We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Explora Ecotour

Explora Ecotour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explora! Ecotour is a small, owner-operated, sustainable ecotourism company based in Santo Domingo. We provide private and group tours to many nature preserves all around the country. With emphasis on sustainability and education, our rain forest, desert, beach, and mountain tours are led by our experienced and knowledgeable, bilingual nature guides.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I really have to say that me and my team had the best experience ever with Explora! They coordinate everything transportation, activities, snacks and lunch everything was perfect. The person from Explora who went to the trip with us has a highly knowledge of the area including history and the environmental. Since it was a building trip they prepare to us a very entertaining agenda with some timing activities for our group.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADF03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Dominican Republic Emerald Coast - FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you're in Dominican and looking for an adventure don't hesitate to jump on board with Oly and Manny. These two kindered spirits take you to the less travelled jewels of the Dominican Republic. Our group swam in the warm Atlantic from a delightful boat on the most beautiful sand bar on the Emerald Coast... No other visitors, just our group of 11, the fish, and our great hosts. From there we toured some ancient lighthouses, ate lunch an ecclectic restaurant (best meal of our entire Dominican Trip), watched a family run cigar shop make world class product, and we finished off by spending an hour swimming in a fresh water crater. Twelve hours of bliss and seeing corners of the country where most never venture.

My hat goes off to Explora! Manny and Oly are truly in a class of their own.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ValleyTec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It really is that great!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews I decided to go on a waterfall tour with my family. It was amazing. Swimming under the waterfall in an idyllic rainforest portion of the country was a memory we will cherish. After the short hike and swim the meal served by a local host family was a hit...not just for my wife and I but also for our thee kids which was quite a pleasant surprise. Explora's knowledge of the flora and fauna was extensive and only surpassed by its love of this beautiful country and it's people.

Helpful?
1 Thank mc2galt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Greatest Experience You Will Ever Have!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This tour was simply amazing! It was like meeting up with friends. If you have already decided to visit Dominican Republic this is a MUST to really experience this beautiful country. We can not say enough good things about the owners Oly and Manny (as well as their driver Nelson) They are not only VERY educated, but their knowledge about the environment, local culture, hidden gems..you name it, is awesome. We had a private tour of the northern coast that was simply breathtaking. They are very organized in there tour plan. They pack a lot in but leave you with plenty of "alone" time. Once you meet them though, your "alone" time will include them..they are wonderful.
We also did a one day tour of a MAGNIFICENT farm. They grew & processed coffee, built amazing bamboo furniture..check them out....Rio Blanco..www.coeturb.com..All of these wonderful places would have been impossible to locate without Explora. Their connection to the local Eco community is so wonderful to see.
We will definitely be returning for more tours!
You will leave with new friends and an appreciation for the beauty that Dominican Republic offers through both its people and land.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank griffin5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful country with so much to see. Emerald Coast Tour”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

While staying on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic my husband and I took the Emerald Coast day tour. I had looked online prior to going to find an eco-tour, not some run of the mill bus tour with, often times, guides that really don't know much about the area, or the history. Oly and Manny are very friendly, laid back and very knowledgeable about not only the natural aspects of the country and the varying climates, etc, and bird species, but about the people. Being from the US it was an interesting spin having guides that can see both the US culture versus the Dominican Culture and to be able to explain both so fully.

There are numerous tours that I would love to do that they offer if I return, but this was amazing. Beautiful Parks and people nd great food to top it off at a really cool local restaurant tucked away in a little neighborhood.

A bit pricey, but well worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explora Ecotour also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Explora Ecotour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing