We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sign of good things to come” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lulu Tasting Bar

Lulu Tasting Bar
Ranked #10 of 587 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lulu is a tasting bar: We offer a menu of appetizers to taste daily with an approximate of 20 diverse options, our menu is dynamic and we bring you new delightful dishes to try every week. Our bar is an unforgettable experience, we offer a bar showcase with classic and modern cocktails and in our Enoteca next door where you can choose your favorite bottle and uncork it for a reasonable price.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sign of good things to come”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at a hotel down the street. And seeing the other reviews, I decided to try Bellini. Bellini's owner, Franco, greeted me at the door. Yet it was to tell me that he is repurposing and rebranding the 13-year old restaurant. It is now called Lo La. And while he was not quite ready for a full menu tonight Franco served me the best beef carpaccio I have ever had. Prior to shaving the buttery blood-red filet razor thin, he stuffed with foie gras. How delightfully politically incorrect. And how delicious. Californians, eat your hearts out. Or should I say don't mind me while I clog the arteries in mine just a bit. It is an extra cardio workout for me tomorrow. But today, congrats to Franco and his new restaurant. I am coming back when the menu is ready for prime time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LobstaSlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frecome, Owner at Lulu Tasting Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Mr. LobstaSlaya,

Thank you very much sir. Eventhough we are not officially opened I noticed the night that you visited us as you were sitted in the Patio precisely in one of the tables in the hall tasting the Carpaccio and I noticed that you really enjoyed when Franco was speaking to you, I love to see that our customers feel so comfortable and good enjoying every moment they spend in our stablishment.

I would like to invite you to discuss about your experience in both of our restaurants, please contact us at info@patepalo.com


Sincerely,

AC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    87
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in modern setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Great choice of food, trendy place to hang out. Good wine selection and reasonably prices. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a gorgeous and romantic place for dinner. With a great patio and live music this big old colonial house makes you forget about everything while enjoying a glass of wine and a delicious meal. Its a bit pricey but definitely worthed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maharani-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

A great choice for a quiet and elegant dinner, particularly good for a business meeting. The restaurant offers an upscale but subtle elegance. The menu consists of international fare, with a focus on Italian dishes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank santiago305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant appears to be closed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This excellent restaurant now appears to be closed. We were in Santo Domingo on the 12th December and wanted to have dinner, but it looked very closed and shuttered and we could not make contact by telephone. Does anyone have any information.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu Tasting Bar also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Lulu Tasting Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing