We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to one, been to all?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nothing different or spectacular from other Crowne Plaza hotels.
Hotel is seemingly under renovation so there are some minor glitches you have to sort out but it should be okay.
Buffet breakfast is good but coffee should be more routine, consistently it seemed we had to be asking for coffee throughtout our week of work here.
The staff is overall courteous but smiling more would certainly help a lot.
The location is ideal - skip the gym and walk daily along the malecon!
Loved their small library and the overall layout of the lobby is good- want to hang around there after thise long workdays!

Room Tip: Not sure there is anyone that has a major difference?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmanza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

Dear Mmanza74,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to our Staff, about your commets and service. IWe are vey pleasent that you have enjoyed our City and the Malecon.

We hope you see you soon in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 973 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located at a 15 minute walk from the old part of the city/calle El Conde which is a good place to go look for food or a drink, walk around and see some major atractions like the Colon house and Catedral Primada, also there's a plaza right down the street where you can enjoy local fast food, karaoke and cheap drinks and food. The hotel also has free wifi internet service in most of the common areas and rooms. However, that's pretty much all I can say is good at this hotel.
Rude front desk staff, expensive taxis, old/dirty rooms, not a wide selection of food at their restaurants, casino attracts a lot of non desirable people into the hotel facilities. I'm pretty sure that my credit card was also cloned here when they took it away to pay at the pool bar. Never I would have expected this may happen inside the hotel, but shame on me... When I complained about the incident, they tried to make it look they cared by sending me a "police report" they received about a gang that was caught and accused of credit card fraud, the supossedly police report was an article from the local newspaper website...
I stayed there 4 or 5 times to never go back. I'm now staying further away from el Malecón, you can't walk most places, but you'll certainly find cheaper cabs.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with ocean view, however they may charge you extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_ck1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Jennifer_ck1980,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to Front Desk Staff, about your commets and service.

We guarantee that if it decides to return to our hotel, you will have a first quality product.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

First time there. Will never go back. I am Hilton WorldWide, but was full and had to stay there. Arrived late from work and had club level floor confirmed with double beds, as my oldest was traveling with me and was told had king bed only, they will give me a roll-away bed, to 6'4 boy! They didnt had any roos available! Even with a confirmed two bed Club level reservation. Room was dirty. Only nice thing was the club level area, was quiet, breakfast was good. Pool was closed for remodeling. The noise was pretty bad, even on on the 12th floor. My opinion, will never come back and will not recommend to anyone on business there.

Room Tip: Not much i can said, get high floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Jcastillo99,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

All the works of remodeling we are doing are areas become more modern and comfortable for our clients, we once again regret their situation and apologize.

We guarantee that if it decides to return to our hotel, you will have a first quality product.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My stay at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo has been absolutely wonderful. Outstanding attention, employees completely focused in customer service as in all the IHG properties, and the best location in the city just a few meters away from the Colonial Area, in front of the sea, at the Santo Domingo Malecon. Breakfast is great, the restaurant have a superb ocean view, and the service is excellent. The hotel have also an underground car park that really makes you feel safety about your car, and free internet connection.

My most sincerely congratulation to the GM and his assistant. They are doing a fabulous job at this property.

I highly recommend to book in this hotel, remember, the best surprise is no surprise; and for sure you will receive what you expect when you book in this outstanding brand, Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CmansoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear CmansoA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve.

Its our commitment bringing an excelent service. Your comments makes us reaffirm "Great Hotels Guests Love" promise. We so glad tha you enjoy the City, Restaurant, Colonial Zone and the ambience and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank negp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todo bien gracias a Dios
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robsanchez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.0 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $114 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing