'self. What you see on their website is what you get and even more !!!.

The apts. are SUPER clean,,nice,,new !!!!! and offer you absolutely all comfort and commodity.
Service is excellent.Location is perfect and safe.

We STRONGLY recommend this small hotel.You pay less than what all other hotels on the Malecon strip can offer you but you get MUCH MORE for the price you pay at the SHAKEY !!!!.

Suggestion to the italian owner : Microwave in the apts.will be a great asset. That is the only thing we missed.
Steve & Teresa

Room Tip: ask for a Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Napolitano
#28 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Gazcue
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Courtyard Santo Domingo
#4 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakey

Property: Hotel Shakey
Address: Avenida Pasteur 1, Santo Domingo 10207, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shakey 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few meters from the Avenue George Washington (Malecon).In the tourist heart of Santo Domingo. The Apart-Hotel Shakey offers a bright and comfortable Italian style.It is designed to provide our customers a unique experience, different from the typical hotel stay, also includes the possibility for a long term stay.The spacious one and two bedrooms, air-conditioning, kitchen and stylish decor.Shakey conclave is perfect for those wishing to live the Dominican capital without having to travel long distances, is very close to the famous colonial, with its old charm and within walking distance of George Washington Avenue with its prestigious casinos, bars and restaurants by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shakey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing