We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NIGHTMARE STAY!!!!”
Review of Adam Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adam Suites
Ranked #3 of 66 Santo Domingo B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A NIGHTMARE STAY!!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

First day at checkin,owner tried to charge for a higher priced room,said he could not find my reservation,when in reality,he confirmed it 1 month ahead through the internet.,He said there were no more rooms of the price range I had a confirmation.After I insisted to give me the room I requested,he send me to the room in a very rude way,so I could tell he lied to me.I invited a friend of mine to visit me,he said he could not get in because he had no ID.My friend actually had ID ,he mistaken him for another guest's friend.Again,instead of apologizing for the mistake,he started sermoning me about bringing people with no id.I told him I am aware of that and he started screaming and call me names.To top it all,he turns off all lectricity at about 4 am until 6am.So,be prepared to sweat and good luck to find ur way to the bathroom and tripping

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank flyboy69805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I would like to respond to this review by saying that comments made by this person from Puerto Rico are unjust, unfair and a full of made-up incidents.

It seems like this individual has the intention of damaging our reputation and excellent review history as well as my personal integrity too making false allegations. Not only have we prided ourselves for having great customer services but also for our dedicated personal attention to every guests which are all part of a niche market- one that we are part of it too.

I also find interesting that for this reviewer, everything that has to do with our hotel, was Terrible- from our location, sleep quality, to our rooms, cleanliness and services.

In contrast to this person opinion, I would like readers to also know that we were the recipient and winners of the “2013 Certificate of Excellence” given by tripadvisor.com and all due to our constants excellent and very good reviews received from real guests and loyal patrons. Please browse thru them too.

Finally, it is my hope that you visit us soon and experience our great boutique hotel, our services, the amazing location that we have- in the heart of the colonial zone- our hospitality and all that Santo Domingo has to offer. Thanks. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel exceeded all expectations. Our room was enough for what we needed, a place to crash and store our stuff while we took in all Santo Domingo had to offer. The best part of the hotel is the service and it's expert host and hospitality guru, Gilbert. He made us feel as though we were staying at our best friend's house, not a cookie-cutter establishment. Upon arrival he welcomed us with an El Presidente and gave us an orientation of the location. The next day he took us with his friend to Boca Chica. Seriously? Where can you stay where the owner of the accommodations takes you on a personal tour? Take notes Marriott! Get a clue Hilton!

In all seriousness, the nightlife is close and walk-able, but get plenty of rest, Los Dominicans get started late. So don't plan on the bar/club scene being busy before 10pm. El Conde is just 1 block and peppered with local flavors and shopping. Beautiful beaches are as far as the eye can see.

The staff was so kind and went the extra mile from the get go. We arrived from NYC at noon. Our second night there, a private party (with adult entertainment) was provided for a special guest's birthday and we were invited! It was fantastic!

Housekeeping went above and beyond to ensure our room was clean. We walked into the room and felt like we were on a cruise with the towels shaped like animals and adorned with local flora. Hello! Amazing! The rooms are modest, but the service is well worth the cultural immersion.

Definitely staying here the next time we're in Santo Domingo and recommending it to everyone reading!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landoncole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
What an amazing and nice review about our hotel! Thanks for taking the time to write about us and our facility and also for your kind words towards me and the staff. It provided much joy to read that is you left with such high impression about us. Please come back soon and pass the world around. Regards, Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was my first time visiting Dom Rep from Jamaica and I have to say that Gilbert's Adams is a great place to start. Very centrally located to all the action and an exceptionally attentive staff that you could talk to about anything. Best if you know a little Spanish but not ultimately required. The balcony is a great perching spot to look out unto the night time action on the street and there is plenty. You can partake in full or be an observer as I managed to do both very comfortably. The bed is comfortable and the aircon works and believe me you will need it on many days especially if you stay out at the bars until 6am and need to get your beauty sleep in the day. From my welcome--the cab service from the airport and then being personally escorted to all the main clubs/bars on my first night by the staff and shown the lay of the land--to the hugs on my departure--I felt very warm and fuzzy and welcome. I left Santo Domingo to spend a few days up in Cabarete then came right back to Adams before I left for one more evening and warmth and frivolity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest from Jamaica.

I'm glad that you had enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thanks for such nice and kind words towards me and the staff. It is always nice to read reviews like yours because we do everything possible to make the guests stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Come back soon and bring some friends alone. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

First let me say if you are looking for resort style living there are many other places in the DR that will give you that experience.

If you are looking for a clean convenient friendly honest and very safe place that will give you all that the colonial zone has to offer this is the place. I mean the hottest club in the area us right in front of the hotel. And all the bars are like a 2-3 minute walk.The staff here is first class, they know you by name, they actually wait up to make sure you make it back in your room safely. I have never stayed in a boutique hotel where every staff member from owner to front desk to housekeeping to security bends over backwards to keep you happy. Thats why I would give them 10 stars.

Here is why I will only stay in Adams Suites when in the DR. I was walking down the street and a guy asked to cut my hair, I said no but he was persistent, I finally went in and got a hair cut, pedi, mani body shave and my goetee darkened. When it was time to pay I realized I did not have enough on me. The guy sent one of his employees back to the hotel with me to collect the money. When I got there I realized I needed to go to the ATM. I asked the owner of Adams Suites where the ATM was he asked me why I told him he then dropped the bomb on me. I was being over charged by 1000% yes you read that correctly. Well long story short he quickly corrected the situation became very angry and threatened to call the police on the barber. The Ritz Carlton wouldnt have even done that!!! I am scheduled for a masaage this evening and cant wait. Everything has been more than I have expected and I looking forward to the masaage doing the same. THANK YOU ADAM SUITES HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ledwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest... If you could only see my face while I was reading your review. I had a big happy face and was LOL all the way to the end. The barber story!!! jejej. As you said, that's the difference of staying at a boutique hotel, managed by the owner, that also happens to leave in the property- my case.

I can also tell you that my clientele can afford those big chain hotels but we get chosen because the reason you outlined- the services we provide, the staff, the security and the feeling that you are treated with respect as a friend.

Once gain, THANKS SO MUCH. Come back and bring your friends alone. We'll take care of the barber if needed again, they are now all afraid of me! LOL. I am like a pitbull when someone messes with my guests. :-) Thanks! Gilbert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are looking to be in the DR capital, old town whithin the colonial architecture and the important touristic places to visit, and also want to be close to the ambience, where clubs, parcs, bars, restaurants and funny places that show you perfectly how the Dominican night life and amusement is, Hotel Adam suites is the perfect location. Its owner and the guys staff are extremly kind and helpfull with directions and local indications to allow guests to have an even better time. Un lindo hotel colonial justo en la mejor zona de ambiente de Santo Domingo, la gente es amigabilísima y vale la pena ir. C'est absolument recomendé d'aller à cet hotel si vous chercher un endroit colonial au centre de la vieille ville et très proche de l'ambience, le propietaire et personnel vous feront sentir comme chez vous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest from Switzerland... Allow me to Thank you for such nice review of our hotel and our staff. I am glad that you wrote about your experience in the city. As you said, our location is unique... in the heart of the action and steps from the clubs and bars. Once again, thanks, and come back soon! Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Adams Suites is a small boutique hotel in the heart of the colonial zone in Santo Domingo. The hotel is within walking distance to bars, clubs and major restaurants as well as the major historic sites in the zone. The staff is very friendly, and Gilbert the owner is an amazing host. In fact, the place did not feel like a hotel, but more of a home away from home. The service was great and it was nice to mingle with the local people and make new friends.This was my second time staying within two months and already I am thinking of my next trip to Santo Domingo and Adams Suites! For some one who hates stuffy hotel chains- this is the place to be especially if you crave a unique and fun experience.

SB.

Room Tip: During the power cuts the higher floor has less generator noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Stephen...

I am so thankful to you and at the same time happy that you took the time to write this review because it offer readers an overview of what we are: Home away from home. Glad that you have stayed with us on two occasions already and planning your third! Once again, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I first stayed at the Adam Suites Hotel at the recommnedation of a good friend and I have been extremely please with the quality of service at the Hotel. Gilbert, the owner, has been very helpful in numerous ways during my stays at the Hotel. The staff is also very accomodating and the place is kept clean and fresh. I appreciate the attention that they show guest and the good advise that they offer. I have stayed there several times and have already booked my next stay at the Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sraines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Scott... On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you for such nice review about our hotel and the services that we provide. We aim to be an even better place for the enjoyment of our guests and their visitor. See you back soon! Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 77 in Santo Domingo
678 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 77 in Santo Domingo
167 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 77 in Santo Domingo
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Billini Hotel
#19 of 77 in Santo Domingo
220 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 77 in Santo Domingo
778 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#23 of 77 in Santo Domingo
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Suites

Property: Adam Suites
Address: Calle Arzobispo Nouel # 308 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ADAM SUITES GUEST HOUSE in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. Our boutique style hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Colonial Zone and a block away from the famous pedestrian boulevard "El Conde" and close to very several historic Cathedrals, great restaurants and near all local bars. At Adam Suites your pleasant stay while in Santo Domingo is our number one goal and that is the reason why had we received for 3 consecutive years- 2013, 2014, 2015 the Tripadvisor's Certificate of Excellence as well as Booking Award of Excellence. Our hotel rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Each is individually decorated and perfect for the smart traveler- a person who wants to stay in a nice cozy hotel without paying top price for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Adam Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing