We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night due to flight being delayd. The service was excellent, food delicious and the rooms clean and beautiful with huge kingsize beds and wireless internet connection free of charge. Small garden with pool at the back of the hotel. Easy walk down to the Malecon for a stroll by the sea. I warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    131
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
39
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

That was my first stay at the Courtyard and I was delighted!
Room was spacious, queen beds perfect! Everything was tidy, the service was great!
Breakfast buffet was tasty and with a very large choice of food! The croissants were to die for!
I will definately stay there again for my next trip in santo Domingo!
(Oh and the good price I had with booking.com was a bonus!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoraBachatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed seven days. If not for terrific front desk staff, I would rate hotel lower than average. The front desk staff are helpful, prompt, respectful, and all speak and understand english. The restaurant, housekeeping, and ground staff do not speak english. The exterior was freshly painted during my visit. The interior was not recently painted, and my room and common areas indicated signs of wear and tear. The bathroom sink developed a water leak and floor always looked dirty. The pool water had a hazy white appearance and I elected not to swim. You could hear voices from neighboring rooms and dogs constantly barking outside - only at night. The two elevators are small and wait times high during peak times. The hotel is close to a large Nacional grocery store, Pizzarelli, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, and private bus company for express buses to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just had another great trip in Santo Domingo thanks to great staff at the Courtyard. I will continuously choose this hotel when I am in Santo Domingo. This was my third stay and the staff is professional every time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was my second time in three months and both times were great. The (mostly) bilingual staff do their best to help you quickly and you're checked in and out in just a few months.

Santo Domingo has other hotels that show off the Dominican cultural and style more, but the Marriott is clean, secure, comfortable, and a goof choice. Not located super close to the Colonial Zone, but is just a few minutes away by taxi or public transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here one night for a business event. Very nice hotel downtown Santo Domingo.
Nothing but perfect!
The check in process was effortless and the front desk personnel were very welcoming.
Room was spacious and spotless.
Service at the restaurant was OUTSTANDING.
I love going to a hotel that takes the time to get to know their clients and cater to their wants and needs and the Courtyard Santo Domingo delivered on all my expectations.
This is a beautiful hotel and I would highly recommend it. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

well i have been ther 3 times,exellent rooms bed, pillows but old bathrooms and showers.
the pool needs to be fixed the water fall at the pool looks old and dirty and also the pool floor ,but other than that i love the beds and the room,and is close to all in santo domingo.
at the restaurant they need i think a little high quality food.

Room Tip: ask for the one with balcony at least is a little extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#6 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental El Embajador
Occidental El Embajador
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
98.0 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Property: Courtyard Santo Domingo
Address: C/ Maximo Gomez 50A, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing