We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible gym, nice staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrible gym, nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

To my knowledge, Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo has substituted Intercontinental V Centenario hotel, where I stayed last year. Good things are, hotel staff is friendly and attentive, rooms have been renovated recently and wi-fi connection has the same god signal quality throughout the hotel. Bad things are, the gym is terrible (it is a small, hot room; fitness apparels are old and lacks ergonomic, ambient music is so loud I could not even hear my iPod) and breakfast is expensive for what is offered. I valued hotels which offer good gyms and unfortunately this is not the case. I was expecting more from Crowne Plaza in this sense. My rating is based on that and on cost/benefit, therefore this is an average hotel in my opinion and I plan to stay somewhere else in my next visit to Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Farmami 2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and let know us your stay in the hotel. For our staff is very important to offer quality, friendly and experienced service.

We regret the situation of the gym, we have been renewing the equipment for our guests comfort and feel that you have not filled your expectations.

Always you are welcome to stay with us on your next visit to the city of Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    226
    70
    22
    9
See reviews for
97
132
59
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a good Crown Plaza. Good wifi connection.
The rooms are nice and clean. The staff is friendly and the location is good.
The only bad point is the $20 breakfast (not worth it).
I recommend this hotel for your travels to Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Alexmagic,

Thak you for your comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel received a great service.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to the Staff, about your comments and service.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo
Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
609 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

First all the good things. Upgrade to a renovated room - very fresh and clean room to stay in for 7 nights. Breakfast buffet is really good - lots of options. Pool bar and pool - also very clean and renovated. Wifi working well in the hotel - in all areas. Dinner at Nabu restaurant - quick service and long menu, but food does not raise it above hotel food standards. Even if there was a chilean guest chef there with a chilean foodfestival - the food was average and boring.
But all through the week I stayed - staff very friendly and solving all issues.
Except - when check out. Paid my bill and to my surprise 3 days later - bill was paid from my creditcard - but the deposition of 1400 usd was not cancelled. Normally hotels use the deposition for payment - but not this hotel. Really irritating and a routine they should introduce!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Hans L,

We are delighted you have taken the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. We are glad to know that you were pleased with our service, rooms, food quality and menu. It's a great motivation for all our team members to know that you enjoyed the best view in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to your bill.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our visits to this hotel are usually brief, as we arrive late from Panama and usually leave the following afternoon back to the mainland. However, during these short "visits" to the Crowne Plaza I can report that the Wi-Fi works well, the rooms are very clean & comfortable, and the staff is friendly & helpful. I did find that the coffee in the cafeteria was expensive @ $5.00US; but perhaps that is normal for this area.
The value was good until the 28% taxes are included....
All in all - recommended as a business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TendandDoris,

Thank you very much for your coments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel received a great service. We will be sure to pass your kind words to the Staff, about your comments and service. It's perfect that you enjoyed in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I used to come to this hotel when it was an Inter Continental (V Centenario). My main problem is that wifi has never been working. It was somehow acceptable the first day, irritating the second and driving me mad the third. Staff was very kind, they even set up some kind of emergency service in the lobby but mine was a business trip, and I definitely lost a lot of time. Blaming the provider doesn't help, either. In any case, I would think that it was simply bad luck. I had a few minor problems (I was given an upgrade, but the room on the last floor was a hot oven, and I had to wait in the lobby until 7 PM before a standard room was available; there, I could not get a shower because the faucet sprayed water all over the bathroom.
Internet apart, the hotel is OK. The restaurant is good, even if a little pricey. There is a small outdoor pool, and the location is acceptable, relatively close both to the colonial city and the business areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Travelmx88,

We appreciate your comments and regret having had an unpleasant experience during your stay.

Unfortunately, we had problems with the internet, because the supplier of this service had a general breakdown in the area. We apologize and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be clean, modern and well equipped when compared to some other Crowne Plaza properties. Staff were attentive and courteous. Great location too in the capital city. The only disappointing bit about my stay is that I did not have wifi service for half of my time there. This was however a service provider issue and not a hotel issue. Apologies were made and a make shift router was set up in the lobby area at least. Unfortunately I did not have time to visit the casino or pool whilst there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KavitaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kavita D,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you were pleased with our service, rooms and cleanness.

It's a great motivation for all our team members to know that you enjoyed in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean. Unfortunately, we had problems with the internet, because the supplier of this service had a general breakdown in the area.

We apologize and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff at Crowne Plaza is wonderful. They always have smiles on their faces and greet you by name. We stay frequently and recommend Crowne Plaza to anyone visiting Santo Domingo. If you are a breakfast lover, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryj1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Maryj1989,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you were pleased with our service, rooms and cleanness.

It's a great motivation for all our team members to know that you enjoyed in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Santo Domingo
Sheraton Santo Domingo
#2 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing