We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
“Excellent Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 12 days, in the Royal Club. The service and assitance ws excellent, from the staff, all the girls were very helpful, during our meetings. The service of the waiters very attentive to our needs. Even the executive chef and the manager of the floor when out of their way to accomodate special requeirements in the preparation of the dinners.

Room Tip: You should request the rooms looking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNunez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    267
    62
    45
    32
See reviews for
104
153
65
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a vintage and very elegant hotel in a good area, which looks luscious until you stay in the rooms.
Restaurant food is acceptable; but the waiters are very annoying: they seem desperate to remove everything from your table, even if you are still eating; they'll reach across your plate in front of your face to remove anything that seems that you're finished with.
Although it's always the same, breakfast has pretty varied an ample options.
Rooms are quite large but have a few problems:
1. TV reception is the worst: most channels look terrible and some are unwatchable.
2. Most of the rooms have a musty smell and are not thoroughly cleaned.
3. More than once, the room has been infested with ants.
4. It is impossible to achieve a constant temperature in the shower. The water will continuously and unexpectedly change from scalding to iced cold.
I've stayed in this hotel over 10 times in the last 10 years, and my experience has largely been the same.
P.S.: You better not forget your toothpaste, because they'll charge you about US$5.00 for a small tube.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on either end; where employees gather at night to (loudly) talk and party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eldisplicente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director Comercial at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Estimado Sr. eldisplicente,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. What concerns me most is your feedback about the service at our main Restaurant Los Porches, since we pride ourselves with our service. Our Resident Manager did speak with the staff concerning your review. However, I am excited to inform you that at the moment we are renovating our property. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity so you can experience our great service and updated décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a navite to Santo Domingo which travels there regularly for leasure. I visit santo domingo every 2 months, each for 12-14 day stays. Since the first time I visited El Embajador, I have nothing to say but that it's truly the best hotel in Santo Domingo. From the location, which by far is the safest off la Sarasota, to the world class attention I receive time and time again, to the parking lot attendants, room service staff, the dining staff, and bell men. They all go above and beyond their duty to truly make you feel like you're their most important guest. No detail goes on noticed, from the turn down bed, to the personal attention you receive as soon as you walk through the door. There is an obvious reason why El Embajador is the hotel of choice for all premier events from weddings to conferences, El Embajador and it's staff is extraordinary. Socrates and Eduardo along with rest of the staff are the reason I keep going back. They make every visit of my better than the last once.

MaritzaS.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaritzaS728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director Comercial at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mrs. Maritza

Thank you for your review, I also thank you for your excellent comments about the service and our team members. Rest assured , I will share them with all.
I am glad to hear that we meet your expectations during each of your stay with us. Socrates and Eduardo will certainly appreciate the comments received.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Thank you for such a great review.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Dear Christopher:
Aimee and I would like to thank you so much for all your support and best quality service during our wedding. We couldn't have asked for more, you were outstanding in giving us everything we needed and making sure all the small details were taken care of. We especially appreciate the fact that you came back the day before our wedding to personally attend.

Every person who came to the ceremony and celebration party have given us their heartfelt testimony of the world-class treatment they received by you and your team. Please extend our deepest thanks to Yordi, Alberto and the rest of your team, as we remain forever grateful to them. We will write a note to each of them and, very especially to Mr. Ventura Serra to give him also our special thanks, as we know he was personally involved in insuring that everyone at the hotel gave their best performance and has been the key driver for the hotel to go into the realm of true Excellence!.

Please be sure you have some new Dominican friends and admirers of your great work.

Aimee and Eddy

Room Tip: If you like the ocean view, rooms on the south. If you prefer city view, take a room on the north si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyMartinezDOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director Comercial at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Eddy,

Fué un verdadero placer para todo el equipo de Occidental El Embajador ser participes en el día mas importante para ustedes.
Este comentario será compartido con todo el personal y nuevamente le agradecemos de manera muy especial que ustedes nos eligieran para la realización del día mas especial de sus vidas.

Es un placer sevirle!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great experience. Personnel is courteous and diligent. Room was clean and breakfast and food service is awesome! The hotel is conveniently situated in a central area of Santo Domingo. There are restaurants, grocery stores and pharmacy at a walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director Comercial at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Jose,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We were thrilled to hear the excellent experience you had at our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you and hope to see you in a near future.
Thanks for visiting Occidental El Embajador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best of the hotel is its location: in front of the hotel there are some really good restaurants and it's a must to have dinner there. It's an old hotel which needs attention. Terrible odors were in my room every night. The food in the first floor is good. I was there for 5 nights in February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grettel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Gretell,
It is nice to hear that you found our property location just to be excellent. Occidental El Embajador its well recognized for being located in the perfect spot of the city of Santo Domingo, close to great shopping centers, restaurants, museums, Financial District and the Old City.
However, regarding your comment about the room odor, it wouldn’t have been appropriate if you could have spoken about it during your stay, in order for us to please your needs. It is important for me to mention, that at the moment we are renovating all our rooms.
I am sure that during your next visit you will not be facing that inconvenience.
We look forward seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recommend this hotel to all my clients. The Club El Embajador (5th floor) provides all the amenities to have business meetings with great customer service, discretion, food and needless to say the great view of the city of Santo Domingo. And if you are lucky, try one of the Presidential suites, where the Godfather II was filmed as the suite for Mr. Hyman Roth in Cuba. You wlll feel like part of the movie. Also, the they are remodeling the rooms. It will look like a hotel of South Beach Miami. But, the most valuable asset of the hotel, is the personnel. They provide a great service. To conclude, if you need to stay in a hotel in Santo Domingo, for business or for pleasure, consider Hotel El Embajador.

Room Tip: Stay in the south side 7 floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Samuel,

First of all I will like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience at Occidental El Embajador with the community.
I am thrilled to hear that our service filled your expectations, also we are glad and that you could have the chance to appreciate all our hotel’s great history.
Thanks for such a high punctuation and it was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing