We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything in this hotel 5 stars for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything in this hotel 5 stars for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and 1 night on our way to and from Las terrenas. Very clean, modern excellent service, Staff is well trained and refer to you by last name very polite and professional. We had a breakfast package and food was very good, room service was expensive, there is a supermarket 2 blocks from hotel as well as a McDonalds. It is centrally located about 1 mile from El Malecon and the Casinos( do not go to Jaragua Renaissance casino smoky and outdated, Melia casino was better). Colonial zone always a must, Alcazar de Colon, Cathedral, note: museums and Modelo market close early at 5:30 pm. Rooms were modern, beds comfortable pillow tops. Pool was a lap pool not too big but always stocked with nice big towels. Fitness center had modern Life Fitness Treadmills and Ellipticals . Complementary Laundromat in the first floor a plus if you travel lite. This hotel is choice number one for price and quality.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaHondurena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    143
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
43
43
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, Ca.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I just spent the long weekend at Courtyard Marriot and I found it quite pleasent. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was huge, sperate bath large bath an shower.
The foyer was well appointed and tranquil. The staff was very helpful and polite upon check in. The surrounding area was sort of uninteresting. It was luckily near a metro entrance. There was a full super market 2 blocks down. A Pizzarella across the street .YOu could walk down to the sea side in about 10 min. Not a real beach but a sort of paved long walking seaside street bussling with trafic. IN order to go to the interesting Colonial Zone of Santo Domingo you had to take a $10 taxi ride. It seemed it cost about $10 to go to just about every zone. The Zona Oriental was interesting but kind of seedy lined with bars playing way too loud music. The taxis tend to drop you right where the tour guides are in order to sell you a guided walking tour. Luckily my Spanish is quite good so I was able to politely refuse and compliment them in the same sentance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramondodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights, and we prefer the Melia. The pool is tiny, and was OK. No lounge chairs when we went. Parking was safe, and the staff was friendly enough, they certainly didn't take the time to know our name. It is in a busy area and not within walking distance to many attractions, except some museums in La Plaza de la Cultura.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john55c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

My family and I stayed there for 3 days from October 31st to Nov 2nd, 2008. The hotel meets or exceeds the standards of any Marriott Courtyard property in the US. But the service is even better, and the location is optimal for those travellers with business throughout the city (like me). It's close to everything.

The room was comfortable, very clean and spacious, with the standard amenities. Wired Internet access in the room, Wifi downstairs, and PCs with Internet access in the business center make connectivity for business travelers a snap.

If you stay here, be sure to add the breakfast option to your room rate when you reserve or check in instead of paying as you go – you’ll save a lot of money. The American-style-with-local-touches breakfast buffet (with omelets made to order, too) is excellent and you’ll be pampered by a very friendly and willing staff.

The buffet varies from day to day, so you don’t get stuck eating the same thing every day. One day they had Dominican sausage (aka ‘salchichón’) which I enjoyed; they didn’t have in the buffet the next day, but when I asked the buffet cook he went to the kitchen and cooked a special order for me at no charge.

The reception staff is very friendly, capable and they all speak perfect English. The pool is a little small and doesn’t get much sun, but it’s super clean. Fitness center, small but complete... they even have a laundry room with coin operated machines.

I don’t know why folks are giving this place negative reviews; having stayed at other hotels (Lina, Jaragua, etc.), I can say with confidence I’ll be staying here in the future.

One caveat – water and incidentals are EXPENSIVE in the hotel – even for the US. Get a room with a fridge and go down the street (2 blocks south) to the very modern US style supermarket where you can get anything you need at much lower cost.

  • Liked — VALUE!!! Clean, location, service, amenities all great
  • Disliked — Prices of water and incidentals
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dictator_Sulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

If you are familiar with the Courtyards (Marriott) in the US, you will find this one to be exquisite. We brought a large group and there was a problem with the reservation: one room was missing. As the front desk staff worked on solving the problem, they were gracious and relentless, even when it turned out the mistake was ours when we made the booking, and not theirs. The room we had was more like a Renaissance or Four Seasons standard with beautiful appointments in the bath and bedroom. Granite and marble, ebony wood (carved), plush towels, wonderful bed and beddings, etc. The breakfast buffet was equal to most Courtyards, however, there is a wait staff that serves like for a fine dining restaurant. The coffee in the lobby is better than most, and there is also fresh squeezed fruit juices from time to time. Only thing that was not attractive was the location, but the parking lot is gated.

  • Liked — beautiful lobby, rooms for a Courtyard
  • Disliked — neighborhood/location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Songbird4JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed at this hotel with a baby and our nanny and spent a couple of nights. We got a good deal on Expedia for approx. $100/night and found the hotel to be a great value for the money.

The hotel is fairly new and has excellent infrastructure and service. Rooms are spacious, though the bathroom could be larger. Beds are comfortable, furniture is adequate, carpets look very clean and in good condition.

The hotel has a spacious and comfortable lobby and lounge area, where we met our friends and spent a nice evening talking for hours. The on-site restaurant and service are excellent.

The hotel location is not the greatest, it's off a busy avenue and you must drive to get to decent dining/shopping. That was ok for us, we already had the expectation that Courtyards in the U.S. are convenient for a short stay and are not luxury hotels.

We were pleased with this hotel and would definitely recommend it. If you're familiar with Courtyards in the U.S. you will know what to expect.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

All I can tell you is that you will not be disappointed with this hotel. At first I was a little hesitent with with the amount of reviews I read on the net, but as soon as I got to the Courtyard everything changed.
From the service, to the food, everything was better than I expected. If you needed something from the front desk, their friendly service people were there to greet and attend to your needs. I found the rooms clean and prepared everytime I went out. The workout room is a little small but the reality is, not a lot of peple work out when their drinking, eating, or on business.

At the end of the day, were all looking for the balance between quality and price. Believe when I say this hotel will impress your wallet as well as your expectations!

Mike..

  • Liked — Food and the rooms
  • Disliked — Traffic congestion
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Estavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#6 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Property: Courtyard Santo Domingo
Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing