We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“To expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“To expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Holliday in other countries, but this is the first time the charge diferent prices per day and increasing, do not make sense.
The service is ok, they do not have WiFi all over the hotel, the location is great for business

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraymores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest Frymores:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and we appreciated your visit from Panama. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.

Your observation about rate, it's important, but Holiday Inn Santo Domingo Hotel, occupies one of the first position in rates and It has one of the first places as the best Hotel of the city, so it is not considered as the same that you have known in the others Countries.

The hotel is characterized as modern, fresh and technological. Since its opening, on October 5, 2009, became the Hotel model for future structures in Latin America and the Caribbean, since it was constructed according to the guidelines and renewed standards of the Holiday Inn brand.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    138
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
50
64
23
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We needed a place to stay for the night that wasn't too far from the Estadio Olimpico for a concert we were attending. This hotel lives up to and goes well above Holiday Inn standards. The hotel itself is beautiful - impeccable even. Everything was spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We didn't have much time but we made a point of visiting and enjoying the rooftop pool on the morning that we left. Our room rate included breakfast and we were once again impressed by the friendly staff as well as the many tasty hot and cold food options. We will definitely be staying here again next time we need a place in Santo Domingo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincesseEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear PrincesseEm:

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive your impressions about the wonderful experience that has taken in the Hotel. It's something our Staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

Holiday Inn Santo Domingo is characterized as modern, fresh and technological. Since its opening, on October 5, 2009, became the Hotel model for future structures in Latin America and the Caribbean, since it was constructed according to the guidelines and renewed standards of the Holiday Inn brand.

Thank you for being part of our commitment, "Great Hotels Guests Love" and we hope to see you in your next visit to Santo Domingo City.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We'd moved from a hotel in the old city for some business meetings. The old city has a great deal of charm, but this was the better hotel by far. Outside was hot and the rooms were ice cold (by my own choice). There was plenty of space. It was clean, quiet and offered excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtwwith3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest Rtwwith3kids:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and we appreciated your visit from Australia. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.

It’s something our Staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and thank you for reaffirming our commitment to "Great Hotels Guests Love".

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two weeks on business. the staff was excellent and the restaurant was great. Located in walking distance of several restaurants. Somehow my closet started leaking water, however the staff moved me to a new room right away and offered complimentary dry cleaning of any wet clothes. They also brought complimentary fruit and chocolates to my room the next day. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kansas231guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest Kansas 231guy:

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive your impressions about the wonderful experience that has taken in the Hotel. For our staff, it is very important to take in to account the details of customers who feel recognized and distinguished.

At the Hotel, we assume with responsibility the service, quality and the attention to our visitors, which leads us to offer them the best every day.

Thank you for being part of our commitment, "Great Hotels Guests Love". We hope that when your return to Santo Domingo, staying again with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I equate holiday inn to a discount hotel. Usually a little run down, but a bargin. This Holiday Inn keeps the bargin, but dispels all the other misconceptions. Modern, Clean, comfortable rooms. Fast internet, good food, great service. Also well located.

From the moment I was greeted at the door, till I left... Service was outstanding, all the staff say hello and are very responsive to your needs.

As a business traveler I will return to this hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquaman0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Aquaman0601:

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive your impressions about the wonderful experience that has taken in the Hotel. For our staff, it is very important to take into account the details of customers who feel recognized.

Holiday Inn Santo Domingo is a modern, fresh and technological hotel. Since its opening, on October 5, 2009, became the Hotel model for future structures in Latin America and the Caribbean, since it was constructed according to the guidelines and renewed standards of the Holiday Inn brand. The quality and service, it is a priority for us and we feel happy for your appreciations.

Thank you for being part of our commitment "Great Hotels Guests Love"

We hope that you come back to Santo Domingo, will be happy to receive you again.!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Two of the other reviews sum up this great property - not a typical Holiday Inn, and a great business hotel. I felt safer there than at another (much higher-end) hotel on the water. The rooms were modern and attractive, and the funky interior was always well kept. Service was personalized, friendly, and proactive. Food and beverage product was unique, varied, and excellent. This hotel is extremely proud of its 'green' facilities - the lights and TV go off when you leave your room (but they come back on exactly how you left them when you reenter the room), and finishes were appealing and often high-end. Hotel features and amenities were as expected at a higher-category hotel, and the atmosphere was very vibrant. The reason 'cleanliness' was not given the high score is that vacuuming throughout was not very good, though everything else was. I would (and have) recommend this hotel to ANYONE going to Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: Can't recall directions, but my room faced the large home decor stores; the only problem I had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Joni K:

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive your impressions about the wonderful experience that has taken in the Hotel.

For our staff, it is very important to take into account the details of customers who feel recognized and distinguished.

Holiday Inn Santo Domingo is characterized as modern, fresh and technological. Since its opening, on October 5, 2009, became the Hotel model for future structures in Latin America and the Caribbean, since it was constructed according to the guidelines and renewed standards of the Holiday Inn brand.

Thanks again for staying with us and We hope to see you soon.

Thank you for choosing us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this hotel is good and beautiful, i very diferent the other holiday hotels the pool is beutiful in the roof, nice and clean, the room are clean too, the problem are the bed, this bed is so hard, and the smell to wood in room is not god for people whit rinithis, but can past the time, the hot water is ok in the bathroom, the restaurant aromas have a very good food and nice,every thing is good and the service too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flori1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Flori 1313:

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive your impressions about the amaizing experience at the hotel.

For us it's very important to take into account the details of guests who feel recognized and distinguished. Your commets about room's smell, we will be sure to pass your notifications to our Housekeeping staff.

It's our pleasure to bring the best service to you and your Family. We hope to see you again soon in your next visit to Holiday Inn Santo Domingo.

Thank you for shoosing us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Gazcue
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Courtyard Santo Domingo
#4 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Occidental El Embajador
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Santo Domingo

Property: Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Address: Av Abraham Lincoln 856, Santo Domingo 3164, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday Inn Santo Domingo, located in the Business District on Santo Domingo city, welcomes business and leisure travelers. Our Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of numerous large companies and important corporate buildings. In addition, families and business travelers will enjoy the complete list of restaurants, bars, disco, shopping centers among other interesting attractions located within a short walk of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing