We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas get-away 2013”
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the stay at Hotel Dona Elvira. Although some people may not appreciate an older building turned into a hotel and would much rather enjoy a five-star hotel and all its amenities. My husband and i rather like being able to stay in such a heritage site. Our family get-away consisted of my husband and I (47 & 50yrs old) our two boys (7 & 13yr old) and my 70yr old mother. We stayed at this hotel because of its location, Colonial Zone. Many tourist attractions and reasonable restaurants within walking distance. This hotel was very clean, quiet, friendly staff, with a breakfast, which consisted of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, ham, juice and coffee. Our 7yr old son was given the choice of eggs or corn flakes! a good value indeed! We bought a peanut butter & jelly spread, which we had at the table and spread on our toast. (no hassle from the staff). We also had a bottle of Baileys to pour into our morning coffee (no hassle from thh staff) During our stay we saw a few mangos fall from the very old mango tree in the pool area and watched the staff pick up the mango and place it in the kitchen. I would only imagine that it would be consumed by the guest/staff, How wonderful to eat such fresh fruit! The room we stayed in was on the main floor which consisted of two rooms, with one king bed in one room and one room with three single beds. Perfect for a family of 4-5! (We originally booked the apartment room, which we found out when we checked in that it was located at a different site - way too far. The staff had us booked in at the hotel and offered us alternate accommodations - the main floor suite! We will definitely stay there again. thank you hotel Dona Elvira!

Room Tip: fitness center consisted of a few few weights, stationary bike. There was a Jacuzzi hot tub, locate...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dona Elvira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

During our recent trip to Dominican Republic we decided to visit Santo Domingo. As the main part of our holiday was on the north side of the island we just needed a hotel in SD for a couple of days. We made the reservation thru Booking.com and got a firm confirmation back. Imaging our surprise that after a 4 hours bus ride we showed up at the hotel doorstep to find the hotel over booked and no room for us. Luckily this didn't spoil our trip to the city as we found another hotel. And to be fair, your front desk clerk helped us out finding this hotel but having to spend time solving such an unnecessary problem is not the best start for a visit to a new city.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

With a charming courtyard around a non-swimming pool, the rooms don't feel so small. The excentricities about an old colonial-era house are the attraction. A great location in Ciudad Colonial also helps. Nice breakfast. Wi Fi. Lots of restaurants, nightlife near-by.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor have two beds but feel a bit like a hostel. Rooms on the first balcony are n...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Claustrophobic rooms, poor breakfast, service even below dominican standards, relatively high rates, worth only for the location. Given the way the hotel markets itself vs the low value for money, the owners could only be French

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Compared to other accommodation, Dona Elvira is not the cheapest option. However, it has an amazing location, a very helpful staff, and breakfast is included so I think it was well worth the price. The room is basic but has everything you need and some extras like a TV with international channels and free wifi. I would recommend it for a short stay or a long one!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dona Elvira is a nice comfortable hotel in a great location in the Colonial Zone of Santo Domingo. The hotel is very secure and the staff is super nice. The breakfast included in the rate is great and it was easy to have a good night's sleep there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anikohorvath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Like the beauty of the zona colanial the doors opened of this hotel and what the zona colonial reflects, you feel it directly back when you enter this hotel, the old architecture good preserved.
With cozy rooms whats remind me of mine trips to malaga and florance. With friendly employers and good service made this stay a warm memory.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjoerd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#15 of 78 in Santo Domingo
230 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
273 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 78 in Santo Domingo
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
171 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 78 in Santo Domingo
250 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 78 in Santo Domingo
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $62 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing