We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but needs some attention.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel but needs some attention.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Last time I stayed at this hotel was back in 2007, yesterday was my second time in six years. I only stayed for one night after being in Punta Cana for 3 nights. El Embajador is situated in an upscale part of the city, there are restaurants, pharmacies, supermarkets and everything else nearby. The hotel has a parking lot that I understand charges, but for some reason they were not charging for parking last night. It goes for about 50 dominican pesos for 24 hours, that would be about $1.15 for 24 hours.

The hotel has not changed much in those 6 years speaking in terms of appearance. The check in process was quick but my room was not ready, so I had to wait around 20 minutes. I was given a room on the third floor, king bed, balcony, view to the back of the hotel, nice flat screen tv, very clean room, working air conditioner, and the usual bathroom amenities and if you choose the room with free wifi the signal is excellent since there's a router in the room.

As you enter the room, you quickly notice that the room is quiet big, but then your attention turns to the old furniture, now I really don't know if this is because they want that "old" look but it just looks old. There are 2 small, very small sofas which were sort of uncomfortable, part of the fabric was falling off. The work desk also looked old, the mini bar does not look like a mini bar it just looks like an old wooden cabinet.

In the morning that I was using the bathroom, somehow I could hear everyone next door, seemed as if they were almost there in the bathroom with me, now I don't know if this was because my room was next to the maintenance room or the walls are really thin. Around the same time the lights went out 3 times, something that I found weird because I know that hotels have their own generators.

The staff are very professional and helpful, as a matter of fact when I checked out in the morning I left my phone in my room by mistake, I went back to retrieve it and the cleaning lady had already called the front desk about it, that is something that as a customer we appreciate in a hotel staff.

I only stayed for 1 night and everything was good just that I think the hotel itself needs some remodeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G5ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. G5ive,

Thank you so much for writing about your experience at Occidental El Embajador, we take very seriously our client’s critics in order for us to fulfill of our costumers needs. It is a pleasure for me to inform you that at the moment we have already started a complete renovation process of our property which will be finished very soon.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and hoping you will visit us again, but please don’t spend six years in returning!! !!
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    271
    62
    46
    32
See reviews for
104
155
67
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I traveled here to celebrate my wedding and was absolutely pleased with the quality of everything from the service to the food. I could easily say this Hotel has the best food in the D.R.

The customer service is incredible, everybody is extremely friendly and make you feel like home. Special thanks to Larissa Brache that made our event and our stay there inmensly better,

Would completely recomend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. Mariel,

Dear Mrs. Mariel,


We are thrilled to hear that Occidental El Embajador exceeded your expectations!! One of our major qualities that best describes our property is: Service and it is good to know, that our clients can perceive it!!! Once more, thank you!!
Also thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your wedding celebration!
It was a pleasure serving you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

For more than 15 years, I have been traveling overseas more often than not. Over time I have become quite appreciative of a heart warming smile, steadily good service and a clean and comfortable room, Hotel Occidental, El Embajador comes at the very top of my list, when visiting Santo Domingo. The hotel staff is always extremely courteous and they go out of their way to anticipate your needs and make you feel quite at home, without buzzing around. The receptionists on the executive floors are simply outstanding! Danitza, Paula and Laura, three names that come to mind while writing this review. It would be a disservice not to mention one of the best kept secrets of El Embajodor, Restaurant El Jardin, at the helm of an accomplished Chef, Alberto, who along with an outstanding cast of cooks and waiters, among which I have to mention Robinson, Jose and Santiago, caters to the most exquisite gourmet palate. Last, but not least, there is Christopher, head of food and beverage, who is always there to greet you with a pleasant and sincere welcoming smile. The garden and pool complete the scene to make you feel in an oasis at the end of a busy day. I wish all hotels I usually go were like the Occidental, El Embajador.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Fernando 725,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We were thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience with our service at the Executive floor. The private concierge service is popular within executive floor guests, because of its unique personal attention. I will share this critic with all of our staff and I am sure they all enjoyed serving you. Hope to see you in a near future.
Thanks for visiting Occidental El Embajador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed in most of the hotels in Santo Domingo within the last 10 years that I visited the country. To me customer service is key, the people are not only very friendly but they make you feel at home. Maria Isabel The manager of the Royal Club is fantastic!!!!
I find this hotel to be a great combination of business and tourism.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director Comercial at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Jose.

Para todo el equipo del Royal Club , fué un verdadero placer el haberle servido.
Gracias por su comentario y esperamos recibirlo en un futuro no muy lejano!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was a very nice hotel and the service was excellent. Many thanks to Christopher Hamra who was very kind and helpfull. I had an amazing view of the city from our hotel. It was a great stay and definetly I will repeat it again. Wish you all success.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farihan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director Comercial at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Farihan

Gracias por su excelente comentario y puntuación.

Para todo el equipo de Occidental El Embajador fué un verdadero placer servirle y esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A few words to describe our fine staying experience at the Occidental Embajador hotel in the capital city of Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

My wife insists that we come here at least twice a year when we visit family, friends and associates, as well as for a short R & R period for both of us. This hotel has a long and magnificent reputation in the tradition of being one of the first and most outstanding installations of its kind in the entire Caribbean area.

We found the Embajador to be a good combination of business, tourist and family hotel.

This time we came for a large, outdoor, evening, formal wedding celebration. Attendees were from all ages, young and not so young. All were extremely happy, and in our opinion was all a great success.

We were very much impressed by the magnificent grounds and the impressive flora and fauna located with in its enormous land area.

Food and beverages were outstanding in every respect. Quality, ambiance, presentation and service were outstanding.

enrique and amalia garcia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enrique g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Enrique,

It was a pleasure serving you and your wife during your stay with us.
As you mentioned, Occidental El Embajador has been over the years the Iconic and most Emblematic hotel of the city of Santo Domingo for 57 years.
I am glad you noticed and got to enjoy our beautiful green areas and excellent international cuisine. Once again, thank you so much for this critic and for sharing it to others.
Hoping to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this classic hotel where I had stayed before and quality remains as one of the highlights. The rooms are well kept but age is starting to show in the 3rd floor. Very clean and fantastic service. The breakfast buffet has lowered in quality a bit, service was not to the standard that they had before. In the other hand the main restaurant was very good, the lady chef from Mexico came to our table to hear our opinion on her food, it was a great experience. I hope one day to see the suite where the classic "The Godfather"movie was filmed. The pool area and bar are fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms in the extreme wings are the quietest, ask for the ones ending in 44 or 45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Ricardo,

Thanks for taking your time to write about your experience at our Hotel Occidental El Embajador.
It’s a pleasure for me to announce you, that we already started a total renovation of our property. I will be glad to share your comments with our staff and we just hope to serve again in a near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing