We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in old city of Santo Domingo”
Review of Lulu Tasting Bar

Lulu Tasting Bar
Ranked #10 of 619 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Un espacio mágico en la Zona Colonial que reúne amigos y amantes de la buena gastronomía. Donde puedes degustar platos novedosos, escuchar buena música, tomarte un buen vino... A magical spot in the Colonial City where friend gather to enjoy good gastronomy. Where you can taste new and exciting dishes, with good music and great wine...
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great option in old city of Santo Domingo”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Great option in old city of Santo Domingo, this tasting bar concept it very original. It is just beside a wine shop with a large variaty of wines with retail prices.

Helpful?
Thank Licey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDuvernay, Public Relations Manager at Lulu Tasting Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Licey7,

It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the time in our Tasting Bar. With Lulú we want to give all of our visitors a new experience: a place where you can taste delightful dishes, exquisite wines and delicious cocktails while sharing with friends in a enjoyable, fun and classy atmosphere so it feels us with joy to know that you actually like the concept.

Looking forward to see you again in our house,

Tania
tania@lulu.do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    95
    33
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great place for a drink or two at the Colonial Zone”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Lulus Tasting Bar is a great place to have a drink or two at the Colonial Zone.

Its open patio surrounded by a terrace will remind you of the Belle époque and glorious days of the Colonial Santo Domingo. Is mother twist you’ll feel a connection to a place frozen in time.

Chef Stassi have created a sample menu, fun to try and share. Don’t worry of the poor lighting at the table at night, since the menu will be a self-illuminated iPad. Some of my favorites are the “Arancini”, a traditional Italian recipe of Rice Ball filled with Mozzarella Cheese. The Salmon Teriyaki is also a most, as well as the Polenta. I hadn’t being there on Thursday night, but It’s well known that have fresh Oysters offered at discount by the hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDuvernay, Public Relations Manager at Lulu Tasting Bar, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello Diego F,

We truly appreciate that you shared your experience with us as well as your recommendations. We will have to definitely agree with you... Theres so much history in the building and beauty that transports you into those colonial days, we feel very fortunate to be in such a beautiful ambience.

We are glad to know that you enjoy the Lulú experience, Saverio our Chef loves what he does and you can tell in each of his creations made with so much creativity and passion, the Arancini and Salmon Teriyaki are two of the favorite dishes which is the reason that even if we update our menu every Thursday you will always find these two.

We look forward to see you on Friday for our Oyster Special and that you enjoy our Monday Jazz Live Sessions.

Best regards,

Tania
tania@lulu.do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great tapas, amazing mojitos!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We've tried half of their menu and everything was simply amazing. Great food, great drink, great service and great atmosphere. Absolute must for couples or sensitive group of friends that would like to enjoy a stress free night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDuvernay, Public Relations Manager at Lulu Tasting Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello Viktor S,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed the Lulú experience, with our Tasting Bar we are trying to deliver a concept where you can have delightful bites, enjoy time with friends, savor refreshing cocktails and exquisite wine in a relaxed, fun, classy ambience.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we would love to have your visit again soon.

Tania
tania(at)lulu.do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited on Feb 21, 2014 and look forward to returning. We were novices to tapas and were guided helpfully by staff. We selected 4 items all of which were delightful! One was shrimp satay with red curry sauce.....perfection. Cuban sliders were also excellent. The sangria was authentic in taste and presentation. Eventually we came to dessert, I was full but my husband ordered crime brûlée. Tapas crime brûlée......3 small dishes of crime brûlée, each a different flavor.....traditional, pistachio, and coconut. Even though I was sated they were so delicious I helped finish all three. The service was impeccable and equal to service in the best Parisian restaurants. Only thing that bothered me a little was that the menu was on an iPad mini. I would have preferred a printed menu but that is a comment, not a complaint.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDuvernay, Public Relations Manager at Lulu Tasting Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello Sherry H,

Thank you for your comment, with Lulú we are looking for to bring a new concept to Zona Colonial... A place where you can enjoy classic cocktails, wines, a variety of tasty plates, share with friends and loved ones and just delight yourself in a relaxed atmosphere.

Our menu is very dynamic and changes every week... Some favorite dishes are left and rest are changed for new ones so we hope you can delight yourself with our creations.

We are looking forward to you next visit,

Tania
tania(at)patepalo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for a Drink - food ok”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Ambiance is modern and cool.
Music gets loud later in the evening and is a great place for a drink and small dinner.

Service is very good. The food is ok and the menu confusing. The cuisine pretends to be sophisticated but is just average.

Not a family place, but definitely a good option.

Helpful?
Thank JGVIANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frecome, Public Relations Manager at Lulu Tasting Bar, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello JGVIANA,

We truly appreciate your comment as is our highest interest to improve any flaws in order to provide all of our visitors with an extraordinary experience.

If it's possible we would like you to please send us a message detailing what you find confusing in the menu that way with your feedback we can look into it and make it easier for our visitors.

We hope in your next visit we can fulfill your expectations in every aspect.

Best regards,

Tania
tania(at)lulu.do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu Tasting Bar also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Lulu Tasting Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing