We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but service is lousy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but service is lousy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Th hotel itself is nicely done, and the decor is nice. I actually checked out of another hotel which was on the Malecon, but that I found needed a serious facelift, to come to the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel's tasteful touches, but within 2 hours of checking-in, I was regretting. Whatever I ordered, they would bring me something else, and when I signaled that this wasn't what I ordered, they sort of smiled and apologized, but didn't make any efforts to correct the mistake.

Other than the glitches with the restaurant, the room itself was nice. It also had 2 bottles of mineral water, a bathrobe, and all the toiletries one would expect. Thebathroom had both a shower and a tub, both very generous in size. The room furniture/decoration hinge on the minimalist (and it is decorated mostly with local/island stuff) but everything that is needed is there and the room doesn't appear to be bare. The TV is a flat-screen (and I'm only mentioning that because the first hotel where I had spent one night still had the old bulky TVs).

The location of the Nicolas de Ovando hostel is excellent, especially if you're on vacation and don't mind walking and wandering around before you find a cab. But if you need to go to a meeting in the morning, this is not a hotel that has taxi cabs standing in front of it.
One smart thing to do is to take the business card of the first cabbie you ride with (either from the airport or from wherever). The cabby will gladly offer to drive you around anyway (be sure to set prices, so you don't pay 3 times normal price). But when you have that contact, you can book scheduled times for him to pick you up; that worked well for me.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the square where there are lots of restaurants. So, if the service is still bad, just walk to the square and have a nice meal.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the cell # of a cabbie that you can call and schedule your pick-ups for any meeti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DustyFeet-MacheAnpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time you’re taking on comment about you’re stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. We will consider you’re comments with the service.

I assure you that we will take the necessary measures in order to better serve, and avoid such confusion.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel, and take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience, yours faithfully.

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    227
    49
    25
    10
See reviews for
117
304
60
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here on 7 business trips over the past several years. It is a lovely hotel in a former colonial building. It is close to restaurant but I often eat off the bar menu which has nice salads. The breakfast is wonderful but never changes so it gets boring after staying there more that two weeks. The pool is great after a day of work and the lounge area is relaxing. I think it is perfect for the business traveler because as soon as you walk in to the hotel you feel like you are in an oasis.

There is a basic fitness room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaFe_NMCat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding.

Its located in a nice area of the zona colonial. I found the room to be nice enough. The pool area was a good oasis from the hot city. I thought the service was good.

My only real disappointment was that for breakfast the only option was the buffet and it was absurdly expensive for the DR - like $25 and it was nothing special. Good free wifi all over the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed twice at this hotel for 2 and 1 nights respectively on business. I think it's probably better suited for vacationers who end up passing time in Sto Domingo, as the hotel is lovely, but not especially suited to the business traveler. The hotel itself is beautiful, with lovely patios and pools. The two rooms were slightly different- in my first room, which was on the floor below the entry floor, I found the room to be very sparsely decorated, but overall it was sufficiently comfortable. I just wish there had been a top sheet on the bed- a duvet is too heavy for DR! Also, I prefer carpet on the floor- this was tile, so a little cold with the A/C. Finally, the european bathroom design was not really my style- toilet was very low to the ground, and a pillar in the middle of the bathroom made for interesting middle-of-the-night navigation. I much preferred the second room, which was off the lobby area to the left when you walk in the hotel. I get the vibe that these rooms are "older", and the room definitely had more character, with a four poster bed, dark wood furniture, and woven baskets for decoration. the room was smaller, but more pleasant.
The breakfast is excellent. This hotel is close to the main Plaza, where they have great restaurants. However, it is not terribly convenient to go a major grocery store (although there are LOTS of "colmados" or corner stores to buy basics). Also, the "gym" is very small and there is no TV. Service is friendly and courteous, but when I had a problem with the internet, it took 3 phone calls over the course of an hour to finally get a tech to my room, at which point I had solved the problem myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I assure you that we will take the necessary measures in order to better serve the internet service and avoid the time you wait.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Quiet, clean, comfortable rooms. The wifi connection was problematic but sometimes worked. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. There were not many other guests this time of year, making for a very peaceful refuge between meetings. The hotel is much larger than it first appears, with multiple levels and hidden courtyards. I missed visiting their cigar bar, though, my only disappointment while there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A wonderful location for exploring the Colonial District. Most sites are within walking distance as well as many restaurants. My room was comfortable and quiet. The room decor is elegantly minimalist with a beautiful bath with luxurious towels. Plenty of bottled water provided at no charge. The turndown service provided a little rug by the bed so your feet won't be chilled by the tile floor. Two very minor things - no alarm clock and no shelf for shampoo or soap in the shower. The rest of the hotel is lovely. They have done a good job of blending modern with historic. There are nice gardens, courtyards and fountains. You can walk out to the old walls that overlook the river.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have views. Ask when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MischaB_114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Property: Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing