We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know a restaurant across from the French Embassy is great”
Review of La Residence

La Residence
Ranked #44 of 605 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
220 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“You know a restaurant across from the French Embassy is great”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant on the oldest street in the Americas. The menu has a choice selection ranging from delicious ceviche to foie gras, and the wine list is the best in Santo Domingo. Cool breezes off the patio and excellent service capped off a fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    45
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not much to say. Food was awesome, service was awesome, setting was great. we made reservations but they weren't necessary the time we were there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMDinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good food, service and view !”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really beautiful patio in one of the most attractive historical building in la Zona Colonial. Being part of the Hotel Nicolas de Ovando does not remove any charm to it, the restaurant has his own entrance.
Not exceptional on an international reference scale, but probably one of the best restaurants in Santo Domingo (which is not a renowned culinary spot !).
I ate ther several times and it has always been from good to very good.
Good wines by the glass.
Good prices for the overall quality and service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Best dinning experience in Santo Domingo.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is what fine dining is all about. La Residence sets the standard in Santo Domingo. An amazing restaurant set inside a historic building in the Colonial Zone, the hotel "Hostal Nicolas de Ovando" on Calle Las Damas, offering classic French fare prepared using local ingredients. You'll have a a choice of the scenic Spanish patio seating outdoors or the beautifully decorated indoor with air conditioning; we couldn't break our North American habits and chose the air conditioned dinning. The historical setting is made even more romantic by the pairing of live music, wonderful fluting the evening we dinned. The staff was amazing, so professional yet personable and very prompt. We were greeted with a courtesy amuse bouche which immediately provided a preview of the amazing food to come. We started with an amazing crab ceviche that had a great tangy flavor. My entree was Caribbean style shrimps paired with risotto. My friend had a mixed dish with shrimp, prosciutto, artichokes, and mushrooms that was sauteed in a lemon butter mix, it was just to die for. Finished with a cappuccino that came pair with two small desert cakes, a nice touch. By far this was the best dinning experience I had in the Dominican Republic and comparable to what you would expect at any fine dinning establishment. Kudos from Chef to waiter, door man to musicians, you all provides us with an amazing and memorable experience. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Pictures in the internet made me believe this was a stand alone restaurant but it is not. The restaurant is part of the Hotel Nicolas de Ovando in calle Las Damas in Zona Colonial area. Menu is very limited but food was very good. Restaurant entrance deceives size of interior, making one think is small but in reality it opens up to a grand courtyard of the Nicolas de Ovando hotel, there it looses some of the romantic ambiance I expected. Very pleasant to dine there but it was not what i expected. Parking was horrible, get a taxi to get anywhere in Zona Colonial specially at night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starpalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Residence also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing