We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovation ASAP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Renovation ASAP”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is worn down! It needs a renovation. It has inspirational phrases on most walls (by the bed, at the lobby, hallways) that diminishes the value of the hotel. The restaurant staff is everything the front desk is not, attentive, friendly, professional. Breakfast was amazing! (I need the recipe for the scrambled eggs) Location is perfect.
Gay-friendly

Room Tip: The master room has a small balcony with lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    125
    87
    24
    22
See reviews for
44
113
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I initially booked a room for 3 nights but ended up staying for 9 nights.
Everyone at the hotel was welcoming and friendly. I can't say I found any fault with them at all.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to the cathedral. There are plenty of tourist sights close to the hotel and El Conde is just around the corner if you are looking for gifts to take home.

I had a White Room which was clean and pleasant. It overlooked the small parking area so it was quiet and I wasn't bothered by street noise as some have commented. The only thing I would mention is that there was a lot of noise from other guests around midnight every night. I'm not sure why they had to shout at each other but I'm sure that's a problem for any hotel. Also outside my window was a large extractor fan which came on about 6am every morning, I presume it was above the kitchen. I slept well though, the bed was very comfortable. I never did get the hang of the AC; I was either too warm or freezing, I live in the tropics and prefer to just have a ceiling fan. The bed was a double size which seemed very small from what I am used to. There was good free wi-fi in the bedroom which for me is essential.

The bathroom was small but adequate.

I had breakfast every morning and there is an outdoor area. On one morning the restaurant was very busy and seating was a bit of a struggle. There's a good (not great) selection on offer; cereal, fruit, cooked items etc;

If you want to take guests back then that is no trouble and they go out of their way to make sure you are safe.

I'd certainly look at staying here again when I next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BajanDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived at the Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Hotel by taxi. The front desk person offered us a glass of 'champagne'. Negative was that speaking to him was almost impossible because he was all the time talking to some-one on the phone.
Than they want us to pay a certain amount in advance, although we made our booking through booking.com. They told us they were not taking the money from the account but it was just 'in case of'.
This was the first time we ever had to pay in advance (and we have been travelling a lot). We did not appreciate that.
Finally we got a small room at the front size of the hotel. Very old furniture, not nice at all.
there were 2 enormous beds and they slept well.
Bathroom small but clean.
The noise from the street was terrible, the whole night a lot of music, mopeds, cars, just name it.
The hotel is situated in the centre of the old town and you can easily walk to visit the colonial city.
Breakfast was a typical Caribbean breakfast with lot of fruit and nice coffee.

Room Tip: ask for a room not at the front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is my 3rd visit! The small hotel is welcoming, the staff friendly and helpful.
Clean rooms - great location within the Colonial city. The breakfast was wonderful.
Have had a very nice experience every time I have been able to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpokaneWashingtonMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have beeen to the Dominican Republic many times over the last eleven years, and probably visited ten to twelve hotels. By far the Hodelpa Caribe Colonial is the best. It is a small Boutique hotel with 52 or 56 rooms, and the staff is superb. Beginning with the front desk reception and ending with the Manager Eduardo Munoz. The housekeeping staff was very good and nice, and the whole restaurant staff especially Pamela and Zacarias were the best.While using the free internet in the lobby. i would often see Eduardo the manager and he would always ask "How is everything and is there anything i can do for you" My answer would always be'Everything is great and thank you there is nothing you can do. also i almost forgot, The food in the restaurant was delicious. Overall i would highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff, overall, are friendly and helpful. I've stayed here several times, and have experienced maintenance issues each time, from a bathroom door that does not latch closed, to electricity periodically going out in the bathroom. The mini refrigerator in my room this time was old and very noisy. Despite these issues, I enjoy my stays here. It's comfortable and relaxing. Another positive: the a/c has been very good in the two different rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent New Years Eve 2013 here and although I was hesitant of the distance from some of my local haunts to the hotel, my fears went unwarranted. This hotel is such an amazing find. From the delicious Dominican HOT breakfast to the attention to details, I truly enjoyed my stay here. I particularly loved how the staff made sure the guests were always taken care of. This was apparent to me when I had company, and unlike the other hotels in Santo Domingo the Hodelpa does not charge a guest fee nor do they harass your guests. Once your guests come in they must leave their Dominican ID card, Cedula with the Reception desk. Upon their exit, before giving your guest back their Cedula, the Reception desk calls you to make sure everything is fine and that you are ok. WOW, just that attention to safety sold me on this place. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the back since they tend to be quieter than the rooms with the terraces that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJG1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#36 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Caribe Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Caribe Colonial

Property: Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Address: Isabel La Catolica No 159 | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hodelpa Caribe Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hodelpa Caribe Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Hotel Santo Domingo
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing