We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flexible, Friendly, AMAZING Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flexible, Friendly, AMAZING Food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Me and a group of 5 others stayed in the apartment. The apartment is not located in the main hotel, but 3-4 blocks away. It is a clean and well maintained apartment with more than enough space to fit all 6 of us. 1 room slept 2 on a queen size bed and 1 slept 4 on two twins (one lofted) and a full. The beds were comfortable. Towels and linens were clean and available. Having a well stocked kitchen was awesome. They brought us dish soap, toilet paper, and made sure we had a 5 gallon water jug of clean water.

The water (for showers, sinks, toilet) was out in the apartment the last day that we were there, but they tried several times to fix it and even allowed us to shower in the hotel and provided us with more clean towels and soap. We felt like they tried very hard to address our problem and were very helpful in meeting our needs in a less than ideal situation.

Flaco, Wilson, Francisco, and Mark (the owner) were all amazing, friendly, helped us feel safe and secure. You ABSOLUTELY must have dinner there at the hotel. Carolina's food is to die for and she will make you feel like you are eating a meal at home. We ate dinner there the first night off the menu, all delicious and well priced. That night we talked about wanting some Langostas (lobsters) and Mariscos/Camerones (Seafood/Shrimp) and she went to the market the next morning early and bought them fresh for us. She made the most amazing salad, salsa, and cooked up the lobsters and shrimp to perfection. So amazing!

Definitely will stay again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
26
42
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked our room with Dona Elvira months in advanced and confirmed our reservation several times including when we left for the Dominican Republic, less than 10 days prior to our reserved arrival, and again once in the DR only two days from our planned stay at Dona Elvira. On all communications, via email, we were assured all is fine - our reservation is good to go. We show up and they do not have a room. We are offered an apartment. We went to have a look - what what a horrible apartment!!! You should not do this to anybody - but especially, a family travelling with a small child - something you knew from all our communications. It sure seemed like this was not an accident. I recommend not staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Situated in the middle of zona colonial, the old town, in a building dating back several hundreds of years, tastefully renovated. The foyer hosts a small front desk in a corner and lounge area which seamless extends outdoor into the pool yard.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and made me feel at home.

The pool was emptied the last day of my stay to be refurbished, from what I could see the plastering work looked beautiful.

Extra plus outlets with European 220 Volt power was available at a few places.

Room Tip: The house is old with lots of character, a few of the room (room 2 to 4 I think) have a very cozy sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpilsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The comfort of home combined with historic charm - I loved it here. The staff are amazing and will help you with anything you may want / need. The breakfast is also great! We stayed in one of the rooms with the large bed in the loft and loved the room. It was some of the best sleeps we've had! The property is very well maintained and close to (walking) distance to most sites in S.D., including the public buses. We were staying in Juan Dolio and decided to visit S.D. for the weekend, and it was very easy to get there by public bus. We asked the front to arrange a taxi for us to see a baseball game which was done very easily. I highly recommend everyone to see a game while visiting! the owner came by to say hello to his guests which was a really nice touch. All in all, I'm very happy we found this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damanda483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Enjoyed my stay in July. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the
old world charm and modern amenities. Nice breakfast, eggs, ham, coffee and included tropical fruits. Hotel is conveniently located in the colonial zone.
The pool in the courtyard was quiet and relaxing to sit and browse the web because they have WiFi. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here with my team for the last three days of our trip. Has a very rustic charm, and the hotel staff make you feel like a family. Every request for new sheets, new towels, cleaned room, etc. was promptly received and taken care of. Although the pool is not always in tip-top shape, upon request it can be cleaned and ready within five minutes. We really enjoyed our time here, and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Snato Domingo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited Santo Domingo and wanted to stay in old city center in order to be walking distance close to the main attractions.

We choose Dona Elvira due to the very good price over the 4 stars rating on Booking. Also the images on booking are misleading. They make you feel like you go to a piece of heaven.

Actually is a piece of hell. The hotel rooms seemed to be more for hourly ranting rather then city trip. The pool is nice but is not very well maintained. There is no way we could use it. There was an old big mango tree that had lot of mangoes. So there were chances that some of the fruits will go in your head :)

The rooms we got they were "upgrade" rooms. We asked to change the sheets of everything (bed, pillow, etc). We found nice curly hair in the bed so we prefer to have new stuff.

We need to keep the windows closed as there were plenty of mosquitoes. We did killed them all but during night time you had to choose between AC in your head and mosquitoes if you open windows.

Fortunately we stayed only 2 nights and Santo Domingo worth the visit. We found some very nice locals that were guides and they showed us around for a certain price per day. One of them even took us to disco with the locals :). Was really great.

Talking again about the hotel, the breakfast was decent, Actually fruits were great. The coffee not so much.
There was also a "jacuzzi". Was build not bought. However very dirty and felt more like for "pleasure party" then for regular customers.

Also was very nice the entrance of the hotel. A big door directly form the street. When you called the bell somebody would look through a small window and check you out :))

Overall i will not come again and i don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olimpiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
218 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
262 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#36 of 79 in Santo Domingo
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
668 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
162 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#23 of 79 in Santo Domingo
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Property: Hotel Dona Elvira
Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing