We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is such a value! Right in the Colonial District and they don't miss a trick. Great, very attentive service from the word "go", absolutely stunning 16th century restoration with all the creature comforts. Comfy, well appointed rooms. Great bar, pool and pool table area with wifi and views. And the most killer breakfast you can find in the DR. Great stuff highly recommend!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiliwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMatas, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Sincerely,

Denis MATAS CALDERON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    233
    51
    26
    11
See reviews for
122
310
61
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

stayed here for a business trip in early January. The rooms are spare and on the small side, yet luxurious. Extremely comfortable bed. My room faced the river and flour mill across the way. It was interesting to watch the boat traffic. Breakfast was amazing - huge range and a gastronomic treat. On the downside, the pool was small; pool areas so-so.

Room Tip: Riverside provides an entertaining view of the cruise ships and other traffic on the river as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMatas, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Sincerely,

Denis MATAS CALDERON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I'm Platinum in SPG, Diamond in both Hyatt and Hilton, and originally was quite excited at my first experience of Accor brand throught his hotel, but I ended up with disappointed in their service.

Just after I took shower, while I was in the middle of wearing clothes, some hotel staff entered without knocking, saw me half naked, started laughing loud and left the room without apologizing. I was stunned, first at the occasion itself, and second how the hotel is treating the guest especially when it was obviously unacceptable occasion. I immediately complained to the duty manager and she agreed that this should had not happened and would see what she could do with her general manager of the hotel.

The general manager came up with a free drink coupon with a letter. The coupon, however, was cleaned by the housekeeper another day. So I feel that I was humiliated by this hotel even twice.

Rooms are more tourists friendly, not for business travellers. Room with historic structure are interesting, but internet is slow and room is too dark. A/C is strong and a bit noisy, so at night I had to get up to turn off A/C.

Still the hotel has a great location for tourist - heart of colonial town. Very easy access to the historic town and safe to walk around. Lots of restaurants and bars around.

However, I won't return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms inside to the pool area would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freqtravelbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel has an incredible service and the location can not be better. It is a history and coloniality behind of what is left of the wall of colonial Santo Domingo. The rooms are comfortable, luxury with simplicity, but they need updating, good internet and reliable service. The ambiance is unique by the pool at evenings.

Room Tip: The hotel needs updating, spa and banking facilities to become a much better facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FGJCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMatas, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Sincerely,

Denis MATAS CALDERON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irkutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is a real gem in the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo. Everything is just great - from the authentic building with excellent rooms in colonial style to the outstanding service in the restaurant and all over the hotel. This hotel exceeded my expectations! I have no single negative comment. Originally we thought about having dinners in the city, but after our first night dinner we were so impressed by the restaurant and food, that we ate there all three nights we stayed in Santo Domingo. All dishes were delicious and the service - perfect. We enjoyed breakfasts as well,
Many thanks to all staff who was involved in making our stayng so great, especially to Francesco!

Room Tip: we stayed in the colonial style room facing the Calla Las Damas. I also checked the modern room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMatas, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Sincerely,

Denis MATAS CALDERON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Level Contributor
251 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed there to celebrate my husband's birthday, all the personnel went out of their way,giving more than just what is expected, beyond that, going the extra mile, I requested a room with a beautiful view and they gave us an spectacular, amazing room, with a breathtaking view on one side to the river and the other end, it was the inner patio, with a fountain. I told them it was his birthday, and they gave us a romantic package, with sparkling wine and rose petals in the room and bathroom. They even put some chocolate in a table set ut so nicely, some cigars, We had breakfast in the room, they gave us late checkout, I reserved a table in the restaurant and when we arrived, the table had rose petals in it, a heart shape with petals, candle, etc, Yubelis did an amazing job doing all the arrangements for us, Edison in the parking lot helped me a lot, Luis at the lobby, Jaronis at the restaurant, at the front desk everyone was very helpful. They made it a memorable and unforgettable experience, it is also an amazing location because it is in the heart of the old colonial city, with all the historical monuments nearby, walking distance, definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks again everyone for all the effort

Room Tip: Request a room with a view to the inner patio, overlooking the fountain, and in the backside, the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMatas, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Sincerely,

Denis MATAS CALDERON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Santo Domingo was one of our stop over cities during our tour of the Caribbean in three small aircraft.
Excellent Hotel located in the historic part of Santo Domingo, close to everything
Very friendly, helpful staff.
We stayed there on New Year's Eve, but did not stay in the hotel for the party because we were flying out early the next day.
The party noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMatas, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Sincerely,

Denis MATAS CALDERON
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
3.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Billini Hotel
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Casas del XVI
Casas del XVI
#17 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Property: Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing