We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations successfully revive this historic hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a drive down the elegant driveway in this residential area of Santo Domingo, you experience the beauty of the large well manicured grounds, the flock of chattering green parakeets and the excellent service of the staff who will try very hard to meet all of your requests. The swimming pool is huge, as are the comfortable new beds. The restaurant provides an excellent buffet breakfast but is less busy for lunch and dinner. There are a number of excellent restaurants within a few hundred meters. The Dominican people enjoy boisterous parties and the music can be quite pervasive. Therefore the the advice of the front desk staff can be invaluable in your choice of one of the newly renovated rooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms above the front door are noisy because of the flock of parakeets. The rooms above the ball...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1946fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stay for 5 days and the service in The Royal Club was excellent. I enjoy how the employees give the guest an excellent attention and the way everyone treat you like family. I recommended this hotel for everyone that will like to enjoy a nice place en Santo Domingo, D.R.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schariar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After staying many times in this superb hotel completely renovated with a superb view a vast swimming pool and luxurious park, I really recommend staying in this central place of Santo Domingo. All employees treat you as a king and don't know how to satisfy your wishes. Restaurant's chef Alberto is a must taste; Ask him a special plat or defeat him and he will do anything he can to satisfy you. A real family; If you want no headaches with all this gentle and serving team of the Embajador you can come at any time and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Excellent View to the see and the swimming pool... Go to the royal Club at the 7 or 8th floor you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yancris2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I checked in to El Embajador at 9pm after a long day of travel. Initially, we were impressed with the your hotel and its accommodations and were surprised when given a complimentary upgrade to a 7th floor suite.

Our room was very nice and our room service was good. We were looking forward to a relaxing stay in Santo Domingo. In fact, we were considering changing our plans from moving to a hotel closer to the Zona Colonial and instead staying the entire trip at the El Embajador.

Unfortunately, around 7:00 in the morning we were shocked to be awoken by the sound of drilling and construction. We called to the front desk and were told that the staff were unaware of where the noise was coming from. Maria Isabel spoke with my girlfriend and told her that she was unsure what could have been causing the noise. Lo and behold, after 30-45 minutes of investigating the hotel staff finally admitted that the noise was due to planned renovations on the 6th floor.

You can imagine our shock. First at having found out that not only did the staff know about the renovations (after having denied it) but that they knew about it prior to our check-in. Needless to say, we decided against continuing our stay at El Embajador.

As we checked out, we asked the front desk whether there was anything that could be done in light of the inconvenience we had suffered. The staff person said that because the reservation had been booked through Priceline.com, nothing could be done. We then asked to speak to Maria Isabel but were told that she was unavailable. We asked for her to contact us and were told in no uncertain circumstances that she would. In fact, the staff person told us to "trust him" and that he would ensure that we were contacted.

Neither Maria Isabel nor anybody else from El Embajador or Occidental Hotels ever reached out to us.

Not only did we suffer the inconvenience of the renovations, we were lied to by the hotel staff about the origin of the noise and misled about our stay. If we had been informed at check-in about the renovations, we could have decided whether to stay and endure the noise or whether we wished to stay at another hotel so that we could get a decent night's rest after a long trip. In fact, I believe the upgrade was not complimentary at all but was given to us in anticipation of the inconvenience the hotel knew we would suffer. The saying that "it’s better to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permission" is not true in general and definitely is not true in this case. To add insult to injury, we were flat out lied to about being contacted about the inconvenience. No one ever reached out to us.

I understand that a hotel must from time to time, do renovations. However, we should have be told about them upon check-in. Even if the hotel's policy is not to inform guests about expected inconveniences, it is unconscionable for the staff to pretend that they are unaware of the noise and then to lie to us by telling us they will do whatever they can to rectify the situation and then do nothing.

I have reached out to El Embajador multiple times and they've never responded. That's more disappointing than the noise we experienced. I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THX-5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear THX-5280,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really sorry for the annoyance you encountered during your stay. We are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable vacation and it appears that we fell short of this during your stay. We've reviewed your comments with our management in order to keep our rooms in top condition.

Again thank you very much for your valuable review, if you would like to discuss more details about your experience please feel free to contact us direct at socialmedia@mx.occidentalhotels.com

The satisfaction of our guests is top priority and your experience with us was not the norm for our hotel.We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

In this hotel you will be treated like family, frienly staff at the same time very professional. That is what bring us back every time we are in Santo Domingo. Don't forget to visit the Royal Club Balcony. Have a cigar there and enjoy the view of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gjjgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I Always like to come back to El Embajador excelent services, the renew areas are wonderfull, and the bars and restaurant excellent. We participate in Epifanio Lantigua Touristic Journalism Prize Gala and the dinner was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Edgar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a nice location not indowntown but kind of close by car
Service is very good and prive is adequate for the quality of everyting
I would recommend it if you are travelling for business or even tourism
We were staying there for a friends wedding and all was really good

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chlmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
W&P Santo Domingo
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Barcelo Santo Domingo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $145 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing