We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The room was great and it was nicely kept. All the staff was wonderful. The location was optimal, close to many restaurants (mostly fast food). The room service was normal. I would think they would have more local food in the menu (mostly American choices). The pool area is nicely manicured and quiet. Free WiFi topped the cake.

Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Skip the buffet breakfast and get breakfast from the many places nearby. Also, call an outside cab...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EngelsMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Santo Domingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 514 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

First, the Courtyard is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable, the beds are great, the bathroom is spacious and clean, you get quality 32" TV, they even have a room that has Jacuzzi bathtub, you have gated security which also includes parking, I suggest for $10 extra go for the breakfast buffet plan it's very filling, they have a washer/dryer room next to the gym, the area is near bunch of fast food restaurant, I suggest to avoid walking at night around the area, take a take to the malecon where their is a outside activity area police present, lots of dance clubs near by offering all types of popular music, Boca Chica beach 1/2 hour away by vehicle. Only downside is the swimming pool, hidden in the side of the building, if swimming pool is important the Renaissance Jaragua Hotel has a great swimming area with beautiful views, The personnel at the courtyard are friendly, and I too have been going to the Courtyard Hotel since they opened around November 2003.

Room Tip: If your a smoker they have rooms with patios, and they also have a few rooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Solid hotel. Good family hotel. Close to local restaurants (and traditional McDonalds; Burger King, Taco Bell, etc). Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Inexpensive taxis to City attractions. They also allow you to exchange for pesos at the hotel. I would stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel has a great exchange rate.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel had excellent front desk and dining/bar staff. Friendly, excellent English. Rooms very clean and to Marriott standards. Love this hotel. Breakfast very tasty with many options. Dinner menu not especially memorable, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Great for business travelers, has highly visible security in parking lot and in hotel which is nice. Not a whole lot to do near this hotel. Pool a little small, but grounds nicely kept. Great outdoor seating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been traveling to the DR for many years for business and pleasure. Whenever I go to Santo Domingo, I ALWAYS stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. I love that I'm always immediately recognized by the hotel lobby staff and they welcome back to my 'second home'! The hotel is always well maintained, which is not always the case in hotels around the island. They are constantly upgrading and maintaining the property. It is in a great location in between the 'old and new city" and easily accessible by car, taxi, or the new metro which is only a block away. I love the back patio to read and work or to have lunch or dinner and love the special themed dinner menus during the week. I love this hotel! The staff is super friendly and always does their best to make your stay a pleasant one. The on-site facilities, i.e., gym, laundry, pool, patio, restaurant and bar, are typical Courtyard, and a pleasant experience in Santo Domingo. I will continue to stay at this hotel for the next 10 years of visits to Santo Domingo!

Room Tip: Santo Domingo is a noisy city so request an 'inside room' that faces the pool or patio for a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgharris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business, and it was a perfect hotel. It is within the city center with a few restaurants nearby. There is a security guard in the parking lot, so it seems like a safe place.

Check in was pretty simple and easy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The lobby seemed pretty busy with people, and I asked what was going on. Because I was there on a Wednesday night, there was an outdoors BBQ and drink specials. I usually like going out and exploring the city, but the BBQ really smelled good. And it tasted really good.

The rooms were nice and big. It was a standard Courtyard room - nice and clean.

There is also a nice breakfast in the restaurant that has a mix of hot foods and continental items. You can also make eggs to order.

There is also a small gym on the first floor and a small outdoor pool with loungers.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The good -
Nice clean gym
Washing machine available for free
Internet
The bad -
Breakfast
Service
Location
Multiple calls each day if you have a do not disturb sign up
AC kicks on and off frequently so you are either freezing or sweating

My favorite part of the two week stay was each day at breakfast the rude waitstaff telling me to sign the bill while I have fork in hand. Get a clue. I asked the guy if he was new or if it was his first day. It was a daily struggle to get coffee so I would get it myself, then end up in a wrestling match with the waiter because all of a sudden he realized he was supposed to do that.

Come on Marriott... pull it together!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
969 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#7 of 78 in Santo Domingo
630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 78 in Santo Domingo
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $110 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing