We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, fine restaurant and hotel service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, fine restaurant and hotel service”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was my second visit to this fine hotel. They always keep high standards: you'll notice that since you check in.

Hotel's personnel are very friendly at every moment; no complain at all. Breakfast at the 5th floor is healthy and complete; but breakfast at the pool restaurant are súper. Beware if you are on a diet!! : any food temptation you may have, shall be very well rewarded.

Wifi coverage is fast and easy to access anywhere in the hotel. No passwords are required.

Rooms are quiet, and they have a small terrace where you can enjoy a good view toward the Santo Domingo shorefront, as well as a fine beer.

Turistic sites are not close to the hotel; there a couple of good restaurants all around, but I recomend the one located at the hotel. Try Pata de Palo in Colonial Santo Domingo: it's great!!

Next time, I'll keep this hotel on top of my list in Santo Domingo.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located at the western side; it seems that some hotel's equipment is located there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Enrique,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Occidental El Embajador with TripAdvisor, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are renowned for our excellent food options and beautiful views, both of which I am happy you enjoyed!

I was surprised to read that you did not find many tourist sites near our hotel, however, the Old City is just 15 minutes distance away from our property and great malls are just few blocks away. Next time by just asking our hotel receptionist , they will be happy to assist clients what places to visit in the city.

It was a pleasure serving you and I hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    276
    62
    46
    32
See reviews for
105
160
69
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a company event bringing some executives from USA. Hotel´s service and customer support was just outstanding for all of the meetings we had at the hotel facilities.

Executive floor and Royal Club´s rooms were terrific and very comfortable for all of our group.

Room Tip: Executive floor probably best in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Mrs. Laura F.

All our staff members were very pleased to serve you.
Thank you so much for providing us, your excellent review about your stay at Occidental El Embajador..


It will be an honor to serve you again.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Ive visited occidental embajador june 15,2012 for a high school graduation and the dinner was in the Garden Tent, which is a very beautifull and creative venue. What most impressed me was the food, i ate 3 whole plates of food. But that was not the end of my night, after the party i went to bed and the hotelnrooms are very comfterable and spacious, each room has a balcony in it which is great for when you wake up and you see the Carriebean Sea. You also get breakfast which was Exquisit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper are just better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Francisco C.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to receive your opinion regarding the great experience you had during your visit to Occidental El Embajador.
It is nice to hear that you really enjoyed the food served in our property.

It was a pleasure serving you, and it will be great to serve you again in a near future.!!

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the Embajador Hotel now for almost 3 years. I come once a month and on occasion we have stayed in this Hotel for more than 2 months at a time. I travel regularly and have never found a better Hotel combined with all the amazing amenities. This Hotel is EXCELLENT!! The staff truly cares and the grounds are impeccable and stunning. The pool area is a combination of botanical gardens meets the Caribbean and the Gym has all new equipment. Splurge on the 5th floor, if your budget lets, although all the floors are great. The Breakfast buffet is excellent as well, it has everything for everyone. I have never seen a better Breakfast selection; there are Omelet stations, Cheese stations, Yogurt stations, lox, meat, fresh juices, fruits, and much more. To give you a perspective, the entire Breakfast Buffet is more them 50 feet long and it’s all amazing food. We were just there for a month long stay and truly appreciate the staff and management at Occidental, they serve you with pleasure and a big smile. Keep up the great work and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to stay pool side if possible - really amazing view in the morning and all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yehuda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Yehuda,

Thank you so much for your comment and for giving us such a high puntuation for Occidental El Embajador. We were very glad to hear that you and your wife really enjoyed and appreciated all the services offered during your visit.

It was such an honor serving you.


Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capital
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is 10 blocks away from the beach, so it´s not for visitors that want to walk by the sea. It was a luxury hotel in the 60s and 70s, now it has been remodeled . The rooms are spacious and clean but the furniture is clearly old.
For business travelers: the wifi works very well, you have several restaurants there so you don´t need to go outside, but if you want, you have many other options just at the entrance of the hotel.
the service is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors have a better view and on the pool side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariaclaraCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Mrs. Maria Clara,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent visit to our hotel. Occidental El Embajador was built during the 1950s and its Santo Domingos most emblematic hotel filled with history as it is of warmth and life. We are glad our service and attentions met your expectations, also I will like to inform you that in a near future will be starting a renovation plan regardings our furniture , but always keeping our classy look.

It will be an honor to serve you again in your next visit to Santo Domingo.


Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santo domingo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

When on business, we don't ask for much. A quiet place to rest, and good wifi. Now we know that we also need electric sockets that work with modern working tools.
Between us coming to the El Embajador, we had two Ipads, two MacBook laptops, one HP laptop, and one Dell laptop. Of course we all had phones.
None of the above mentioned "tools" including the phones, could charge when connected to any of the electric sockets in our room. I even tried sockets in other rooms. The sockets had current, and although the DR uses the 110 US socket, for some reason it was not compatible with any of our working tools.
Finally on the third day we were given a multiple power strip, that was promised on the first day and never delivered to the room. Once plugged to the wall, we were able to connect our computers to it and work. Of course limited to the distance to the power strip.
If you are on business and can avoid this hotel, do it. Otherwise, do not go to the room before front desk gives you a power strip, or just bring one with you.

What upset us the most is the attitude and disrespect to guests. Management is well aware of the problem, and has power strips ready for complaining guests. But do nothing to solve the problem ahead of time. Actually, now when I write this, I realize that all they need to do, if they don't want to replace all the sockets in all rooms, is just have two power strips available in each room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimbo551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Jimbo 551,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to our hotel. Sometimes guests have trouble with the outlets in the rooms because our property has conventional US electric outlets, which can be incompatible with European electronics.
We do offer our multiple power strips in our Business Center that clients may use with any kind of electronic device, at no extra cost.
I am very sorry that our service did not live up to your expectations. This really surprises me as our staff is trained to meet the highest service and quality standard. I will discuss your feedbacks with the head of guest services immediately to prevent future issues.
We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. . I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel deserved 5 stars in the 80'. The breakfast is amazing, the service is excellent , the wi-fi works great; the rooms are old but clean. It is situated 10-15 min driving from downtown but the cabs are cheap in DR.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d_dabija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Dabija,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate that you really enjoyed the breakfast served in our property and that the services and attention offered to you during your visit were excellent as you just mentioned.
We will be very pleased if you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 76 in Santo Domingo
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
W&P Santo Domingo
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 76 in Santo Domingo
281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 76 in Santo Domingo
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing