We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice hotel, some staff not so nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, some staff not so nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here and we enjoyed much about this hotel. Very cool location and the building has historical signigicance. My only complaint would be that a couple of the women working in the hotel were somewhat rude to me and my son. One woman repremanded my son for jumping into the pool and splashing a woman nearby who was working. He is a kid and did not realize he was splashing her. I did not notice as I was reading a book. This woman could have told my son in a nice way rather than yelling at him. We ARE paying customers and expect to be treated accordingly. Another time, I went to sit at a table for breakfast and a waitress sternly said "reservation!" She did not help me to find a table I COULD sit at, but left me standing there with my food. For this reason, we will not return. Too bad, because the hotel is nice as is most of the staff. They need to train staff to treat customers as customers. I do NOT like to be treated as a nuisance while on holiday. It;s not too much to ask to be treated like the paying customers we are!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback wether it's negatif or positive.
I'm very surprised about your breakfast experience at our restaurant La Résidence, which is, I can assure you not an habit in our hotel and doesn't reflect our standards of service.
Be ensured that I will personally handle this matter with the team to get the things in the right way and that your feedback will help us to correct our failures and get better as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. As well as for the pool incident you are totally right and I will adress this matter immediatly.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and I really hope to welcome you personally for your next visit and make it fully satisfying.

Sincerely,

Erwan DAUSSY
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    215
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
105
282
58
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the moment you arrive, The doormen attend to your car (convenient parking across the street next to the French Consulate), your bags, The front desk is friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are very clean. The computers convenient. The breakfast was just OK but the area where you have it is a magnificent patio. There is no coffee maker in the room or nearby places, so you are kind of forced to have the buffet. Remember this used to be a monastery, so you still feel the history in the walls. Try the pool in the evenings after the killer sun goes down. Its clean and the attentive wait staff will bring you towels and a strawberry daiquiri with a mixed appetizer you must try. If you want something not in the menu, ask and if it is possible, they will make it for you. I was given a room with a view of the river and the pool. It had a great round door. Beware of one thing in those middle rooms. If you are very amorous (you know the French) the sound will carry. So please keep it to yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Protaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed for work, so I can't speak to the value, but this place was excellent and I felt like I was on vacation every evening when I came home from the office.
The location is wonderful for walking around at night and near many of the tourist highlights in the city.
The building is a landmark itself and truly beautiful. There is lush vegetation outside with flowers and palms and I even saw a cute tiny lizard scurry about.
The staff was always super helpful and friendly. I felt very safe and the front desk helpfully made arrangements for me (transportation, special receipts, etc.) with no problems.

Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. One day (Sunday?) they had beautiful live guitar music in the courtyard while we ate. I had a few meals at the bar and one in the restaurant. The restaurant was delicious and the presentation was truly superb (it was even artistic!) but it was pricey and a bit of a splurge for me.

Free wi-fi everywhere, with a good connection, made it perfect for business.

My only critiques: I found the mattresses to be too firm. Some rooms have quite a bit of street noise. I wish there were more outlets by the bed. I wish the hotel bar was just a little more affordable. Though, I should say they have a Thursday 2 for 1 Happy Hour which is a great deal.

Room Tip: the courtyard to the left of entrace (away from restaurant) seems quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
224 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is in the Colonial Zone, which in and of itself is one of the best locations in the city. The atmosphere, the vibe, and the general historical feel to the place blend right in with the other buildings on this street. Just down the street are cafes, restaurants, parks, and a lively night life. Shopping is also handily nearby. The customer service at this place is top notch. Not only are they incredibly professional and courteous, they were also extremely helpful when I needed advice on where to go and what to see. Everyone spoke English, which was a relief to this non-Spanish speaker! My room overlooked the river, and the little balcony was the perfect spot to sip a glass of wine as the sun sets. The breakfast buffet is also really good. My only complaint was that it is outdoor seating, and the mosquitos thought I was an item on the buffet! I recommend bug spray.

I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my friends!

Room Tip: Higher floors mean you get less street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights june 2012 and it was fantastic. the food dinner was great, the breakfast was outstanding! the room with huge white concrete waals and 10 meters to the ceiling was romantic and very nice! super service and this is a must if you visit Santo Domingo!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeirMelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

After trying several other hotels in Santo Domingo, I returned to the Nicolas Ovando for a 3 day excursion in the colonial zone. I can confidently state that it is the BEST hotel in the area. The staff are very professional and friendly and never hesitate to assist with any need. In particular I want to recognize Carmen and Siman Sanchez -- these two talented employes represent the high standards of this hotel. FYI -- I could recognize several other staff members for their attention to customer service.

While I was very impressed with the hotel staff, I also want to note the security on the property; as well as the hotel's location in the colonial zone. It's easy to navigate this area and I've never had any issues. My room was extremely comfortable and appreciated the minibar after a long evening. Further, the breakfast buffet is excellent; the fitness room is adequate and the wifi kept me connected around the pool.

Oh yeah -- try the mimosas at the lobby bar. LOL. You will only need 1. Outstanding rates are available for this more than outstanding hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Billini Hotel
#17 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Occidental El Embajador
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Property: Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Address: Calle las Damas, Santo Domingo 10130, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing