We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In our recent trip to Dominican Republic, we stayed in Santo Domingo for five nights. We chose the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando because of its charm and location. We were not disappointed. The service was really good and the rooms were really clean. The hotel lobby is not impressive but the rooms are clean and the ambiance very charming and excellent. You literally live where the colonial governor lived and (it is rumored) that Christopher Columbus stayed. The neighborhood is nice and appears to be safe. The breakfast was really comprehensive and delicious. The staff everywhere, especially at the breakfast area were extremely professional and attentive. Particularly a young and professional lady by the name of Akosh Bello. The front desk staff was also pleasant and helpful. The only complaint I have is about the behavior of the lady at the concierge on August 19, our check out day.
Our trip itinerary included a week of stay at a resort in La Romana. Previously I had inquired from a taxi driver about the price and he quoted me US$80. I had his number but decided to see if we can use the hotel concierge to get a taxi for us. The lady called and told us the price is $160. I said that is too much and I will get the taxi myself. First, she said that this is the regular and normal price. Then she asked me to wait for few minutes. After about 5 minutes, she returned with the “discount” price of $140. I refused and called the other driver. He arrived and seemed happy. When he was loading our luggage, the concierge lady came to the door and in Spanish told the driver that the distance is too far (as if the driver didn’t know) and he should charge $150. Our driver did not say anything, but I knew he was unhappy. Therefore, upon getting into the taxi, I told him that I would pay him more. I ended up paying him $100 plus $20 tip. The cost was not a real problem. My issue is that the guests are in a strange and unfamiliar country. They rely on the hotel staff and specially the concierge to give them sound advice and protect them from abuse and overcharges. This lady, failed as a professional. Instead of protecting and guiding the guests, she conspired to rip them off. That was an unpleasant note to otherwise pleasant experience. Overall, I highly recommend the hotel.
The hotel location is excellent. All historical sites are very near and I highly recommend that you take a walk and see them all. While shopping, be prepared to bargain over any price they tell you. That is almost expected and the potential discount is already included in the original quoted price. Don’t forget to go to a Bazaar at the edge of the old Colonial Town. It is a yellow brick building filled with shops and souvenirs at good prices (nonetheless, you still need to haggle).
There are many other shops and restaurants all over the Old Town. Make time to visit (and have drinks and sweets) at Chocó Museo. Filled with chocolate and history. For dinner or lunch, I highly recommend Mimosa (Arzobispo Nouel No. 51). Ask for the waiter from Haiti (I forgot his name) and he will take good care of you. He will even suggest what you should eat or what you should not order. The food is local and very good.
Taxis in Dominican Republic are inexpensive and very easy to get. The ride from the airport to the hotel is about $40.

Room Tip: When you shop, always ask for a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bijanirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Denis Matas Calderon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 815 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

As a young girl growing up in the Caribbean the "GREATER ANTILLES" Was always spoken about the economical situation,culture, trade etc was always part of an ongoing history class be it at home or school. The month of November 2012 took me to the Dominician Republic an island that is mistakenly taken for my island Dominica.

I did a number of tours around the island from the northern part of Puerto Plata to La Romana. The most memorable for me is a night of listening to Jazz at Hostal Nicolas De Ovando. My private tour guide and dear friend Yadly is "SUPER" she knows the island and knows how to play extremely well.

Our afternoon started with a tour through the colonial zone. I was blown away with the colonial zone. The colonial zone possess the ambiance and charm of a royal marriage.Walking down the colonial zone there were vendors on the side walks, art work and artists, cigar shops, etc.

The highlight of the day was the churches and historical buildings that relates a story that is beyond "WORDS" please be advised if you plan on visiting the churches please have your arms covered and your dresses should be below the knees. If your arms are exposed you will be handed a scarf. If your dress or skirt is to short you will be handed an article of clothing that is below the knee.

At last we entered the "HOSTAL NICOLAS DE OVANDO" for the jazz night which was held by the pool. The evening started with "cafe la REPUBLIC LA DOMINICIAN" and it was pure relaxation all the way. The Colonial Zone oh what A night that stands out in my memory.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lafoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Denis Matas Calderon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

As a young girl growing up in the Caribbean the "GREATER ANTILLES" Was always spoken about the economical situation,culture, trade etc was always part of an ongoing history class be it at home or school. The month of November 2012 took me to the Dominician Republic an island that is mistakenly taken for my island Dominica.

I did a number of tours around the island from the northern part of Puerto Plata to La Romana. The most memorable for me is a night of listening to Jazz at Hostal Nicolas De Ovando. My private tour guide and dear friend Yadly is "SUPER" she knows the island and knows how to play extremely well.

Our afternoon started with a tour through the colonial zone. I was blown away with the colonial zone. The colonial zone possess the ambiance and charm of a royal marriage.Walking down the colonial zone there were vendors on the side walks, art work and artists, cigar shops, etc.

The highlight of the day was the churches and historical buildings that relates a story that is beyond "WORDS" please be advised if you plan on visiting the churches please have your arms covered and your dresses should be below the knees. If your arms are exposed you will be handed a scarf. If your dress or skirt is to short you will be handed an article of clothing that is below the knee.

At last we entered the "HOSTAL NICOLAS DE OVANDO" for the jazz night which was held by the pool. The evening started with "cafe la REPUBLIC LA DOMINICIAN" and it was pure relaxation all the way. The Colonial Zone oh what A night that stands out in my memory.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lafoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nicolas de Ovando was apparently the third Governor of the island and he clearly knew a thing or too about real estate. Built onto the cliff side overlooking the Ozama river (now a rather plain looking port) it lies next to the fort in the heart of the cultural district (a world heritage site). The location gives you walking distance to most of the local culture, including museums cathedrals and fine dining. Across the road, literally, is the National Pantheon which boasts a who's who of dead dignatories.
The hotel itself has been renovated tastefully and whilst it has all modern amenities it still retains its cultural feel (with a couple of wells retained in the courtyard). The bar and pool area are ideal for anyone wanting to chill with the significant other and I did not experience significant noise as reported by others - the occasional blast of ships horns only added to the character.
The rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and very comfy with a nice walk in shower. The shutters, rather than curtains, are a bit of a pain but again it adds to the character.
Breakfast was passable and the restaurant was 'OK' but I would recommend taking a 3 minute walk to Plaza de Spain and its numerous bars and eateries.
All in all a worthy 5 star rating for those with culture or romance on the agenda.

Room Tip: I had a 4th floor room ( one level above ground) and had no problem with damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Santo Domingo Nicolas De Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Denis Matas Calderon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank petermaria2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomassimonnet, Directeur général at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I never write reviews, but this has to be done
To start this, you need to know that my wife and I found this hotel here on tripadvisor with a very big discount. We were thrilled at first, but afterwards we came to be very disappointed.
First of all, we were very disappointed. The room had a musty smell that you simply couldn't stand. It was impossible to stay there which made us request a new, better room. A front desk employee approved and apologized and we got another room on the ground floor. In comparison with the first one, this was gold. All the best until next morning when we found termites in our closet and even between our shirts. Needless to say, a full report to the front desk was pointless. We received an answer that was supposed to bring comfort: „We will send somebody”.
The only thing that was more disturbing was the fact that the hotel was supposed to be a 5 star Hotel. But after seeing the low quality of the room we realised it was a fraud. Cheap rooms for cheap rates? To top all these, the food was way too expensive so we didn't have breakfast there. We decided to go in front of the Columbus Place where we ate something.
Without questioning, we checked out for various reasons, mostly because we had to go to Santiago for a wedding, but going back there? Not a chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frsteventx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms in big halls in the former Govenor's headquarters, this hotel strikes a good balence of value to experience.

Perhaps a little overpriced, you are paying to stay in history.

Not unlike a castle in England or a Chateux in France.

Fantastic pool.

Steps from the first Cathedral in the New World.

Indeed, The Spirit of The First Americas.

Spend two nights here and then go stay at the beach.

This hotel gives you historical perspective, but at a price that only will be understood by those who value education.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRQuadracci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
232 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
702 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#25 of 79 in Santo Domingo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $163 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing