We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the city, hands down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I loved this place. We only came for the food. Not only was it reasonably priced, the food was fantastic! I had a beef filet, cooked to perfection for just $16. They also give you sodas in glass bottles, which makes everything better. The staff was really nice and helpful! My wife and I also had the cheesecake, which was cheap and delicious. This restaurant is highly recommended! If you are anywhere near Zona Colonial, come here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jarrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 445 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were two in the small room. Very comfy bed, though sheet was attached to light comforter so kept A/C at 20C for that upper-midwest bundled-up sensation. The shower was hazardous as its shiny-and-slippery ceramic floor was, oddly, elevated a foot above the rest of the bathroom's floor, making entrance and egress an adventure. Skip their breakfast "deal", you'll find cheaper fare on Calle El Conde, the cool pedestrian-only "street" right outside the door.. We dined at the hotel's restaurant once, on Christmas Eve. Though tasty, my mixed grill was missing a promised ingredient (sausage). No mention of the missing salchicha before serving and then nothing done (how about a free dessert?) to make up for faulty (and pricey) main dish. Otherwise, Mercures' location is superb, in the heart of Zona Colonial. Staff very helpful and friendly. They could use at least one more computer for internet access, the one in the lobby always seemed booked.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street, it's noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESLTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel Mercure Comercial provided a fine base for exploring Santo Domingo at an excellent price. The location on the calle El Conde was ideal for the Zona Colonial. The hotel was most importantly safe, secure, immaculately clean, and my rather small simple room, on the interior, exceptionally quiet. Shower was lovely hot ( but a wee strange with an odd platform ) and the room A/C nice and cold. Staff were pleasant and efficient - I believe all front desk personnel I encountered also spoke French and English making communications a breeze. A supermarket and a large variety store just down the street were extra convenient. Breakfast buffet was a fair value and the outdoor cafe's position on El Conde was perfect for people watching. Other sights were well within walking distance for the adventurous including the Malecon and Gazcue district. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Inside room on the fifth floor was very clean and very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pequiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anamaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past but I would never stay there again. Starting with the check in where the clerk did not understand what to do and was very disorganized. The restraurant food was poor quality and you had to get up and ask to have basic service. The so called Maitre D' blatantly tried to scam 500 pesos. They unilaterally charged a higher price than what was quoted. They blocked my credit card for 10,000 pesos I paid in cash and several days later the block has not been removed.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Mercure there are better choices.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2974, Gerente at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Pete W,

Dear Pazzallo,

Thank you for your comment to help us improve. I wish I could have met you during your stay to know more of what you did not like about the food. Repetitive Guests is a huge part of our business and they usually say that the food is good at the Mercure. Sometimes, they make suggestion and our menu and presentations are improving with each comment we get. It would have been good to make you part of this process!
As for the deposit, I think there is a confusion as the hotel procedure is indeed to take a deposit of 1000 RD per night. This deposit is a garantee and no more than an authorization (common practice in the USA but not so much in Europe, it is true. In Santo Domingo, most of the hotel have the same policy) and the hotel never charge this deposit. At check out, the deposit is cancelled and from then, maybe the bank did not release on time. Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about it as it is not anymore between our hands.
I hope I will have the opportunity to meet you soon and to talk about your unfortunate experience.

Do not hesitate to contact me at h2974-gm@accor.com.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Service = non existent. At front desk nobody says hello, ever. In the restaurant the service staff seem to be paid to talk to each other. You could sit for a long time without being served. Which in a way might also be an advantage, at least no money is pent. At breakfast one needs to run after coffee. Unfortunately coffee, tea and milk is not self-service, therefore it is quite difficult to get without running after staff members.
The restaurant is always empty except for breakfast, which is understandable under the circumstances.
I guess that the hotel cannot afford to train their staff members and supervisors, if any, are paid to look elsewhere.
It also seems that none of the staff members speaks a word in another language except Spanish which would be OK in a backpackers place but not in a hotel belonging to an international chain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2974, Gerente at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Pazzallo,

It is always good for us to get a feedback even when the perception is not good. Indeed, usually, we have very good comments about the staff, most of them speak english and even french. As for the restaurant, it is usually full for lunch time and at night, it is working quite well.
I am not tying to unvalidate your comments, I just regret sincerely that your experience was not up to your expectation and also regret that we haven´t met at that time to talk about it and give us the chance to improve your stay. Unfortunately, in service business, we cannot go back in time and I wish I would have the opportunity in the future to meet you to change the perception of our hotel which is more like a family atmosphere normaly.

Do not hesitate to contact me at h2974-gm@accor.com.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Clean hotel with good and reliable taxi services. hotel food is not too bad, prices are reasonable. the welcoming at the reception was not very nice, which surprised me, as the hotel does have a good reputation in town. If you have a connecting flight via the Isabel airport, it is only 30 minutes away from that airport. The restaurant in front of the front is recommended by the staff, however our presence was not even acknowledged there, so we left after 20 minutes. Instead, we had a lovely and less expensive meal at another local restaurant around the corner.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, sorry, couldn't erase the evaluation, clicked on by mistake! Thanks for taking...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
171 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 78 in Santo Domingo
351 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#23 of 78 in Santo Domingo
200 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 78 in Santo Domingo
250 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo

Address: C/ Hostos | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $90 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
96 rooms, 2 for disabled guests. Located in the heart of the colonial area of Santo Domingo, the hotel building was completely refurbished in 2000 and is an ideal base to visit all the historical monuments in the old town centre. 30 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Mercure Santo Domingo
Accor Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing