We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel has gone down a little bit from past years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel has gone down a little bit from past years”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel has gotten older with age and so have I. They could update there rooms. I enjoy there food and the location is great. I stay here for convenience. I would just recommend that your front desk could be a little nicer. The security was on top of there game. The television was working and it was cold in my room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BocaRatonFulloflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    150
    150
    54
    43
See reviews for
65
122
100
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Choose Mercure because of the price but I have never been in such a poor establishment.

EVERY single time I stepped into the hotel I was hassled by someone at the front desk asking me my name and looking up my info, even though I was there for FIVE days! If security is an issue, use badges, wrist bands, or other methods of identifying guest!

They also charge $20 for visitors! Yes visitors not staying the night! I have friends in DR and they couldn't even come up for 5 minutes while I change or to chill. Rediculous!

I actually stayed in June 2012 but they won't let me go back that far. That's how bad it was though that I am still thinking about it 2 years later.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Felipe F,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your experience and I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations.
|ndeed security is very important for us and as many capitals in latin America, our Guests might be exposed.
It is not easy for the staff to recognize all the Guests as they are rotating, as much front office as security. I imagine that after few times, it might be frustrating to be asked your identification and we are sorry about this inconvenience. We are a city hotel and cannot use bracelets as all inclusive resorts.
As for the additionnal person, we are applying the same policy as most of the hotels in town for also security purposes between others.
Once again, sorry for the inconvenience and we are at your disposal for a safe stay in Santo Domingo in the future.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband (German) and I( Dominican) had a reservation for one night in the Hotel together with our 2 year old adopted daughter(dark skin). We live in the Dominican Republic and at the reception provided both of our ID. When they looked at our daughter they wanted an ID from here. We travelled a lot inside the Dominican Republic but never got asked for an ID or birth certificate for our 2 year old daughter. I asked to speak to the manager who was in his office right next to the reception to explain me the reasons, but he never bothered to come out and just told the clerk it was the hotel policy. The reception as well as the management where absolutely unfriendly, uncooperative and it left us with a feeling that we where not accepted because our daughter is black. We checked into a Hotel 5 min, away and got a room without any problems like so many times before.

Room Tip: since we never got beyond reception we can't give any helpful advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EneydaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Eneydak,

No hay ninguna discriminación en nuestro hotel, solo el cumplimiento de la ley #541 de turismo dominicana. Efectivamente, los extrajeros deben de presentar un pasaporte o una residencia y los dominicanos un pasaporte, una cédula o licencia de conducción.
En el caso de niños, se debe de comprobar que están relacionado con los adultos que les acompañan. En el caso contrario, no se puede dar la entrada.

Siento mucho los inconvenientes y entiendo que puede crear confusión que no todos los hoteles respeten lo que es la ley del pais.

Nosotros velamos por la ley y la seguridad de nuestros huéspedes, de ninguna manera se aparenta a discriminación.

Atentamente,

Pierre Bignalet
Director
h2974-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuttawa, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times previously, and my return business is enough to say that I have been happy with this hotel. But something has changed, and after this experience, I'm not so sure I'll be back.

First off, having only one person to do check-in and check-out is not a good idea during the busy season. In the past, there was a second person nearby who would assist the front desk clerk, but that did not happen at either check-in or check-out, meaning that both took some amount of time.

Secondly, I have always booked this hotel with breakfast included and did so this time. The young man at the front desk at check-in refused to double check or listen to me when I told him that I had specifically booked with breakfast. He told me that I could pay for breakfast, but that was it.

Thirdly, upon arriving at the room, I found that it had a very strong mold smell. I went back downstairs and asked for a room that did not smell badly. The next room smelled better, but it was not easy to find and the air conditioner was very loud, with a sound that brought back memories of my grandmother's washing machine. I wanted to ask for another room, but given what I received after asking to be changed, I was afraid what the desk clerk was going to stick me with next.

Thirdly, the air conditioner only operates from one extreme to the other: all cold or all warm.

Fourthly: even though I stayed two nights, there was no room service: the bed was not made up. That may be because the room is so far out of the way that even the maids do not know it exists.

Fifthly, I tried the internet in the front lobby, but it wouldn't work.

Sixth: the security is not nearly as vigilant as I have noticed in the past.

And finally, check-out took extra long, as the front desk is understaffed.

I hope they get their act together quickly, as I enjoyed this hotel before. But with so many options in the Colonial Zone, without the breakfast, there is no way I'll be back to this one.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a change, as the front desk clerk will give you a worse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Puryear 27,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your experience. I will comment with the team each step of your writings to make sure that we will improve the quality of service. The only thing I can tell you at the moment is that we had sick people in the reception team and this has been a problem ; it is not a standard procedure.

Do not doubt in contacting me for your next stay, it will be my pleasure to meet you in person.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel for 11 Days Quite nice hotel a few Ants in room but the manager took care of that..
I invited a stranger i met at the club it was a saturday night i had a lil too much to drink but my sober friend was right by my side even in the hotel room ..
Turns out the guy was a prostitute and demanded money we told him to leave but he un -plugged the phone and pin my friend to the wall and demanded yet again money and started to grab my cloths and watch etc. then ran out i plug back the phone in called front dext so they could be aware of what happen so they could hold on to his ID and call the cops . 10 minutes calling no answer .
I was scared to go in the hall way to go to the lobby thing he waiting out there for me . finally after 15 minutes no answer from front dext i went down i saw the security guard on Facebook Chatting and the Night manager was in his Office lights off but i could see him sleeping . I told him i was just robbed and my friend was assulted but he spoke no english my friend started to translate telling him in spanish what happing and he told my friend that , thats what i deserve for letting Burgarrone (prostitute ) in my room.. i was so mad he even said that any way i went back to my room woke up the next day and report the incident the Turn out the Night manager gave his version of what happen that night lied that me and my guest was very load and angry and i never called the front dext..
The hotel is very un safed i could have been killed that night and the Staff that night did not care..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jermaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

paid about 80 dollars a night, my flight was delayed and called to see if I could move the days but they say no, arrived on my last day of my reservations, the rooms was dirty, no hot water, the safe did not work and the worst part of it: the smell of mold which is not safe at all, complained at the front desk and they told me they were sorry and that will report back to mgmt

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MARC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in the historic zona colonial you can't find a better place in santo Domingo. The rooms were clean and the stay was very friendly! You can hear street noise in some of the rooms but overall it is a great hotel and value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
162 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#23 of 79 in Santo Domingo
335 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#25 of 79 in Santo Domingo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
193 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
668 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo

Property: Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Address: C/ Hostos | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
96 rooms, 2 for disabled guests. Located in the heart of the colonial area of Santo Domingo, the hotel building was completely refurbished in 2000 and is an ideal base to visit all the historical monuments in the old town centre. 30 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Mercure Santo Domingo
Accor Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing