We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Priority Club Member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Coppell, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed Priority Club Member”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

As the Intercontinental in Santo Domingo, this Hotel was a favorite for us for years, and we expected no less because of the name change to Crowne Plaza. The Club floor rooms have always represented additional security by preventing people who are not Guests on the Club Floor from gaining access to the Floor, they have beautiful views of the Malecon and balconies for privacy. The Club Room on the 14th floor was always a quiet place to relax and enjoy breakfast, afternoon coffee or a light snack and fine selection of quality liquor at happy hour.

We paid $270 per night for a king bed room on the Club Floors and included the cost of the downstairs Breakfast Buffet, because we have always enjoyed the food. We arrived and were immediately upgraded to a 12th floor Suite, nice, but unnecessary as we really only sleep in the room when we're in Santo Domingo. We discovered that only one bed side lamp worked, the other being wired for a European socket that didn't exist, the bathroom phone was barely hanging on the wall with wires exposed, some repair one renovation had left screws barely above tile level, sufficient to rip my foot on, the 1/2 bath toilet had a ring around the interior which clearly had never been cleaned. The lock that was supposed to prevent the door being forced when the room was occupied hung limply by the door and was unusable. Normally this would not be a great concern on the Club Floor, but we had noticed a number of people entering the elevator from lower floors and happily pressing the Club Floor buttons without the need for a room key as we returned from Dinner, so we were not happy to discover that the lock that should stop the door from being forced was broken.

The Main Restaurant evening Menu had been altered to fancier fare, at extremely high prices, and although the staff were as friendly as ever, this did not make up for the food, which, when it arrived, was bland and tasteless.

Having spent 1/2 a day traveling by bus from the North Coast, we settled into our bed early and can happily say that it was a comfortable as we remembered, and we did get a good nights sleep.

When I asked at the front desk why people had access to the Club Floors without the room key being necessary, they told me that (a) they were working on one of the Elevators and (b) they had Conference Rooms on the 14th and 15th floors being used by a conference of Epidemiologists, so the Floors were not locked.

I was stunned that they would be so flippant about security issues! Traveling as we do so often to Santo Domingo, and currently living in Cabarete on the North Shore, we are well aware of the dangers of robbery and their attitude was completely careless.

The easy answer was to leave the Do Not Disturb sign on the door and one of the room keys in the outlet that powers the a/c, lights and other electronics while we were out that day, which meant that the room wasn't cleaned but at least we were not likely to have an unexpected intruder while were were out.

As this was only a 2 night stay for us, it wasn't worth making a big deal out of the things that didn't function, and there was no point in asking more questions or putting up with the disturbance that would have come from the hotel repairing the thing that were wrong in the room - but we will think long and hard before returning to this Hotel, and will certainly be calling the Hotel direct if we decide to stay again to establish whether the Club Floors will be secure, as they should be.

If this is the new standard for the former Intercontinental under the Crowne Plaza banner, then it was a very disappointing one!

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a little extra for the Club Floor rooms with balconies and wonderful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PrueHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear PrueHunt,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We regret that some situations during your stay were submitted, but it is important that you feel free it to notify any details that have your room, even for two nights.

For us every detail is in our interest and we can not pass it up, the room in which it was will be reviewed by the Housekeeping Deparment, so that these faults will be corrected.

In relation to access to the 14th floor, when we have events external to the hotel customers in meeting rooms, located on the 15th floor, Miramar and Faro is the only access that they have to get and unfortunately have to proportional access. We hope that a new opportunity you feel better at the hotel.

We remind you that we are here to serve you and as a member of IHG Rewards its observations are useful, because they make us be better and detect any inconvenience.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you in a next time, you can make your reservation directly with the hotel, just call 809-221-0000.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    271
    82
    27
    14
See reviews for
123
182
72
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haiti
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Crowne Plaza offers a very comfortable stay, excellent service and is located in a very interesting part of Santo Domingo. This made my short business stay there very comfortable and pleasant. I therefore highly recommend this hotel for not only business but for any reason you need to be in downtown Santo Domingo.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room that had a lovely sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BullaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear BullaC,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy, reaffirming our commitment to become "Great Hotels Guests Love".
Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Crowne Plaza hotel was everything that one could hope for. The staff were both friendly and efficient, and the facilities were great. We had a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean, and the hotel was just minutes away from Ciudad Colonial. When I left the charger for the Windows Tablet at the hotel, the staff were able to Fedex it to me in my home in Hollywood Florida. When I go back to the hotel, I am definitely going to stay there again.
Alan B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlanandLaura2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear AlanandLaura2014,

On behalf of the General Manager and the staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your stay with us, it gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience here at the best Crowne Plaza Hotel of the Caribbean. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy, reaffirming our commitment to become "Great Hotels Guests Love".

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Thanks again for your preference!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The third time I stayed at this Hotel (first time as Crowne Plaza).
For my business trips, it's located centrally on George Washington Ave (the Malecon) so easy to get to the old city, downtown Santo Domingo,and highways.

~20-30 minutes from the airport

Have had good experiences checking in and checking out.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Housekeeping stayed on top of the daily chores and the room was always in good order upon my return.
Thermostat worked flawlessly and A/C was very quiet.

Wifi was OK. Good enough for sending/receiving email

Restaurant Tip:
Menu in English and Spanish.
Breakfast buffet has an omelet station (just keep an eye on your eggs since they prepare eggs very well done)
Lunch has a varied buffet
Dinner: IF you're thinking burger here, go for the "Bandera Dominicana" (typical Dominican fare).
Better meal for the same price! You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfivny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Ruben F,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy, reaffirming our commitment to become "Great Hotels Guests Love".

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I love this hotel his location is just minute away from a big plaza where on weekends people come to enjoy free entertainment. clean and the staff is simple wonderful. The food is great and a short walk to casinos and discos in "El Malecon".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Ruben F,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I typically don't write too many reviews about hotels, but the staff made this hotel exemplary. Every hotel staff seemed eager to address all of our concerns and we were never turned away by any hotel staff. Every single staff member was courteous and beyond friendly. From the front desk, bartenders, spa staff, security guards and everyone else we definitely felt the sincere efforts to address all of your needs. The only concerned I had was the staff of the casino which at some time were not all prompt in getting drinks for people that were gambling a lot of money. If I go back i will definitely stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view or Malecon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Brian D,

On behalf of the General Manager and the staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your stay with us, it gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience here at the best Crowne Plaza Hotel of the Caribbean.

Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy, reaffirming our commitment to become "Great Hotels Guests Love".

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Thanks again for your preference!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is expensive for what it is, and they charge 50 USD for extra guest (you can go to Jaragua hotel or Barcelo for less than that, and the quality is similar). The rooms are ok. The staff is not very friendly and wait time at check in is long.
Personally, I will not come back, I found better somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Alexmagic,

Thank you for your comment and this time inform you that is a policy of the hotel register persons extras and charge $50.00 dollars, for reasons of your own safety.

We would like to know more details of staff which was not nice with you, because one of the characteristics of our staff is a courtesy and kindness.

We hope to welcome you to a new opportunity, we guarantee that your experience with our staff will be different.

Sincerely,

Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 78 in Santo Domingo
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Courtyard Santo Domingo
#6 of 78 in Santo Domingo
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing