We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
miami, fla
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

the rooms need updating but everything else is excellent

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verylousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    267
    62
    45
    32
See reviews for
104
153
65
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel is just simple the best ever. Great rooms, great location, super clean and the staff is awesome. Everybody is so frindly and respectful. Is just simple the best

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseyJavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

From the moment you step foot in this hotel to the moment you check out, the staff will treat you like royalty. I've never been to a hotel where the staff were so friendly and willing to always make sure you're comfortable and happy. I want to give a special thanks to Ms. Aurora Sagredo who assisted us throughout our stay at the hotel. Her management skills are truly unparralleled to any other hotel manager that I have ever experienced. The hotel has very elegant decor which gives you a feeling of staying at a palace rather than just a hotel. The two restaurants located on the premises serve amazing cuisine. The garden and pool area are as relaxing and as calm as they come. You can truly relax by the pool and drink a nice cocktail or two. I also recommend trying an amazing pizzeria (IL CAPO) located right next to the hotel. The location of this hotel is very central to everything in the Santo Domingo area. Thank you for the amazing stay and I will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I visit Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USMILITARY2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Just simple: Everything goes from good to great. The service is absolutely magnificent. The views, the restaurant and the food are excellent. The emplyees treatment and the room service is one of the best around the country. Great!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Hello,
I would like to share with you the AMAZING Experience I had here at the Occidental El Embajador Hotel. When I first arrived at the hotel, I sensed a very sincere heart warming welcome from the staff and their employees. The moment they saw that I needed some assistance they responded without hesitation. And what was even better, is that they did that WITH EVERYONE. The staff had no idea of who I am and what I in the states which shows me how Consistent and Professional they are. As a military member, we understand the importance and value in working as a team and that's exactly what the El Embajador staff and their employees work...AS A TEAM. Anytime that I/we needed anything, the staff and employees were there ready to assist us. If they wasn't anyone available to assist us at that moment and they were in the middle of helping others, they were quick in informing us that as soon as they completed their previous task they would be more than happy to assist us. I have performed ALL OVER THE WORLD for all kinds of people to include Military and Civilian Dignitaries and not once have I ever left a comment like this. This is not what I normally do due to the fact that when I'm in a Professional setting its expected to have high quality. But I also know that the bible says to give credit where credit is due and that's why I'm not hesitating in doing this. If and when I am able to come back, I would not hesitate in taking the opportunity to stay here at the Occidental El Embajador Hotel. And I would most definitely not hesitate in letting everyone know about this Hotel. Again, Thank You So Much for All of Your Support and Assistance.
Take Care and God Bless,
Johnny Holliday
www.johnnyholliday.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnylikesjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Walking distance to the park Mirador del Surfor ideal for jogging/brisk walking (particularly handy to start a day or to decompress at the end of the day!). Good gym facilities complete with sauna and hamman. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.. Only small problem : not all of them speak some basic English with the result that at times it is quite difficult to obtain an info. Use of sign language a must ! They all speak spanish. The floor I was (5th floor) also have an exclusive lounge with snacks and coffee Even a small library with English books. The rome is spaciuos with a king size bed (easily can accomodate 4 persons !). Do opt for the left wing for less noise from a generator.
Did enjoy my stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clearsea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

You won't find such an impeccable service in the entire Dominican Republic.... The staff is focused on every little detail to make your stay exceed your expectations. The Chef and his team prepare the finest foods the world has to offer. I have visited Santo Domingo several times and have stayed at other hotels, but trust me….no hotel is like El Embajador….I will definitely encourage people to visit this hotel and experience for themselves the best of Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chachi_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing