We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Hotel in Santo Domingo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental El Embajador
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Santo Domingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After many years of constantly traveling to Santo Domingo, Occidental El Embajador is clearly the best hotel choice in Santo Domingo. Since the moment you arrive, friendly bell boys greet you with a smile and warm welcome.
I always choose to stay on the Royal Club Level which is located on the last two floors of the hotel which provide a great view of the city, pool and garden area, and a full view of the beatiful caribbean water coast. Extra perks include several hors d'oeuvres settings during the day as well as local drinks and beers.The best part of the Royal Club is the staff which are by far the most professional and friendliest people you can find at any hotel. They are always working hard to make sure that you feel like home.
The hotel is currently under a complete renovation. The new rooms are modern and comfortable, but maintain that classical look. The terrace on the Royal Club was just re-opened today and provides a great place to sip on that glass of wine at night while enjoying the carribean breeze.

Thank you to the Hotel Embajador and its fabulous staff for always making me feel like home!!!.

Room Tip: Always select room facing the ocean (south side). Not only will you have a great view, but you avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    251
    49
    41
    29
See reviews for
96
143
63
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and always available from the time I arrived through check out. The hotel is centrally located to all of Santo Domingo. The restaurant has a big variety of delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. I highly recommend the Occidental El Embajador.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

First time I stayed at this hotel. I loved it, it is exactly what I need for my business trips to Sto. Domingo. Well located, excellent restaurants close by (3 minute walk), safe, clean and excellent service. It was worth every penny I paid.
The hotel was doing some renovation work and this did not bother at all, it was very well contained. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 3rd. floor might have a better view, but they are all noise proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duvdevanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location and cost price effective. I have stayed a couple times due to business and definitely I will come back. We stayed at the Executive floor, but later upgraded to the Royal one. (7).

Local Drinks and snacks (Salmon, cheese, ham, etc) are free at the Royal Lobby at the 8th floor. Two Conference Room are available for private meetings which you will need to book in advance. Food. You can't go wrong with great meals at this place.

If you are traveling with elders, I would keep an eye on the pool. It is slippery when wet in the surroundings. The Bar close to the pool provides a great variety of drinks.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My company organized a big business meeting at the Hotel Occidental Embajador. We had over 100 delegates from different countries in the Caribbean. The conference services were excellent. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of very good restaurants. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I must say that the treatment me and my family received in El Embajador was one of the bests I´ve ever had. We were leaving the country after living in DR for more than 5 years and selected this hotel as our base while we were doing all the packing and move of our goods. It was a pleassure to arrive to this wonderful hotel for a relaxing time and a 10/10 service level.
We were in 6th floor, suite 615 and room 616 two connetcting rooms with 3 bathrooms in total (perfect for a family of 5 like mine). People at the front desk and the 5th floor (executive floor reception) were outstanding, with a very professional but at the same time warm approach.
My recomendation for everyone visiting this city full of contranst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We last stayed here in July 2012 and quite frankly, I was not ready to come back again. However, this hotel is in a very convenient location for us, so we decided to try again. I have got to say that it has vastly improved. We reserved the executive floor room, which is well worth it. They have a good selection of breakfast items and the wait staff (except for one) has vastly improved their service. At breakfast, they will serve you iced water (safe to drink) without charge. However, be aware, that unlike most executive floors, you have to pay for bottled water ($1.00 per bottle). Not sure how much the beer and other beverages were, as we only bought the water. Our room this time was impeccable. The first room they gave us was loud as they were having a wedding party, but they were very helpful, and transferred us to an impeccable room, we even had a welcome tray of fruit and water & 2 chairs on the porch (yay!). The room was quiet and lovely. No problems with the bed either! They have finally gotten it that most travelers like wash towels and are supplying these (at least in the room we got). We got full amenities in our bathroom which had a tub/shower plus a walk in shower. We ate at Las Porchas and this time got very good service, which was also a vast improvement from last year. You must try the chicharrones de pollo with tostones, oh, so good here! Careful if you order a club sandwich, as they sometimes confuse it with a kind of ham and cheese sandwich vs. a true club, you need to specify. Also, if you want to eat by the pool you will have to move to a table by the pool bar, which is an understandable policy for cleanliness, etc. but don't expect to eat right at your pool lounge chair. Thanks to the management for improving the rooms and service.
Also, thank you to Christopher Hamra, Food and Beverage Manager, for the lovely fruit tray when we switched rooms. We will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachluv44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Courtyard Santo Domingo
#4 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental El Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental El Embajador

Property: Occidental El Embajador
Address: Sarasota Avenue 65, Santo Domingo 11211, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental El Embajador 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Occidental El Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing