We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay on business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice stay on business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Quiet, clean, comfortable rooms. The wifi connection was problematic but sometimes worked. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. There were not many other guests this time of year, making for a very peaceful refuge between meetings. The hotel is much larger than it first appears, with multiple levels and hidden courtyards. I missed visiting their cigar bar, though, my only disappointment while there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    227
    48
    25
    10
See reviews for
117
304
60
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A wonderful location for exploring the Colonial District. Most sites are within walking distance as well as many restaurants. My room was comfortable and quiet. The room decor is elegantly minimalist with a beautiful bath with luxurious towels. Plenty of bottled water provided at no charge. The turndown service provided a little rug by the bed so your feet won't be chilled by the tile floor. Two very minor things - no alarm clock and no shelf for shampoo or soap in the shower. The rest of the hotel is lovely. They have done a good job of blending modern with historic. There are nice gardens, courtyards and fountains. You can walk out to the old walls that overlook the river.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have views. Ask when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MischaB_114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here with few family and friends because of my wedding celebration which took place in a museum near by, the location is great and safe for tourist
This hotel offers different categories of rooms, some are pretty spacious and expensive and others are tiny but cozy. My room had high ceiling and plenty of closet space. The service is exceptional, the breakfast is amazing, good fresh food and plenty of fruits. The pool is small but ok for kids. The hotel has a charm in itself because of the patios and architecture of the old colonization era.
The bad: too Expensive! but totally worth it for adults and couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMP30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Attentive and friendly staff. Easy walking distance to main square with restaurants.
Great outdoor courtyard for cocktails before dinner. Delicious light Continental breakfast served in "lobby " area if you don't feel like a full served breakfast. Most delicious coffee!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia. USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been staying in room #3030 since August 1st. and have not received a single phone message or notice of a phone message throughout this time.
No acceptable explanation was received for this poor service.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Contemporary room, one double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 742Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I read your comment with concerns. During your stay one person contacted you, as there where no answer in your room we took a message. When you informed us that your phone were not working properly we sent a person to fix it.

At that time we gave you the message. Later on our receptionist offered you as a compensation a free upgrade to de deluxe room witch you refused.

I’m sorry for the inconvenient with the phone in your room.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Please stay away from this hotel. The employees from this hotel are Thieves. We stay at this Hotel on July 11 thru July 13, 2012. The lady who cleans the room 4004 sold our brand new Camera & a bottle of perfume. When to the guest relations desk made the complain. I recd an email from the hotel telling me that no one except the housekeeper went to my room. Alexandra Acosta Perozo/Guest Relations representative called my case "Confusion" I trying to get an emplation what they mean with CONFUSION. If you stay at this hotel make sure you lock Everything!!

Room Tip: Try not to get room 4004
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alvarenga25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write some comments about our Hotel.

Following your comments and as our guest relation explained to you that we made our investigation. As she explained to you the only persons who entered to your room where you and the chamber maid. I can’t go in the investigation details but we proved that our chamber made (employed by the hotel since 2003) didn’t take anything in your room.

Sincerely yours.

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Property: Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing