We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for business travel - except for fitness center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for business travel - except for fitness center”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I really enjoyed the Marriott in terms of a nice room and amenities that I am used to in order to conduct and get business done when on the road (desk, internet connection, good room service, etc.). The restaurant in the hotel had very good food and a great breakfast buffet. The service was very good and the personnel at the front desk were very cordial and helpful. Everyone speaks English and were also knowledgeable about the area.

I was disappointed with the fitness center. Some of the tv's on the cardio equipment doesn't work (and I believe that it should - it looked like it's been that way for some time). Also, the website says they have 'free weights' (plural) and well, they only have one 12kg dumbbell - so, I guess they have a 'free weight' - to be more accurate :). If your not into working out, then it's not a big deal. If you are and you appreciate free weights in a fitness center - be prepared to do a lot of reps/sets. There is a multi-station weight machine that will adequately work you out, so all is not lost. And, it worked fine.

So, nice place to stay (didn't venture out in the neighborhood since I've never been there before, so I can't comment on what is in walking distance) if it's convenient to where you need to be. Did go to the 'old town' (Zona Colonial) and would highly recommend it. Some nice restaurants and it's a nice place to walk about and sight see.

Room Tip: I had a room that looked out over the parking lot and in the distance was the ocean, so that is a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pellaz-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    158
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
47
44
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindon, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. We had our 3 of our kids (16, 18, and 21) with us. We were visiting friends in the south west part of the country so this worked well for us to take day trips and then come back to good accommodations. The room had a small refrigerator so we just bought food for breakfast at a near by grocery store. We did not eat on the premises. The room was clean, it was no problem getting a roll away bed. The staff we worked with were friendly and spoke English.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave-in-Lindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is a great choice for a business traveler seeking Courtyard by Marriott's standard services and amenities while traveling to Santo Domingo on a budget. The hotel chain's standardization makes this property comfortable for visitors who have stayed at other Courtyard properties elsewhere, down to the lobby layout and business center. A nice-sized swimming pool is a great amenity for businesspeople with some free time but not enough to go to the beach. The restaurant has good Dominican and international dishes at reasonable prices. Rooms are large, with ample bathrooms. There is free internet service, with wi-fi throughout. The location is good, as the hotel is located near several main thoroughfares that will facilitate getting to meetings, restaurants, shopping, etc. Unfortunately, though located just a few blocks from the Caribbean shore, there are no good views to speak of and rooms either face other buildings or the hotel parking lot.

Room Tip: Avoid first-floor rooms since these may have windows looking directly onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santiago305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I will just rate the hotel.

Check in process was very good and the guy at the front desk was very attentive and explained the hotels activities.

Wifi was very good. Excellent signal and speed.

Ordered room service and took 15 minutes and everyone was very attentive.

Restaurant is not the best but breakfast buffet is very good.

I would stay here anytime again. You feel secure in the hotel. What is not good is the entrance/exit since is in the busy Maximo Gomez Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_pr_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Location is NOT this hotels best venue (difficult to get into and out of the hotel due to the traffic and their is nothing around except the US Embassy) however the other amenities more than make up for it.... This is a business persons hotel. It has excellent internet services and it is FREE. Rooms are very clean and updated, have a mini-fridge, and the tv's are LCD's with numerous channels. Free coffee in the lobby in the mornings. There are washer and dryers for use free of charge. The food is adequate (breakfast selection is normal nothing exciting) and the service is wonderful. Try to get breakfast included with your room rate otherwise I don't think it is worth it. I called maintenence several times and they were at my room in minutes to take care of things. Some pitfalls...no hot water...just luke warm and in some rooms the air conditioning will not go lower than "64" but in actuallity it was "70'...

Room Tip: If you are air conditioner fan like me ask for a room who ac goes LOWER than 64. Some have them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmarutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel is clean. The free wifi was excellent. I used my friends and family discount so breakfast was excluded. I did eat dinner in the restaurant once. The food was good. The hotel is in a very busy area of the capital. There are a lot of other restaurants in the area (McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Burger King). Once you leave the hotel no one speaks English. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie_Vazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for one night in Santo Domingo, we were not sure where to go and stumbled upon here. Being Dominican-American I trusted the marriot label so I decided it would be clean and safe.

The staff at the front desk were very nice and courteous. We payed 140 for one night. Besides the room, nothing else was included, breakfast was extra money. We didn't bring swimsuits so were not able to take advantage of the pool. I appreciated the free internet access on the lobby. The location of the hotel convinient, it is in a busy area of the capital, so if you do not want to eat at the hotel there are plenty of places to go eat, there is a supermarket down the street as well.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Towels, iron, safe, blowdryer and coffeemaker with complimentary coffee were among the amenities. We called room service for two small presidentes, but they were SOO expensive compared to how much you pay for a small presidente on the street. Anyways, besides it being pricey, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
948 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#8 of 78 in Santo Domingo
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 78 in Santo Domingo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Property: Courtyard Santo Domingo
Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing