We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doublebooked and no help”
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doublebooked and no help”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We're a family of four, with two infants. We booked the Isabela suite for three days through their own web-site. Since I booked one day ahead and I didn't get the confirmative mail at once, I called them and they assured me that the suite was reserved and wished us welcome.
After a four hours drive we arrived to find out that they had reduced the suite (the two conjoined rooms can be shut off) into a small bedroom with a double bed. No room for a family of four!
We were offered a slightly bigger room with two beds. But the point was to have separate bedrooms!
Asked for the manager, but was only told that he/she wasn't there.
Have read reviews that this doublebooking has happened to other as well regarding Dona Elvira.
No help what so ever to carry all our bags and stroller out and into the car again!
Not a nice welcome to la capital.
Luckely there are other good options:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
26
42
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were at the Dona Elvira for a week in March 2013. Our room was clean and comfortable with a large window that opened into to courtyard. We had a tv and a wall a/c unit. The private bath was small, but was it was clean and worked fine.

The greatest selling points of this place are its charm and its location. It does not offer the same level of luxury as a 5-star big-name hotel, but I think its charm more than made up for that. It's in a converted 16th-century mansion and centers around a courtyard with a small swimming pool. The pool is shaded by a large mango tree...a net beneath the tree keeps mangoes from bonking you on the head while you swim. All of the guest rooms (I think) as well as the common areas of the hotel open to this lovely courtyard. We ate breakfast in their dining area every morning, and it was breezy and beautiful. And it's an easy, easy walk from tons of restaurants, shops, and sights in the Colonial section of town.

The staff were polite, friendly, and helpful. They do not, however, speak much English. We were there as part of a group, and most of the arrangements had been made for us by local friends, but even so, the fact that I have a working knowledge of Spanish came in very handy.

We ate breakfast at the hotel every day. It didn't vary, but that could very well be because it was prearranged for us that way. I didn't ask. We had coffee, fresh fruit (banana, melon, papaya, pineapple), scrambled eggs with ham, and potatoes. Breakfast might have been my favorite interval of the day...had we not had places to go, I might have lingered with my coffee in the cool of the morning by that courtyard for a long time. They also packed us a lunch one day when we took a day trip outside of town.

If you are visiting the Dominican Republic, this is probably the kind of place you will enjoy if you prefer an international experience that feels local. I'm glad we stayed somewhere that felt like we were in Santo Domingo. If you prefer to have your lodging more familiar and just venture out into the culture during the day, there are big-name hotels on some of the main streets in Santo Domingo, but that would have felt sort of sanitized to me.

Having said that, and reiterating that I enjoyed our stay and would gladly return, let me list a few hints that might me helpful.

1. The safe in our room didn't work at all. I don't know whether this situation might have been easily addressed...we never tried.
2. The water pressure and temperature in the shower were unpredictable and sometimes varied dramatically during a single shower. When we first arrived, the shower wouldn't turn on at all, but they fixed that quickly. There's a dispenser in the shower with some body wash/ gel stuff.
3. On the fourth day of our trip we returned home to discover our dirty clothes were missing. It turned out that the housekeeping staff had taken our laundry bag. They washed and dried our laundry and returned it the next day. The same thing happened to others in our group. They didn't charge us for this service (we never figured out if it was standard or if our friends had arranged for it), but I should mention that a bunch of us were missing a sock or two by the time we left. :) Still, it was nice not to go home with a huge pile of sweaty clothes.
4. They have a cat and a calm, sweet old dog that meander around the common areas. I'm allergic to cats but didn't have any reactions.
5. There's a jacuzzi or hot tub or some such thing upstairs on a little veranda, next to a little shaded sitting area and a couple of pieces of ancient exercise equipment. The jacuzzi is very pretty with its colorful tile, but it wasn't clean-looking enough for me to want to venture into it.
6. Very important--there is no fence or guard rail or anything blocking the pool, which is central and prominent in the courtyard. It would be very difficult to have a toddler around it...you'd have to be on your guard every moment.

Even with all of the above quirks, we really had a wonderful time. If I return to Santo Domingo, and I may, I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Quiet, great rooms , we were a family with 3 kids, in a Rey fernando jr suite, super nice, next to swimming pool, bar, resto, patio, wifi, staff friendly as can be, walking distance to everything.Not sure what some guests were writing, everything worked great, good value, if you like rich positive emotions and memories, choosebthis historical 16 th century building! If you modern glass towers i suggest the Hilton nearby!

Room Tip: Large family rey fernando rooms next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the stay at Hotel Dona Elvira. Although some people may not appreciate an older building turned into a hotel and would much rather enjoy a five-star hotel and all its amenities. My husband and i rather like being able to stay in such a heritage site. Our family get-away consisted of my husband and I (47 & 50yrs old) our two boys (7 & 13yr old) and my 70yr old mother. We stayed at this hotel because of its location, Colonial Zone. Many tourist attractions and reasonable restaurants within walking distance. This hotel was very clean, quiet, friendly staff, with a breakfast, which consisted of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, ham, juice and coffee. Our 7yr old son was given the choice of eggs or corn flakes! a good value indeed! We bought a peanut butter & jelly spread, which we had at the table and spread on our toast. (no hassle from the staff). We also had a bottle of Baileys to pour into our morning coffee (no hassle from thh staff) During our stay we saw a few mangos fall from the very old mango tree in the pool area and watched the staff pick up the mango and place it in the kitchen. I would only imagine that it would be consumed by the guest/staff, How wonderful to eat such fresh fruit! The room we stayed in was on the main floor which consisted of two rooms, with one king bed in one room and one room with three single beds. Perfect for a family of 4-5! (We originally booked the apartment room, which we found out when we checked in that it was located at a different site - way too far. The staff had us booked in at the hotel and offered us alternate accommodations - the main floor suite! We will definitely stay there again. thank you hotel Dona Elvira!

Room Tip: fitness center consisted of a few few weights, stationary bike. There was a Jacuzzi hot tub, locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

During our recent trip to Dominican Republic we decided to visit Santo Domingo. As the main part of our holiday was on the north side of the island we just needed a hotel in SD for a couple of days. We made the reservation thru Booking.com and got a firm confirmation back. Imaging our surprise that after a 4 hours bus ride we showed up at the hotel doorstep to find the hotel over booked and no room for us. Luckily this didn't spoil our trip to the city as we found another hotel. And to be fair, your front desk clerk helped us out finding this hotel but having to spend time solving such an unnecessary problem is not the best start for a visit to a new city.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

With a charming courtyard around a non-swimming pool, the rooms don't feel so small. The excentricities about an old colonial-era house are the attraction. A great location in Ciudad Colonial also helps. Nice breakfast. Wi Fi. Lots of restaurants, nightlife near-by.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor have two beds but feel a bit like a hostel. Rooms on the first balcony are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Claustrophobic rooms, poor breakfast, service even below dominican standards, relatively high rates, worth only for the location. Given the way the hotel markets itself vs the low value for money, the owners could only be French

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#36 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Property: Hotel Dona Elvira
Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing