We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grit plus charm, like the rest of Zona Colonial”
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grit plus charm, like the rest of Zona Colonial”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The good: prime location in the Zona Colonial, in a beautifully restored 1500's residence. Nice courtyard with pool under a big mango tree, and free chilled bottled water for those hot Santo Domingo days. I accidentally left a pair of shoes under the bed and came back a few days later to find that they had set them aside for me to retrieve, which I really appreciated!

The gritty part: I think there was supposed to be some sort of hot tub on the roof but it was closed off? When we arrived at 1am one night after a late flight, we were given a room with a bed with just a bare mattress. It was annoying to be paying $90ish USD a night and not find the room ready with the bed made, to be making the bed ourselves at 1am. Also, there wasn't a comforter, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable. The bathrooms are pretty tiny, and in the first room we were in, the staircase down from the upstairs area was a bit poorly constructed and hard to navigate. They switched us to a different room on the second night, telling us that it was nicer. Other than having a bed that was made and a slightly sturdier staircase, we couldn't tell the difference.

Overall, great location and decent hotel, fine for our purposes. Comparable to El Beaterio around the corner though, and I'd recommend Beaterio instead if you have that option available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dcmarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
26
42
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Everything about this hotel absolutely fascinated me. Love at first sight, my dream house and atmosphere, details, the walls, rooms, high ceilings, fans, service like you arrived to stay with a family that you actually like. Owners showed exquisite taste and a lot of care for details, atmosphere and taste buds. Communication through emails upon arrival was also very neat and clear.
Me and my fiancee arrived for the wedding 3 days before the big day. And everything went better than perfect thanks to all staff members. Special thanks goes to Wilton, Carolina and Felix and another lovely gentleman whose name I forgot and was embarrassed to ask again. Cleanliness was exquisite as well and being a perfectionist, this is the only place I have ever stayed at, that I cannot find a flaw. Random and interesting strangers giving you a cigarette when you run out of them, amazing and refreshing pool only to yourself... The list is too long Massive and loud applause, 10 stars. Hopefully I will win a lottery one day and buy this lovely and wonderful place, definitely the capital's best kept secret. I'm sure this is the beginning of a wonderful and lasting friendship.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights: a couple w adult son. Pluses: very clean, attentive staff, help managing local transportation, small but nice pool, good location, view from roof deck. Breakfast includes lots of fresh fruit but otherwise ordinary unless you pre-arrange for (and pay extra for) the excellent mangu de platanos, or mashed fried plantains- get w fried egg on top! Exercise bike on roof works fine, but water in the Jacuzzi doesn't seem to have been changed in months.
One might want to ask in advance if there will be a large number of young missionaries there at the same time, which apparently happens often. We found them polite and friendly but the hotel is so small that we ended up feeling like we were in the middle of their meeting house.
Also I recommend reconfirming the reservation if made far in advance. They had lost ours and thus also failed to pick us up art the airport as promised.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Me and a group of 5 others stayed in the apartment. The apartment is not located in the main hotel, but 3-4 blocks away. It is a clean and well maintained apartment with more than enough space to fit all 6 of us. 1 room slept 2 on a queen size bed and 1 slept 4 on two twins (one lofted) and a full. The beds were comfortable. Towels and linens were clean and available. Having a well stocked kitchen was awesome. They brought us dish soap, toilet paper, and made sure we had a 5 gallon water jug of clean water.

The water (for showers, sinks, toilet) was out in the apartment the last day that we were there, but they tried several times to fix it and even allowed us to shower in the hotel and provided us with more clean towels and soap. We felt like they tried very hard to address our problem and were very helpful in meeting our needs in a less than ideal situation.

Flaco, Wilson, Francisco, and Mark (the owner) were all amazing, friendly, helped us feel safe and secure. You ABSOLUTELY must have dinner there at the hotel. Carolina's food is to die for and she will make you feel like you are eating a meal at home. We ate dinner there the first night off the menu, all delicious and well priced. That night we talked about wanting some Langostas (lobsters) and Mariscos/Camerones (Seafood/Shrimp) and she went to the market the next morning early and bought them fresh for us. She made the most amazing salad, salsa, and cooked up the lobsters and shrimp to perfection. So amazing!

Definitely will stay again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked our room with Dona Elvira months in advanced and confirmed our reservation several times including when we left for the Dominican Republic, less than 10 days prior to our reserved arrival, and again once in the DR only two days from our planned stay at Dona Elvira. On all communications, via email, we were assured all is fine - our reservation is good to go. We show up and they do not have a room. We are offered an apartment. We went to have a look - what what a horrible apartment!!! You should not do this to anybody - but especially, a family travelling with a small child - something you knew from all our communications. It sure seemed like this was not an accident. I recommend not staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Situated in the middle of zona colonial, the old town, in a building dating back several hundreds of years, tastefully renovated. The foyer hosts a small front desk in a corner and lounge area which seamless extends outdoor into the pool yard.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and made me feel at home.

The pool was emptied the last day of my stay to be refurbished, from what I could see the plastering work looked beautiful.

Extra plus outlets with European 220 Volt power was available at a few places.

Room Tip: The house is old with lots of character, a few of the room (room 2 to 4 I think) have a very cozy sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpilsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The comfort of home combined with historic charm - I loved it here. The staff are amazing and will help you with anything you may want / need. The breakfast is also great! We stayed in one of the rooms with the large bed in the loft and loved the room. It was some of the best sleeps we've had! The property is very well maintained and close to (walking) distance to most sites in S.D., including the public buses. We were staying in Juan Dolio and decided to visit S.D. for the weekend, and it was very easy to get there by public bus. We asked the front to arrange a taxi for us to see a baseball game which was done very easily. I highly recommend everyone to see a game while visiting! the owner came by to say hello to his guests which was a really nice touch. All in all, I'm very happy we found this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damanda483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#36 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Property: Hotel Dona Elvira
Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing