We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Colonial Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Colonial Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is a nice option for those not willing to spend the expensive price of the Nicolas Ovando. Located right off the pedestrian walkway of Conde St., the hotel has a super friendly staff, a cute inner courtyard with tables for eating, and clean stylish rooms with colonial wrought iron accents but ultra modern facilities (bathroom, wifi, etc). Got a great rate, loved the breakfasts and rooftop pool and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments , we are glad you become part of our guests.... we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.

My best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    227
    69
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
282
93
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Hotel Palacio is about thirty minutes from the airport ($40 US). The hotel arranged for a taxi to be waiting for us at the airport with our name on a sign, very nice of them. (Ask for Jose the taxi driver).
The hotel is nicely appointed as are the rooms. The room we had ($200 US)was very spacious, with a nice shower. The hotel has a restaurant open for breakfast (we did not eat breakfast) and dinner. The menu for dinner is somewhat limited. Alcohol is available but no bar. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has free wi-fi as well as a couple of computers in the lobby.

A small rooftop pool is available as well as a small workout room.

The hotel is located a half a block from a pedestrian walkway that extends for several blocks and felt safe even at night. It was a short walk to the water front and again felt safe during the day. We walked a few miles down the water front and had dinner but took a taxi back to the hotel.

Don't even think about driving in Santo Domingo, it is NUTS.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest:

We are pleased that your visit was satisfactory and you liked our service and the location, thank you very much for taking the time to write us because your comment is very important for us and we hope your next visit to Santo Domingo you will keep us as good option.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Hotel Palacio is by far the best hotel in Santo Domingos Colonial City (Zona Colonial). The service and freindly attention given by the staff makes you feel at ease. Most of the staff are bilingual (spanish/english) so all processes from air conditioning to towels were easy. I would like to take the time to send a special thank you to the evening shift manager Barbara. Barbara was the most pleasant and completely helpful in every situation. Barbara muchas gracias por toda su ayuda. The hotel warrants exploration; it is or was a palace, something out of an old spanish exploration movie. Upon the need to change my room; I was taken to yet another nook in this beautiful hotel, where it transported me yet again back to an earlier time. The stairways and balaconies and courtyards were simply amazing. The appearance is truly decieving from the outside; this palace has something for everyone. The rooftop pool was a favorite morning destination. The art work on the walls of the Spanish aristocracy were every where, even in the rooms it truly depicted a pride in their spanish heritage. I and my travel buddies had a total blast in Santo Domingo rest our drunken tired heads at the Hotel Palacio. We will retiurn to the Hotel Palacio soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexx b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just returned from a five day trip to Santo Domingo, and certainly had a beautiful time at Hotel Palacio. My wife and I had previously stayed with them during our vacation three years ago, and we are both very happy to have made the same choice again. This hotel continues to be a jewel in the Colonial Zone of the capital. The location, maintenance, professionalism, personnel friendliness, housekeeping, and physical appearance of this place remain to be as great as it was when we originally visited it the first time. We would deeply like to thank Bianka, Rosemary, Barbara, and everyone else for their excellent help and collaboration during our recent stay. Not only did they treat us like family, but also made arrangements before our arrival to the hotel in order for us to have such a wonderful stay. Our most sincere compliments to all the employees! God willing, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationJan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay in our Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Boutique Hotel, especially the excellent accommodation and our friendly staff.
We can't wait to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I along with my parents and some friends from Cabrera DR visited Santo Domingo and stayed at the Palacio. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff were amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucklesptl129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our Boutique Hotel Palacio , we are flattered, grateful and very pleased that you feel good in our hotel and feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities.
We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provide a good service.

Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we chose to stay at the Boutique Hotel Palacio for one night before we left on a cruise. We were not let down. Like others have said, the outside of the hotel leaves a little bit to be desired -- but, get through the front doors and it is oh so quaint. Our room was clean and large. It was a little dated, but, the exposed brick, timber beams, wrought iron chandelier and safe made up for it. If the hot water doesn't work in the shower twist the knob a little closer to cold, a bit at a time, and you'll find the "hot spot." The Wi-Fi was free and fast. The breakfast was either Continental and/or you could order from a menu. You are close to shopping on the pedestrian only street named Calle El Conde and also the covered market named El Mercado Modelo. The street vendors become predictable after a block or so, but, it is still fun. Know what you want to pay before you start negotiating. Especially if you are purchasing Larimar. Everyone wants to tell you about Larimar. Since it is mined in the Dominican Republic it is cheaper than on other Caribbean islands. We found fair prices, after negotiating heavily, in the stores along Calle El Conde. We enjoyed Columbus Square where we found vendors with the most original handicrafts. There are sights to see and good dining close by. The front desk was helpful in suggesting restaurants, places to see and maps of how to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio.
we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

When visiting Santo Domingo it is great to really feel like you are experiencing the “colonial” history of the city. Hotel Palacio was the home of the former president and as such, is in a great location, close to all the historic landmarks, restaurants and El Conde – the pedestrian street.

The Spanish style building has been beautifully restored with nicely appointed common areas and a central courtyard which was really lovely for breakfast. Breakfast was not included in the room price but well worth the $6 charge – for both the food and the tranquil atmosphere. Rooms are warm and inviting with a comfortable bed, small sitting area (table/chairs) refrigerator, safe and a large bathroom with nice towels and bath products. The staff were all gracious, professional and very helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Hotel Palacio and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdigabtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#10 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing