We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay, if you can afford it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, if you can afford it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in the plaza naco. From here you are walking distance to some great restaurants, a close taxi ride to the melecon and zona colonial.

The rooms are large and comfortable. The suits are spectacular. The shower in our room (518) was the best shower I have had in a hotel in a long time. The room came with breakfast included. A great place to stay if you can afford it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    128
    59
    20
    19
See reviews for
43
38
23
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I chose this hotel because the last time I came to Santo Domingo I FROZE at La Jaragua, hoping for a little more control over my room, and hoping not freeze everytime I left my room. So, on that note Clarion is much better. Although I've realized that in DR you have to choose between ac and wetness. All in all, the hotels are about even. Clarion has the best beds, nicest linens and cleanest room (although the toilet seats don't fit proper and so they will not stay up on their own - not sure what the guys do???). The breakfast is adequate, included as is internet. So if you tend to eat a big breakfast it is nice to have it included. Pizza by the slice right around the corner - delicious! And a decent little bar/cafe within a block or so of safe walking. The staff is friendly. However, it was difficult/impossible to get early check out - so I'll have to be up by 4am to leave time for check out. I will probably go back to La Jaragua the next time but stay in the older building, the Garden Suites, that don't have a/c in the halls and otherwise about the same although you have to walk outside to get to any amenities (but I LIKE to walk outside as opposed to hotel hallways). There is more to do within walking distance there and closer to my meetings. Finally, it all depends on what is important and what you want/need in proximity.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a "quiet" side - noisy streets just below - ask for pool view or highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just make sure to book the PREMIUM rooms that simply means are the refurbished and new ones. I guess soon, all rooms will be premium ones.
Free internet, great breakfast, staff attitute is A+. No guests are allowed in the rooms, this way they keep it quiet at night. Some do appreciate that.
Hotel is orieted to families and executives.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciberteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is one of the better hotels in Santo Domingo in terms of value for money. There is free FAST wifi, complimentary breakfast but for me the piece de resistance is the gym that is included free of charge. The hotel does not have gym facilities of its own but it does provide free entry to one of the best gyms I have ever seen, just across the road at the back of the hotel. Sure, it is not part of the hotel, and you do have to walk all the way across the car park to get to it, but I can assure you that you will not be disappointed if you go there.
The hotel staff are exceptionally pleasant although the number of towels you get on a daily basis seems to be determined quite randomly though this is just a quirk of the place and easily remedied by a quick call to reception.
Clean, spacious rooms that are bright and airy with all the amenities you desire.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnmaccoolHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

we came to this hotel for one night and we are traveling with 3 adults and to young kids. we have stayed in a few of the top hotels in Santo Domingo but this has defiantly been the best. we liked it so much we came back the next week, and the service only again exceeded our expectations. very clean very nice workers, great breakfast included. no parking fee, free wifi (fast) and the list could just go on.

Thank you Clarion

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hushian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieBeras, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear customer,
We´re glad you enjoy your stay in our Hotel, our staff always aim to exceed expectations on their duties and leave a memorable experience to all our customers.
Hoping you´ll be back soon!

Regards,

Angie Beras Goico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is the best place to offer business meeting, training, courses in Santo Domingo, considering cost & benefit

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFernandezL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieBeras, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Customer,
We appreciate your comments.
Our Hotel offers many services and we´re glad our business centers facilities pleased you.
Every day different companies and guests use our conference rooms to hold meetings, business presentations, product launches and more!
We´re expecting you back to stay with us soon.

Sincerely.

Angie Beras Goico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Check in was faster . The people are nice and the food was awesome and the waiters are excellent and one of the most coolest bar in town . As well the location . Nice facilities . WE WILL DEFINITELY RETURN

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieBeras, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your destination when you visit Santo Domingo.
We are always offering the best service and attention to our clients, and consider them to be an important part of our family.
We will be honored that you come back to stay with us and make your visit unforgettable.

Regards,

Angie Beras Goico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
3.8 mi away
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo

Property: Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Address: Calle Presidente Gonzalez #10, esq. Tiradendes | NACO, Santo Domingo 30228, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel Plaza Naco)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing