We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as described”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
wsperkins
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just as described”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The photos do it justice. The outside wall is 4, either 3 feet or 4 feet, sliding glass doors. Only the one on the far left opens. So the outside of the glass doors can't be cleaned. This cut down on the nice view a lot due to coating from the salf spray. Of the open door gives you a beautiful view. The comment that everyone makes in their review is that it is noisy. Quite noisy at that. But on a previous trip I stayed the the Jaragua Hotel and was awakened by roosters in the morning. Santo Domingo is a noisy city-all night long. I recomment ear plugs. In general not just at this apartment. The apartment is fine and I was very satisfied. Petteri was a great host. I did infact recommend this place to my best friend. SEPARATE TIP--take a crisp US$10 bill to use in the machine at the airport to buy your tourist card and avoid the lines for the clerk.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thank you for your review Walter ; i appreciate it.

I would like to clarify that you can open all 4 sliding doors but for practical reasons i always advise my customers to open only the far left one... And naturally all glass doors can be cleaned as well ( which we do frequently because of salty air being in front of the ocean)

Unfortunately in Malecon - as everywhere in Santo Domingo - there might me some noise due to traffic. According to new project it is a only question of time when all heavy traffic will be prohibited in Malecon so in future there will be less noise.

It is a pleasure to have customers like you and hope to accommodate you again soon in the future...

-Petteri-
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramblingd...
St. Petersburg, FL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location, attentive property owner, noisey city”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The condo was clean and very conveniently located for my purposes in Santo Domingo. The only problems are the noise and the traffic. It seems that the locals love their car horns and take delight in using them whenever possible. This isn't just this location, I don't think that you could find peace and quiet anywhere in Santo Domingo. Also the traffic is terrible anywhere near Santo Domingo. The rules of the road mean nothing to the majority of drivers. I would recommend this property for its affordability, location and comfort.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron F
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place is really modern and you feel lucky when you see the view the apt has overlooking the clear blue water,”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Place was extremely clean; located on a main strip referred to as the Malecon which boost the major hotels as well as casinos (also known as George Washington avenue); 5 to 10 min cab drive to the colonial zone by tax; modern oven and stove; radio as well as cds provided; cable tv with some English speaking channels such as MTV, VH1, CNN; power outlet in the bathroom; hot water at all times, the feeling of safety; doorman and basically a 15 min cab drive to Avenida Venuezulea and a 5 to 8 min cab drive to the zona colonial; cheap food and breakfas within walking distance; and perfect WIFI. The apartment was great for so a solo traveler such as myself.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttawaRev...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very reasonable price for beach front rental”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Place was clean and it felt quite secure. Within walking distance to a few things like the Malecon beach that has outdoor zumba classes in the evening and waking up to the beach is awesome. You do need to rent a car or take a taxi if you want to see much of the city. There is also a major road right outside of the window and the traffic in Santo Domingo is a constant stream of honking - so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs.

I'd stay again.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsey_m...
philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice and cozy place with a beautiful view”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I had the most amazing time so relaxing and mostly convenient bars, good dance club across the street and frozen yogurt place Bon was very good went to local resturant in walking distance Tony Ramonos was great good food local bodega delivered and was very nice walked along the Blv. With great views the beach was far that was the only downfall cause we love the beach the rental owner was very nice and helpful and it is a secured building in good condition thanks trip advisory for a great recommendation

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmgwatts
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was very please with my stay and will definitely come back!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Mr. Petteri was great. He was very professional and courteous. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the apartment. Everything was as advertised and the customer service was top-notch. I really like the location but the only complaint would be the early morning traffic, but it is the city so that was to be expected. For me it really wasn't a big deal. I look forward to another possible stay in the future. Thanks Petteri!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the customer service, location and the view.
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finnybone
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No surprises here!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
7
people found this review helpful

This apartment was worth every cent! The photos were exact. No surprise or hidden fees. Very clean. The contract/rental agreement was short and sweet. The building is secure. Everything was in working order. Good functional size, the apartment. Secured parking. Very nice view of the ocean. Very nice staff/owner! I had a contact phone, in case of problems. The internet worked perfect (WiFi). I have already recommend to a friend. Security deposit returned at check-out, minus the electricity charge. The electricity charge was inexpensive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value and security
Liked least: Did not find anything!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing