We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel Palacio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Palacio”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we chose to stay at the Boutique Hotel Palacio for one night before we left on a cruise. We were not let down. Like others have said, the outside of the hotel leaves a little bit to be desired -- but, get through the front doors and it is oh so quaint. Our room was clean and large. It was a little dated, but, the exposed brick, timber beams, wrought iron chandelier and safe made up for it. If the hot water doesn't work in the shower twist the knob a little closer to cold, a bit at a time, and you'll find the "hot spot." The Wi-Fi was free and fast. The breakfast was either Continental and/or you could order from a menu. You are close to shopping on the pedestrian only street named Calle El Conde and also the covered market named El Mercado Modelo. The street vendors become predictable after a block or so, but, it is still fun. Know what you want to pay before you start negotiating. Especially if you are purchasing Larimar. Everyone wants to tell you about Larimar. Since it is mined in the Dominican Republic it is cheaper than on other Caribbean islands. We found fair prices, after negotiating heavily, in the stores along Calle El Conde. We enjoyed Columbus Square where we found vendors with the most original handicrafts. There are sights to see and good dining close by. The front desk was helpful in suggesting restaurants, places to see and maps of how to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio.
we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    230
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
284
95
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

When visiting Santo Domingo it is great to really feel like you are experiencing the “colonial” history of the city. Hotel Palacio was the home of the former president and as such, is in a great location, close to all the historic landmarks, restaurants and El Conde – the pedestrian street.

The Spanish style building has been beautifully restored with nicely appointed common areas and a central courtyard which was really lovely for breakfast. Breakfast was not included in the room price but well worth the $6 charge – for both the food and the tranquil atmosphere. Rooms are warm and inviting with a comfortable bed, small sitting area (table/chairs) refrigerator, safe and a large bathroom with nice towels and bath products. The staff were all gracious, professional and very helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Hotel Palacio and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdigabtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge, Or
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Half a block from El Conde, two blocks to Columbus square. Location was great, and there is a grocery store at the corner of El Conde. We had the Senior Suite, beautiful room, large living room/sitting area, comfortable king size bed in the bedroom. The water temp in the shower was unpredictable at best, and our balcony door was dead bolted (we assumed it was a safety issue). We didn't have any noise issues and found the hotel clean and secure. Breakfast was included with our Senior Suite, and did the job to get us going each day. They have a menu you can order additional items from in addition to the buffet.
The front desk clerks were always helpful, they called a cab for us when we wanted to explore and provided us information on reputable cab companies for our trip back.
If you are staying over a Sunday night, be sure to catch the free outdoor concerts held every Sunday night outside the Ruins of San Francisco Monastery, great music and dancing in a very unique venue! We had a great time here!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelmic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I did a two day side trip to Santo Domingo while staying at a resort in Punta Cana. We stayed one night at this hotel. The price of our room was very reasonable as was the price of breakfast and the items in the mini bar. The staff was very friendly. We arrived way before our check in time (2:30). They stored our luggage for us and invited us to eat breakfast. They gave us towels and access to the rooftop pool. The pool is small and nothing fancy, but they do have lounge chairs to relax on at and you can call downstairs for poolside service (we ordered some beers). The hotel surrounds an open air courtyard where you can eat or just sit and enjoy the free coffee. It is totally charming . Our room was clean and had everything we needed. There are some rooms available that have private balconies. If I was to go back, I would definitely pay extra to have one of those rooms. I only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was very good (especially the sausages). One of the staff members offered to run to the store for us as the restaurant/canteen was closed when we got back later at night. He brought us back beef and water. The hotel is located right in the Colonial zone so you can easily walk and see a lot. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room which was fine. Pay a little more for the rooms with private balconies. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Front desk personnel were very helpful. Breakfast was great. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the Zone Viega. The rooms were clean and large enough for comfort. Breakfast was just right. Free wifi.

Room Tip: rooms inside and on second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest:

We are pleased that your visit was satisfactory and you liked our service and the location, thank you very much for taking the time to write us because your comment is very important for us and we hope your next visit to Santo Domingo you will keep us as good option.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This property did once belong to the President and where his children resided. Like much of Spanish architecture it is built around a courtyard. The building has been beautifully restored and retains it's Old World charm with all modern conveniences including fast free wifi. Shopping is a half block away and the Town Square about 3 blocks. The front desk staff were very helpful directing us in the right direction and making phone calls when we needed a translator. They spoke excellent English. The room was average size but the bathroom was large with a double sink. We didn't get the double tub or spa so be sure to ask. Breakfast in the courtyard felt so relaxing and priced well too. The outside really had me worried, it is worn and dirty but step in and give it chance, you will be surprised.

Room Tip: Higher floor have a nice view around the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much to share your memorable stay, provide the best service our guest is our main goal, we are grateful your feedback.
Your comments it make us feel satisfied to continue providing the best service.
We will consider your suggestion because it is important for us and hope your visit again to offer a memorable stay which will always be our satisfaction.

Warmest regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I am writing this review almost a year later so... pardon me.
I decided to stay there in my return to the Zona Colonial. What a pleasant surprise!
The place is full of history. The double tub in bathroom was an extra appreciated after a day of travel. There are good restaurants in the vicinity and a supermermaquet in the corner. You see What I liked about Hotel Palacio is that you are actually in a neighborhood. You can spy in hte city while transported to another era.

Room Tip: presidente suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfreitas9944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to comment about our hotel , we are flattered , grateful and very pleased that you feel good in our hotel and feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities.
We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provides a good service.


Best Regards

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing