We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heladeria Valentino

Heladeria Valentino
Plaza Cataluna Number 54, Santo Domingo 10127, Dominican Republic
+1 809-540-0998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Dessert in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Artisan ice cream.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I tried Valentino in Santo Domingo after many positive references, but I really didn't like them. I actually had to go back a second time because I thought there was something wrong with the Gelato the first time, but no, still the same bland flavor.
Maybe I'm just used to the Gelato in Europe (Especially Amorino), but I think you definitely find better ice creams in Santo Domingo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AGGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This is the real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I know my ice cream and this is the real deal! This is italian style ice cream at its best with Dominican flavors! The "stratiacella" is perfect, light, not too creamy with lots of shaved chocolate pieces. The place itself is beautiful and very clean (situated across the Blue Mall). There are tables and nice comfy couches to sit on and enjoy your treat. The service is outstanding...never had anything like it at an ice-cream shop! If you're visiting Santo Domingo and like ice cream, this is a must!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vj627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
358 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Santo Domingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great choice for ice cream. Artesanal Italian style ice cream, that worth to try those calories....

Right besides 2 restaurant, Madison cafe (French) and La Esquina (Burgers)

Helpful?
4 Thank Licey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best gelato in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great ice cream but the coconut is by far the best! I love this place, my husband and I have chosen this place as our favorite sweet treat. He loves the Nutella and the Giandua but I can't break away from the coconut.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dondedios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Gelato ever :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love their ice cream, is as creamy as can be, with very distinctive flavors. The milkshakes are exquisite too :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank marclaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heladeria Valentino also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Heladeria Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing