We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/23/21
Expedia.com
$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/24/21
Trip.com
$64
$57
View deal
SAVE $7
Free cancellation until 04/24/21
Hotels.com$58
Agoda.com$64
eDreams$64
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
42
36
34
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
36
34
11
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 134 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2006

This is a fine place to stay, close to the rocky shore but with a daily shuttle to the fine beaches of Boca Chica, less than half an hour's drive. It is also within easy reach of the fascinating Colonial Zone of the Capital, Santo Domingo, the attractive National Aquarium. and the scenic Tres Ojos caves and lagoons.
The Manager, Cristine, is a wonderful Italian lady, very helpful and professional. The staff is friendly, the food excellent and the setting very relaxing, around a fine swimming pool.
I recommend this 4 to 5 star resort enthusiastically!

Ben Oostdam
www.boostdam.net

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank submerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2005

Acuarium Resort Hotel

The facilities are very good, the pool is excellent, the bar also but the jacuzzi do not work. The ladies who clean the rooms are very friendly.
The restaurant is really good too. The only thing that I didn't like was no tropical music during the day. They have a kareoke but just at night.
Is a very relaxing place. I will go again.

Date of stay: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Passenger10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2003

First of all, if you¡re not an RCI member, look for some other hotel in Santo Domingo - I woul recommend the ACCOR Sofitel Nicolas de Obando , the Dominican Fiesta.

However if you are an RCI member, this is your best option in the capital of the DR. I am extremely familiar with this property as I have had five stays within the past 18 months.

The hotel is located in a quiet suburb at the east end of the city, quite close to the airport. It is definitely NOT a tourist spot but taxis are cheap and they will take you quickly to the Colonial city.

there is no beach nearby but they offer free transfers to Boca Chica beach. I wouldn't recommend this beack as it as it resembles mora a landfill than a beach.

the hotel has two buildings, one with rooms numbered with normal numbers and the other one with rooms number with letters and numbers )e.g. 4H, 2E, etc.) if you get the choice I would definitely recommend the latter as rooms are more spacious.

Rooms themselves are pretty basic, almost spartan. You will get either a one-bedroom apartment with a couch in the living room that doubles as a double bed, or a two-bedroom apt with the additional couch, in this cas you get two bathrooms. You may notice some basic items missing in the mini-kitchen, but if you ask at the front desk they will give you whatever you need.

Cleaning is not too thorough but tipping the maid a few pesos will rgeatly improve it, also make sure you ask her to keep good towel supply, otherwise a little scarce.

Staff is helpful in general (excet that one guy at the front desk)

Food is good and very reasonably priced at the restaurant (mainly italiian). I don't recommend full board as the hotel is quite far off the city center and you would wate lots of time coming and going.

In the summer f 2003 they had frequent power shortages, this is coommon in Santo Domingo but I think they should do something about it.

There is a tiny swimming pool that is always packed with children, but good enough if you only want to cool down after a day wandering the streets of the capital. There is also a jacuzzi tub in front of the second building, not too powerful but relaxing anyway.

IMPORTANT: there are plenty of mosquitoes in this hotel, bring or buy a powerful repellent or your ankles will suffer.

All in all, a very basic and simple, no-frills hotel that is well worth it for RCI members.

Feel free to email me if you have any questions or doubts, I have been there many times and have lots of insight on Santo Domingo and Punta Cana.

40  Thank Fearless9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews