We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience for the adventure person”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Duque De Wellington
Ranked #68 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Been here 3 times. Not a 5 stars hotel, but a perfect hotel for a weekend out of NYC. Location is great, visitors policy is priceless. Walking distance to the Conde, groceries next door, couple of restaurants close by etc. The malecon is two blocks away where you can find all the big hotels. Not a family hotel, adults only hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank noslen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2009

I am a travel agent and spent a week at this hotel. For someone to suggest the lobby is a brothel would be hilarious, if it weren’t so detrimental to the reputation of a reasonably priced hostal in a great location with hardworking staff. When you walk in, the first thing you notice is how tiny the lobby is -- barely room for one or two people to sit! There’s a restaurant on one side (excellent Italian) and a full service travel agency on the other (I got my rental car at a reasonable rate through them). It’s located in the heart of Gascue, a short walk from the Malecon and El Conde. I took one of the suites because I had business guests visit. Even so, the hotel security requires them to leave their ID (cedula) at the front desk. It is not returned to the visitor by security until they call the hotel guest first to verify all is well. I suppose other guests could presume anyone visiting me was a prostitute – male or female. But the streetwalkers tended to hang out near the classier 5 star hotels just a few blocks away on the beach. My suite had a balcony and refrigerator, and was quite ample. Were there problems? Of course, in this price range. At one point the phone didn’t work, and at another time the light didn’t work in the bathroom. These were handled promptly and professionally. If you want perfection, be prepared to pay three times the price. You won’t find any friendlier or better service elsewhere, however.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kookookachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Ok, just got back from this spot and will NEVER stay there again. I found the service 50/50. Sometimes you got a real cool concierge, othertimes they were really 'bothered' by your presence. The security overnight harassed visitors for tips and threatened them. I had roaches as well. I paid $65 a night, and was charged for my guests which was not advertised. I felt the room was worth 35-40. This can be done at other hotels actually in the colonial zone. They also advertised a pool which wasn't there. Their exchange rate was suspect. And although the neighborhood was only a 10-15 minute walk to the Conde in the Colonial Zone, at night you'd have to be crazy to not take a taxi for $150 pesos (US$4.50) to get there because the streets were too dark. That became annoying and added up. However, I must add that the housekeeping was incredible as was the taxi service to and from the airport. I also loved the Cuban restauraunt on the corner.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank roachy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

Not a terrible place, but there are definitely better options in Santo Domingo for a similar price.

The first room that I was given had a strong (strong) mildew/mold smell and one tiny window. The second room didn't smell, but the peeling wallpaper and rundown furnishings made it less-than-cheerful.

The front desk staff were civil but definitely not friendly or overly helpful. Always left me with the feeling that I was an interruption to their routine.

Location is good, just a block from the malecon and a 15-minute walk from the Zona Colonial. But even if you're in Santo Domingo on business, stay in the Zona Colonial itself. Equally convenient to other parts of the city by car/taxi, and much more pleasant in atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

I have stayed at the Duke 6 times, yes the hotel is dated, its not a prefabricated super hotel, it has been built with sweat by the owners and staff, so reviews should reflect that family hotels are not going to be hilton style. the rooms are comfortable but best to take a suite, only a few dollars extra but worth it. they have balconys overlooking the steet. the TV could be updated but why travel to watch TV when you have a rich culture of people and country to explore. bringing back a guest is no problem, ID is taken and a small nominal charge, the security call your room when they leave to check all is in order before giving the ID back.
there are a few local restaurants very close by serving hot or cold tasty local or international dishes. the clubs and bars are in walking distance. once in the bars you are targeted by the rent boys/girls. most are straight trying to earn money for their family,s so they willpromise more than they are willing to provide. just be respectfull if not intersted and they will leave you alone. the hotel has a tourist shop, good trips to explore, i love Boca Chica beach, so beautifull and relaxing. i last went in november 06 and am returning in febuary for carnival this year (07). the hotel staff remember you and welcome you, a taxi will collect you from the airport and the airport is all refurbished.
this is a great country , just go with an open mind, relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank cpfc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Good points:
Excellent location, many restaurants close by, convenience stores, bank, street flower seller around the corner can make nice bouquets at reasonable price - splurge on personalizing your room, get your hair done close by - prices are great.
Front desk staff is polite, helpful.
Gay friendly, not exclusively gay. English spoken well.
Miguel cabdriver across the street or in front of the hotel
was honest, kind, helpful. Speaks Italian too, as he lived in Italy.
Security is good - visitors are allowed, but must show ID and sign in. No hassles as in 5 star hotels closeby where guests are not allowed.
Rooms are clean, nothing fancy. Hot water ample.
Price is reasonable and emails are responded to promptly - reservation was in order upon arrival.
There's a lot more to do in Santo Domingo than one reads about.
Male escorts I saw were clean, friendly, honest, and reasonable; sometimes the poverty might tempt them to take a belonging, so keep valuables locked or hidden.

Room for improvement:
Some rooms air conditioners are weak.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SeasonedTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
l.a
23
Reviewed June 27, 2006

stayed there for a few nights.... lets just say that if i ever have to visit the terrible country again, id find somewhere else to stay... the neighborhood is really crappy and the nice streets are 10 minute taxi ride away.. .the casinos are close indeed but are crappy.. wouldnt waste any time goin there if youre used to vegas/atlnatic city like casinos.. or indian reservations for that matter....

the room was decent.. had a/c working properly but loud.. the bed was ok comfy.... thats about it... wireless internet DID NOT WORK until the late hours of about 2 a.m.. until 7... then it was super slow the rest of the day.

staff doesnt speak english that well.. except for that one pretty black girl with the green eyes... a cutie.

theres a trave agency in the tiny hotel.. so that helps for those who need to book a flight fast... cant think of anything else positive about the hotel.

i paid 45 per night.. not again though!
id stay again for about 30.. thats all its worth if you ask me.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#44 of 79 in Santo Domingo
13 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Parque
Hostal Parque
#43 of 79 in Santo Domingo
30 reviews
Maison Gautreaux
#63 of 79 in Santo Domingo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TAU Casa Conde
#26 of 79 in Santo Domingo
10 reviews
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
#35 of 79 in Santo Domingo
33 reviews
City Caribbean Boutique Hotel
#47 of 79 in Santo Domingo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duque De Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duque De Wellington

Address: av. independencia No. 304 Gascue | Gascue, Santo Domingo 10205, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $34 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duque De Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Hotel with the best location to the colonial zone. Just a five minute walk to the historic buildings, clubs, cafes, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Duque De Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duque De Wellington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing