We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”

Pat'e Palo European Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 605 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Price range: $15 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The First Tavern of the Americas, est.1505 Exquisite Cuisine, Casual Ambiance
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, excellent food and service. The best restaurant in town, with a great view and terrace.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbrckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanPatePalo, Public Relations Manager at Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you, Sir! Looking forward to your next visit.

Saludos,

Pavol
pavol@patepalo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    469
    120
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Dining in Old Santo Domingo”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I ate here with my business associates while in Santo Domingo for the weekend. Pat'e Palo was recommended to me by one of our managers in the US.The food was very good, but the service excelled. When we were ordering our steaks, and because most of us did not speak Spanish very well, the owner came over to make sure that our steaks would be cooked to our preference. The price may be high by local standards, but I found it to be consistent with the quality. We chose to dine inside, since we had walked around the area during the day and it had been very warm. Next time I go, I want to dine outside on the Plaza. There is music in the Plaza on the weekend. I highly recommend the Tira Misu for dessert. It is absolutely delicious and a very generous portion. We felt very welcome to linger and talk after dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MischaB_114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanPatePalo, Public Relations Manager at Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Mischa,

Thank you for your response! We are looking forward to your next visit. Let us know in advance for a nice table outside.

All the best,

Pavol
pavol@patepalo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pricey but a unique location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place in the historical part of Santo Domingo, with a beautiful view of the acazar de Colon, offers excellent food. The only critisism are the high prices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodolfo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanPatePalo, Public Relations Manager at Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Rodolfo,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant. Actually, we did a research on prices in the city and actually found out that our prices are below average.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Pavol
pavol@patepalo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Santo Domingo”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For sheer consistency, this is the best restaurant in Santo Domingo. I have been eating at this restaurant for the last 10 years, and I can't remember one meal where I was disappointed. Located in the Plaza Espana in the colonial zone section, it can be quite busy on the weekends. But once you taste the food you will understand. Everything here is good, from the pastas, to the steaks, to the awesome seafood. If you visit only one restaurant in Santo Domingo, it should be Pat'e Palo.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigblatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanPatePalo, Public Relations Manager at Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!

We are happy you enjoy our restaurant for 10 years..lad to have you with us! Prepare, because many great things are coming up in the future.

Let me know when you come over next time.

Best regards,

Pavol
pavol@patepalo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant, Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is one of the best restaurants I've tried in Santo Domingo, and definitely the best in the Colonial Zone. The staff is very nice and professional, always making sure they take care of your needs, but at the same time polite and respectful, unlike many places in Santo Domingo where the staff wants to rush through your dinner, collect the bill, and turn over the table for the next guests. Pat'epalo is always full, but they will let you take your time and won't make you leave until you really want to. The place itself is wonderful. Located in Plaza España, a square with more than 500 years of history, and inside a building from the 1500's, the restaurant combines the contemporary architecture from Europe with a very upscale touch. The food is just outstanding. The menu has lots of choices, from appetizers to heavy pieces of sirloin, all carefully cooked and with a delicious touch. The desserts are delicious, as well as the assortment of cocktails and drinks. Prices are a little bit high if you are used to the mid-range restaurants in the Dominican Republic, but if you are used to the good Brasseries in Europe (especially in Paris, Madrid, Geneva), you will find better prices here for better food and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanPatePalo, Public Relations Manager at Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello Aldo,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We want our guest to enjoy every second of their stay without feeling pushed. You are so right with the prices..we did a research and found out we are actually a bit below average!

Well i hope you will honor us with your visit again some time soon!

Thank you,

Pavol
pavol@patepalo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat'e Palo European Brasserie also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Pat'e Palo European Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing