We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, quiet, perfect for the solo traveler.”
Review of Hotel Monumental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monumental
Ranked #63 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Safe, quiet, perfect for the solo traveler.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed here for ten days. I took a room with no window. The air con was PERFECT. freezing cold and it worked all the time. The bed was perfect as well. The staff are very helpful. The morning breakfast was simply a piece of toast with some cheese on it and some GREAT coffee with warm milk. There are all the T:V channels you need in English, and just walk out the front door and you are on the busy main street of the city! I usually ate at the restaurant just down stairs where they have a sort of buffet like set up. They give you a choice every single day of beef, fish, chicken, rice, salad, ate everything and never got sick. The locals love this place! So when you arrive at the bus station ...I arrived from Haiti....just catch a local bus to the Zona Colonial. Then ask for the main calle or street. Everyone knows it and you cannot miss it because it is where everyone goes at night. There is a KFC on the street, many cafes, many really cool restaurants and street life.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room get the ones on top. The rooms with no windows are great! The air con works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
10
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

i ve been in this hotel from 25 november till 6 of december, now i m still in Santo Domingo renting a cheap flat. But all the time i pass through i go there to say hello and i stop there for a while. This is just enough to let you know what an amazing place is the Hotel Monumental. The owner Baldemiro is very helpful, the guys from the reception always ready to help you with everything... Moreno, the manager , is a such a nice person that i didn t even know could still exist such a person in this world. I highly recommend this place to all the people that will come and visit Santo Domingo. The location is very central, but the real power of this place is the kindness of the people working in. Thank you so much.... Antonio...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 412ANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice little hotel in the middle of all the activity in Zona Colonial. Despite the activity outside the hotel, inside the room is quiet and peaceful. Free breakfast was good when you felt too lazy to go out in the morning. Moreno, Isaiah, and Nancy were very helpful; even the owner, Baldemiro, once in a while stopped-by and gave good local advice. My room was very clean and everything worked well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandeepprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

perfect if you want to see Zona Colonial. Very pocket friendly, Internet, cable TV. No restaurant but right in the middle of Zona Colonial so you get to shot, eat out and see around with ease.It might be noisy a bit from the reception but the noise doesn't get to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JemKiiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Discovery
#68 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Gazcue
Hotel La Danae
Hotel La Danae
#53 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Zona Colonial
Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar
Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus ...
#42 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaza De La Cultura
No photo provided
Carey House Hotel
#60 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#40 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#72 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monumental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monumental

Property: Hotel Monumental
Address: 2do. Nivel, Between Sanchez y Jose Reyes Street C/ El Conde 355 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monumental 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monumental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing