We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Safe and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Safe and Convenient”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is nice safe and convenient. The side street it is located on looks scary at first but then you realize that it is just the surrounding buildings are old and not too well-maintained. The hotel facade looks decent by the contrast.
The staff was wonderful. They even opened up the pool for us after hours. The rooms are very pretty and well-stocked. The breakfast is typical to a hotel buffet: i.e eggs, sausage and pancakes. The restaurant is limited to drinks and sandwiches for dinner but there are a lot of dining choices nearby. Stay away from the minibar because that will delay your check out while they count everything. There is a decent supermarket on Calle el Conde that has the same snacks and drinks.

Room Tip: A suite costs just a few dollars more but you will get twice the space. The couch in a suite is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for your nice review. We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we exceed their expectations. Hope to welcome you soon again,

Warm regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    230
    70
    20
    5
See reviews for
119
286
96
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I continue to frequent Hotel Palacio, as one of my favorite hotels in the World Heritage Nominated Zona Colonial. Hugh bedrooms with first class bathrooms, and great staff. Do not miss morning coffee and breakfast in their cafe. Walk the historic district and relax in the nearby Parque Colon. It doesn't get any better then this...

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay at our Boutique Hotel Palacio and for your loyalty to us. We hope to welcome you soon again!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Palacio. The staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating, and the location was perfect. Breakfasts were delicious and the chef is talented. The front desk staff and the doormen helped me arrange to take dance lessons, reconfirmed my taxi to the airport, suggested some restaurants that offer Dominican specialties, and in general went out of their way to make sure I had a good experience. Enjoyed everything about this hotel, and was very pleased with Santo Domingo. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor was very quiet -- no problem at all with noisy neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall, my experience at the Hotel Palacio was very good: good location, friendly and helpful staff, good room. The negative: my credit card number was possibly stolen at this hotel and used. Some background: I used my credit card only twice during my trip to the Dominican Republic - in this hotel, and at the Hotel Brisas del Yaque II in Jarrabacoa. Between the two hotels the Palacio took the complaint more seriously and attempted an investigation, which mostly resulted in the manager assuring me that such a thing could not happen. The Hotel Palacio appears to be an upstanding hotel, so I believe if it occurred there it was the doing of a single opportunistic individual. That said, the crime still occurred and anyone considering using this hotel or the Hotel Brisas del Yaque II should keep this in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After 9 days at a Punta Cana AI resort, we stayed 3 nights in this charming, restored property. We had watched the TA reviews and choose the property based on history and the location. If you wish to experience Colonial Zone while staying in a historical property, the Hotel Palacio is an excellent choice. It is just steps (half a block) from Calle El Conde. The Jumbo supermarket on the corner is very convenient for purchases.

We booked a Superior King on the hotel’s web site that included free breakfast. When we arrived, we were told it was not included. Luckily we had printed the web page containing the description and this was honored by the receptionist without any problems.

We found the room very clean, quiet spacious, working AC, and a large bathroom with hot water. The beds were quite comfortable. Our room had a high ceiling and a safe box located in the closet. We had a courtyard facing room and the balcony hallway overlooking the courtyard was a lovely place to sit and relax.

Breakfast was very good and included eggs, breakfast meats, cheese, pancakes, assorted breads/rolls, fruit, cereal, juice, milk and coffee. The wait staff and chef were very attentive to the guests. The outdoor patio is a nice place to dine.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on our first evening and this was also good.

The rooftop pool although small was very clean and nice place for a quick dip.

Our maid was excellent and the room was well kept during our stay.

The reception staff and the security were friendly and very helpful.

To all of the Hotel Palacio staff, thank you for a most enjoyable stay. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellynnNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay at our Boutique Hotel Palacio. With pleasure we read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that we could exceed your expectations. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved the Hotel Palacio! The entire property is gorgeous! The public spaces are full of stunning antique architecture. The rooms were gorgeous too. The bedding was very luxurious. The great supply of hot water (not common in the DR) was wonderful. All of the staff were very kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had many options. The location within the colonial district was prime.

My only critique was that we booked through Orbitz and their website's info on this hotel stated that the breakfast buffet was included and free. However this hotel only gives the breakfast free with certain priced bookings and ours was not one of them. We were able to pay the $6 (US) per person which the buffet was worth. Just be cautious where you book and pay attention to whether it includes the free breakfast if that is something you want. I read another review from someone that booked through Hotels.com and had the same issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorGirlNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our delicious breakfast buffet and our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel room was large enough to fit our family of 5, clean, airconditioning and bar fridge. The only thing missing was no tea / coffee in the room BUT there is complimentry brewed coffee in the lounge area of the hotel. Our family enjoyed our short stay here. There are many restrauants nearby and a supermarket on the corner of the block. The breakfast was yummy and they make the best pancakes. They do not charge for the children to eat breakfast so it was super cheap for all you can eat breakfast for the 5 of us. You can´t do laps in the pool but the kids had fun and it´s enough to relax in. The staff were helpful and kind to us.
This is our choice of hotel in Santo Domingo and will stay again.

Room Tip: The bottom floor has the restrauant right outside your room so if you go to bed early choose the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you very much for mentioning our delicious breakfast buffet and our friendly staff. Hoping to welcome you back soon again.
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 76 in Santo Domingo
777 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 76 in Santo Domingo
267 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 76 in Santo Domingo
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Colonial
#14 of 76 in Santo Domingo
224 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 76 in Santo Domingo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing