We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast but overpriced tiny room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast but overpriced tiny room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Good things: great, large breakfast of fruit, eggs, toast with butter and jam, coffee, and juice. Nice little pool for kids. The location is excellent-a couple blocks from the pedestrian street and withing walking distance to all Zona Colonial attractions. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Bad things: we had a room with a twin bed below and queen upstairs. The room was tiny and very cramped. The bathroom was so small that you have to sit sideways on the toilet. The stairs are incredibly steep. I felt the room was very overpriced. There is a jacuzzi on the roof but it is not heated. There was a room full of about 15 locals that partied until 1130pm and seemed to have just paid to stay for several hours. I will look for a different hotel when we return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabuka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donael, General Manager at Hotel Dona Elvira, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
dear client
thank you for your honnest and sensible opinion (unfortunately some competitors entice clients to put defamation messages with Tripadvisor blessings).
The Columbus room you picked is the most affordable among the 4 categories we have, Columbus because it is in the 16th century structure which we had to respect and we were not allowed to move walls, therefore a bit tiny, not so different from hotesl I stayed in Sevilla or Granada fro same reasons, next time we offer you a free upgrade to an Antonetta Deluxe room, much more spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
27
42
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed only for one night, but arrived at 3 am due to our late arriving flight time. I was nervous that no one would answer the door at such a late hour, but he did instantly. Service at breakfast was courteous and yummy (eggs, cheese, ham, toast, fruit), and the coffee strong just like we needed. The hotel is very cute, and the room clean and pretty. It looks just like the pictures (I'm looking at the -small- pool right now). Light, airy, and pretty, and apparantly owned by a Belgian American couple. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 96NDini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Casa Dona Elvira. As the pictures show it is a beautiful building that shows some of the charm of the colonial Dominican Republic. The rooms are not very big, but good enough for two people.
It really forms a secure place in the busy city of Santo Domingo. The air conditioning works perfectly, and this was a big plus because the temperatures were even in January high! The swimmingpool is not very big, but was kept clean multiple times a day and served as a good cool down.
Not everyone speaks English at the Casa, but most of them try to help you. If you consider visiting this place and Santo Domingo in general, it is convenient if you have some knowledge of Spanish.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijn dU d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This restored old house has lovely arched doorways and a pleasant inner court yard with a small swimming pool. The breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs and ham, and good coffee was a welcome way to start the day. It is a short walk to El Conde, the main street of the Zona Colonial and close to the major points of interest. Safe parking is just around the corner from the hotel. Mr. Wilton, the hotel manager spoke excellent English and always eager to be helpful. I'm not sure that I'd say the Antonetta Room was fit for a queen but it was comfortable and quiet for our three day stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmdja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for three nights following a business meeting I had in Santo Domingo.

The location is very good; in the colonial zone, yet not just around El Conde, which makes it more quiet. An easy walk to everywhere.
The hotel itself is rather charming. They have rebuilt old ruins to make a very nice looking building, the central patio with the small pool is great.
Staff have generally be very helpful and respectful; everything we needed was corrected very fast.
Breakfast was pretty good, too. Better than other hotels in the area (fresh fruit, eggs, toast).

Now, the room: we found a deal for their "columbus" room and got this almost half price.
The room is a closet; you can barely walk in there after you put your suitcases anywhere.
Big stains on walls. The bed is just a mattress put on the ground; you need to climb a ladder to get to it.
No comfort or intimacy at all, and every person passing by talking fells like they're shouting behind your door. We even got awakened in the middle of the night by the telephone at reception... The room was full of mosquitoes, and not so clean.
Had we paid full price, we would probably have left the hotel after one night.

There is a thin line between a charming, modest hotel, and just a bad hotel. I do not know about the other rooms; but with these, it feels quite closer to the "just bad" side of it.
A little update would do much good (better doors would be a good step)

If you stay there, I would recommend to go for a larger room, avoid the Columbus ones.

Room Tip: Avoid "Columbus" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I love this hotel. My husband and I went for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. Breakfast is great (ham and cheese eggs, toast w butter and jam, a fruit plate, and coffee). It's a very laid back and comfortable environment but very efficient. Staff is ultra friendly and helpful, there's always someone up front to open the door and secure the entrance. It's EXTREMELY central- two blocks from the conde (main shopping strip) and 5 blocks the other way to the malecon. Some of the rooms have stairs and the bathrooms are downstairs so if you have kids with you, you should make sure to get a flat so they don't fall walking to the bathroom at night. There's no fridge in the room but we put stuff in the kitchen fridge all the time and it was completely fine. All rooms are air conditioned. There's a pool. The only two negatives were that while we were there the hospital down the block was being reconstructed so it was kinda noisy sometimes. Also, it's an indoor/outdoor hotel, which is GREAT and very pretty on sunny days, but when it rains you have to use an umbrella or run to your room. Overall, I LOVE this hotel. The wifi in the room always works and there's a computer downstairs.

Room Tip: check whether it's a 2story room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

The hotel is very nice and give you the real Dominican experience!
The location is perfect to go out and tour the colonial zone!
The staff is very gentle and polite.
The food is nice, home style!
If I will go back in Santo Domingo for sure I will be back!
Thanks for the nice hospitality!
Milo e Marianne.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milonegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#38 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#23 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Property: Hotel Dona Elvira
Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing