We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My company organized a big business meeting at the Hotel Occidental Embajador. We had over 100 delegates from different countries in the Caribbean. The conference services were excellent. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of very good restaurants. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I must say that the treatment me and my family received in El Embajador was one of the bests I´ve ever had. We were leaving the country after living in DR for more than 5 years and selected this hotel as our base while we were doing all the packing and move of our goods. It was a pleassure to arrive to this wonderful hotel for a relaxing time and a 10/10 service level.
We were in 6th floor, suite 615 and room 616 two connetcting rooms with 3 bathrooms in total (perfect for a family of 5 like mine). People at the front desk and the 5th floor (executive floor reception) were outstanding, with a very professional but at the same time warm approach.
My recomendation for everyone visiting this city full of contranst.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We last stayed here in July 2012 and quite frankly, I was not ready to come back again. However, this hotel is in a very convenient location for us, so we decided to try again. I have got to say that it has vastly improved. We reserved the executive floor room, which is well worth it. They have a good selection of breakfast items and the wait staff (except for one) has vastly improved their service. At breakfast, they will serve you iced water (safe to drink) without charge. However, be aware, that unlike most executive floors, you have to pay for bottled water ($1.00 per bottle). Not sure how much the beer and other beverages were, as we only bought the water. Our room this time was impeccable. The first room they gave us was loud as they were having a wedding party, but they were very helpful, and transferred us to an impeccable room, we even had a welcome tray of fruit and water & 2 chairs on the porch (yay!). The room was quiet and lovely. No problems with the bed either! They have finally gotten it that most travelers like wash towels and are supplying these (at least in the room we got). We got full amenities in our bathroom which had a tub/shower plus a walk in shower. We ate at Las Porchas and this time got very good service, which was also a vast improvement from last year. You must try the chicharrones de pollo with tostones, oh, so good here! Careful if you order a club sandwich, as they sometimes confuse it with a kind of ham and cheese sandwich vs. a true club, you need to specify. Also, if you want to eat by the pool you will have to move to a table by the pool bar, which is an understandable policy for cleanliness, etc. but don't expect to eat right at your pool lounge chair. Thanks to the management for improving the rooms and service.
Also, thank you to Christopher Hamra, Food and Beverage Manager, for the lovely fruit tray when we switched rooms. We will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachluv44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels during my visits to Sto.Dgo. but the quality and courtesy of the service at El Embajador, particularly at its 7th Floor was outstanding and on a league of its own. Very professional and maybe the best quality/price ratio that anybody could find in a five star hotel. Congratulations, I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I´ve got the best treatment ever from the staff of the 5th floor (Club El Embajador), I recomend this Hotel for the new renovated rooms and for the please of professional staff - including at the 8th floor. Very nice located in the center of Santo Domingo, good for stay when going for business meeting.
Congratulations to everyone at the Occidental El Embajador en Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic)

Room Tip: There are renovated standards rooms: Are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_T_Caracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Someone recommended me this hotel and I change my decision of which i have previously chosen only to try this hotel.

for my surprise I found a hotel of excellent quality and first class service where cleanliness and attention service are felt.

I stay at the Royal Club they have such an oustanding quality and excellent service.
.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful thank you all, especially to Ms. Maria Isabel and their receptionists.

Hope to see you soon! again..

Michael Aspen, (Atlanta)USA

Room Tip: "Rooms on the Royal Club have a great ocen view" Pool and beutifull backyard as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santanacecilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in the Business Floor and got the best treatment ever from the staff and the Manager of the floor, I recomend this nice Hotel.
Very nice located in the center of Santo Domingo, good for stay when going for business meeting

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
W&P Santo Domingo
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $147 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing